We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
trish9012018
Ballito, South Africa

Exceptional attention to detail, par excellence - a memory of a lifetime!

Review of Ellerman House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Mar 2024
It all began with the warmest of welcome by Marly! We delighted in the well presented, delicious cuisine and the decadent freshly made treats that not only filled the Ellerman pantry but our tastefully decorated, well appointed, peaceful, spacious and most comfortable room too. Efficient, friendly, personalised service from each and every member of staff, including Chef Gordon, Michelle, Yasser, Dickson and Warren, who all made us feel relaxed and at home. The art tour. with Lindsay, woven in South African history of the largest South African private collection ( a gallery of its own ), was extraordinary. Watching the whales whilst eating breakfast, wine tasting whilst over looking the ocean, a walk down the 500 steps to Clifton beach, recommended by Yolanda, and a night time stroll through the garden all added to our exceptional and unforgettable experience of South African hospitality in the splendour of Ellerman House. If you are looking for a holiday, par excellence, look no further, this is it!
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ellerman House, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear trish9012018,

Thank you so much for your beautiful review of Ellerman House. We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us was filled with exceptional moments and memorable experiences.

From Marlilie's warm welcome to the delicious cuisine and decadent treats, it’s wonderful to know that every detail contributed to your enjoyment. We’re delighted that you found your room peaceful, spacious, and comfortable, and that the personalised service from our team, including Chef Gordon, Michelle, Yasser, Dickson, and Warren, made you feel at home.

Your kind words about Lindsay’s art tour and the extraordinary South African art collection mean a lot to us. We’re glad that whale watching, wine tasting, and exploring the local area added to your exceptional experience.

Thank you for recommending Ellerman House as the perfect holiday destination. We look forward to welcoming you back for more unforgettable moments.

Warm regards,
Ellerman House Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
  • Trip.com
0.2 km from Ellerman House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 10 229
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Ellerman House
Free Wifi
Free parking
    0.2 km from Ellerman House
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    Entrance
    • Algotels
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    0.6 km from Ellerman House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 2 247
    • Expedia.com
      R 2 536
    0.7 km from Ellerman House
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    Guesthouse + street
    • Vio.com
    0.5 km from Ellerman House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • StayForLong
    • Lol.travel
    • Vio.com
    0.7 km from Ellerman House
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    • Lol.travel
    • Agoda.com
    0.5 km from Ellerman House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    The Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    0.7 km from Ellerman House
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    • Vio.com
    0.3 km from Ellerman House
    View more hotels in Bantry Bay
    Reviews (457)
    Filter reviews
    457 results
    Traveller rating
    427
    18
    8
    2
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    427
    18
    8
    2
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews art collection south african art house room cape town private home anywhere in the world home away from home stunning views spa property cellar luxury accommodations properties sundowners bay sa
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    4 - 9 of 457 reviews
    Reviewed 7 February 2024

    This is like entering your home, but with 6star service and ambience! The location is special and even when all eleven rooms are occupied, the space in the garden, around the pool feels like you are on your own. Service from the Ellerman Team is world class and the art collection around the house gives you that feeling of being at home. A “must” is to visit the wine collection….just amazing. If you want the very best from a boutique Hotel, this really is unbeatable.

    Room tip: Be prepared to be spoilt from the moment you arrive and try some of the special wines.
    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Mike M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Ellerman House, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

    Dear mikemar2,

    Thank you for sharing your glowing review!

    We're delighted to hear that your experience at Ellerman House was nothing short of exceptional. It's our pleasure to create memorable moments, and we appreciate your kind words about our team's dedication and attention to detail.
    We can't wait to welcome you back for more unforgettable moments.

    Cheers to many more wonderful stays with us in the future!

    Best regards,
    Ellerman House Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 February 2024

    Recommended by a well travelled friend and without doubt now happy to recommend this to any reader of the following review.

    We stayed for 5 nights in an Ellerman House Suite and would highlight the following:

    Location: stunning views overlooking Bantry Bay. About 10mins to transfer to V&A and easy access to both Clifton and Camps Bay. Sitting in the garden, on the terrace, or from your room the sky and sea colours never disappoint

    Rooms: the House Suite was stunning, again with fantastic views out to see, although we would be confident all the rooms are beautifully presented

    Food and Beverages: wonderful breakfast served on the terraces along with the evening cocktails and canapés. Dinner menu changed daily and whilst there are fantastic restaurants in and around Cape Town we thoroughly enjoyed dinner on the terrace. Lovely treats in the pantry which are difficult to avoid

    Facilities: beautiful garden and pool area and we enjoyed the lovely SPA and Treatments, You become mesmerised by the art that is an integral part of the property and it feels like you notice something new every time

    The Team: they have an aim to make you feel part of the Ellerman Family and they do not disappoint. They get to know you personally without it being too familiar and you can understand why there are so many returning guests. Housekeeping team were outstanding (easily overlooked) and a huge call out to Marilie and Prince (aka King) who as House Managers helped facilitate the wonderful experience and always seemed to be on hand

    And finally just don’t take my word. It was evident whenever asked where we were staying when out and about and responding with Ellerman House the immediate response was always along the lines of ‘wonderful, beautiful, one of if not the best in Cape Town’. We will be returning and have no hesitation in recommending to anyone thinking of visiting

    Date of stay: January 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Nick G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Ellerman House, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

    Hello nickg337,

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience at Ellerman House. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team was able to contribute to making your visit special.

    It warms our hearts to know that you appreciated the exceptional service, attention to detail, and the overall ambiance of Ellerman House. Our team works tirelessly to ensure that every guest has a memorable and comfortable experience, and your kind words serve as a great source of motivation.

    We are particularly thrilled that you found our facilities and amenities to your liking. Our commitment to providing a luxurious and welcoming environment is a top priority, and it's rewarding to see that reflected in your feedback.

    Your recommendation means the world to us, and we genuinely appreciate your positive remarks. It was our pleasure to host you, and we hope to welcome you back to Ellerman House for another unforgettable experience in the future. The entire team, the housekeeping team, Marilie and Prince send all their love.

    Once again, thank you for choosing Ellerman House, and we look forward to serving you again soon.

    Warm regards,
    Ellerman House Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 October 2023

    Ellerman House is definitely THE place to stay in Capetown. Staff anticipated nearly every whim and responded quickly and professionally for all requests. Nothing was left out. The property is wonderful and beautifully maintained. The art work was beyond belief, its a gallery in its own right. The staff at all levels were warm, friendly, responsive and professional. The tour guides, hotel employees, were highly knowledgeable and great to drive with. We cannot say enough good things about Ellerman house and will defenitely stay there on return to Capetown.

    Room tip: Be prepared for impeccable service.
    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Mike D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Ellerman House, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

    Dear tsc3919,

    Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay at Ellerman House.

    We always appreciate positive feedback and are delighted to hear that our team made you feel especially special; it is our goal to create memorable stays that last a lifetime.

    We hope to see you again soon at Ellerman House and in beautiful Cape Town.

    Thank you very much,
    Ellerman House Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 September 2023

    Fantastic property - one of the best I have ever visited. Our stay was more like being a guest in someone's home rather than staying at commercial property. The furnishings and decor (and art) in the hotel were remarkable. And the staff went out of their way to find opportunities to please you. The staff addressed all guests by name, remembered from day to day what plans you had the previous day. Management visited with all guests every morning in the dining room to make sure they were happy with their stay and to come up with ways to make it even more memorable. Overall a great experience.

    Date of stay: September 2023
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
    Thank marksmbm
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Ellerman House, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

    Dear marksmbm,

    Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay at Ellerman House.

    When visiting Cape Town, Ellerman House is truly your home, and we prefer to think of the employees as an extension of your family. For this reason, we address visitors by name, and we are constantly aiming to offer tailored guest experiences and stays during your stay with us.

    Thank you very much,
    Ellerman House Family

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 September 2023 via mobile

    Hands down this is the best hotel in the Cape in fact South Africa . Our room was spacious with the most stunning ocean view. The food is out of this world ( thanks to Chef Kieran ) their wine menu is one of the best. The staff were so friendly and welcoming , you almost feel like you’re in a beautiful home , rather than a hotel. There are so many beautiful decorated lounges to chill in , and the gardens and pool area are in immaculate condition. If you are interested in art , they offer art tours as they have a huge art collection . And the wine gallery and wine tasting is a must . Zolani did the wine tour and what an enthusiastic , engaging young man he was .
    The 6pm sundowners on the deck with canapés are all complimentary, we felt like we were on the Italian riviera it was so beautiful. Marlyn was always on hand to make us our special cocktails and chat about the menus.
    And then the pantry! just the thing if you are feeling peckish , it’s filled with cakes, sweets, biscuits and so much more and you can raid the pantry at any time of the day or night .
    All in all it was a magical experience and I can’t wait to go back. 2 nights was far too short. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so special, I can’t wait to come back

    Room tip: Give yourself time to just enjoy the hotel
    Date of stay: September 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank CLARESouthAfrica
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Ellerman House, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

    Dear CLARESouthAfrica,

    Thank you for your positive feedback on your stay at Ellerman House.

    We are delighted that you loved the authentic South African experience, which is reflected in our art collection, gourmet offerings, extensive gardens, and exceptional crew. We continuously strive to provide outstanding visitor experiences while being comfortable and modest.

    We hope to see you again soon to enjoy even more of what we offer, including 21 complimentary features to make your stay extra special.

    Best wishes,
    Ellerman House Family

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews