We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
CLARESouthAfrica
Sandton, South Africa

An outstanding stay

Review of Ellerman House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Sept 2023via mobile
Hands down this is the best hotel in the Cape in fact South Africa . Our room was spacious with the most stunning ocean view. The food is out of this world ( thanks to Chef Kieran ) their wine menu is one of the best. The staff were so friendly and welcoming , you almost feel like you’re in a beautiful home , rather than a hotel. There are so many beautiful decorated lounges to chill in , and the gardens and pool area are in immaculate condition. If you are interested in art , they offer art tours as they have a huge art collection . And the wine gallery and wine tasting is a must . Zolani did the wine tour and what an enthusiastic , engaging young man he was .
The 6pm sundowners on the deck with canapés are all complimentary, we felt like we were on the Italian riviera it was so beautiful. Marlyn was always on hand to make us our special cocktails and chat about the menus.
And then the pantry! just the thing if you are feeling peckish , it’s filled with cakes, sweets, biscuits and so much more and you can raid the pantry at any time of the day or night .
All in all it was a magical experience and I can’t wait to go back. 2 nights was far too short. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so special, I can’t wait to come back
Date of stay: September 2023
Room Tip: Give yourself time to just enjoy the hotel
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ellerman House, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review
Responded 18 Oct 2023
Dear CLARESouthAfrica,

Thank you for your positive feedback on your stay at Ellerman House.

We are delighted that you loved the authentic South African experience, which is reflected in our art collection, gourmet offerings, extensive gardens, and exceptional crew. We continuously strive to provide outstanding visitor experiences while being comfortable and modest.

We hope to see you again soon to enjoy even more of what we offer, including 21 complimentary features to make your stay extra special.

Best wishes,
Ellerman House Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    R 3 822
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Ellerman House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 7 934
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Ellerman House
Free Wifi
Free parking
    0.2 km from Ellerman House
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    Entrance
    • Priceline
    • Algotels
    • eDreams
    0.6 km from Ellerman House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Preferred Hotels
      R 2 040
    • Priceline
    0.7 km from Ellerman House
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    Guesthouse + street
    • Vio.com
    0.5 km from Ellerman House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Agoda.com
    • Lol.travel
    0.5 km from Ellerman House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • StayForLong
    • Vio.com
    • Lol.travel
    0.7 km from Ellerman House
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    • Priceline
    0.7 km from Ellerman House
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    • Vio.com
    0.3 km from Ellerman House
    View more hotels in Bantry Bay
    Reviews (460)
    Filter reviews
    460 results
    Traveller rating
    430
    18
    8
    2
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    430
    18
    8
    2
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews art collection south african art house room cape town private home anywhere in the world home away from home stunning views spa property cellar luxury accommodations properties sundowners bay sa
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    12 - 17 of 460 reviews
    Reviewed 16 September 2023

    We stayed here as our first stop on our honeymoon. Cape Town is an amazing city and we wish we had more time, particularly at the Ellerman House. Unbeatable views, service, food, wine and art. We will be back!

    Date of stay: September 2023
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
    Thank heatherbC8624MF
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Ellerman House, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

    Dear heatherbC8624MF,

    Thank you for selecting Ellerman House as your honeymoon destination. Cape Town is the ideal spot to celebrate the start of your new life together, with its flaming sunsets, magnificent white-sand beaches, and world-class food. Guests at Ellerman House can spend their honeymoon surrounded by the beautiful romance of our cliffside grande dame, complete with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views, plush, opulent suites, and a calm spa with a dedicated treatment area designed for couples.

    We hope to be able to welcome you back to Cape Town for a future adventure.

    Thank you very much,
    Ellerman House Family

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 September 2023 via mobile

    Ellerman House is a beautiful artsy boutique hotel with an exceptional view. The location is great and the food was outstanding. The room, bathroom and deck were very spacious and comfortable. Everyone was very helpful and attentive, especially Duran who was a fantastic server and made the best coffee drinks. Drinks on the patio are a must. Highly recommend!

    Date of stay: September 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank EllenG2222
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Ellerman House, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

    Dear EllenG2222,

    Thank you for your kind words, and it's great that you appreciated the views, meals, and overall Ellerman House experience. We will certainly share this feedback with Duran - our team is the life and heart of Ellerman House, and we know Duran will be overjoyed.

    We surely hope to have another chance to welcome you back to Ellerman House.

    Best wishes,
    Ellerman House Family

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 August 2023

    Went on our honeymoon for three days and it was the most incredible experience ever. The staff is attentive but not overwhelming. The food and drinks are exceptional and the property is absolutely spectacular. The art tour and wine tasting tour on the property were added bonuses to our trip but invaluable experiences. If it were up to us we would have stayed much longer !!

    Date of stay: August 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank adinab697
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Ellerman House, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2023

    Greetings Adinab697.

    Thank you very much for your amazing review! We are pleased to have played a part in your wonderful honeymoon! We appreciate the compliments on the culinary offerings and the art tour, which are all part of the Ellerman House experience.

    We hope to see you again for another wedding anniversary celebration.

    Best regards,
    Ellerman House Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 July 2023

    I'm not sure I can sufficiently put my experience into words! Every single staff member from the front room to the wait staff were so attentive and welcoming. We were staying to celebrate my 50th birthday and I noticed a ring in the display case that I fell in love with. My husband and I were leaving in the morning and I did not buy the ring. Unbeknownst to me, my husband was working remotely with the staff to somehow purchase the ring and get it to us. I don't have everyone's name because my husband was the one scheming but somehow they got that ring delivered to us WHILE WE WERE ON SAFARI!!! That level of service is beyond words. Not to outshine the perfect cocktails, blankets on the terrace at sunset and the exquisite pot of tea next to the fire. Our stay was impeccable from start to finish. I wish Ellerman House was closer so I could quickly return.

    Room tip: Have a cocktail from AB, it's worth it!
    Date of stay: July 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank MeredithR176
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Ellerman House, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2023

    Dear MeredithR176,

    Thank you for your kind five-star review.
    We are happy that you chose Ellerman House to celebrate your birthday, and we are delighted that we were able to make it extra special - the team enjoyed making your surprise even more special; that's what we do! It was an absolute pleasure and we hope to see you again for another birthday celebration.

    Best regards,
    Ellerman House Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 July 2023

    We have become fans of the Relais & Châteaux properties and try to seek them out whenever possible because their level of service is typically extraordinary and Ellerman House was no exception. We only had three nights in Cape Town and had other arrangements already made, but rearranged one night so we could get a chance to experience Ellerman House and I'm so glad we did. With only a small amount of rooms (I believe 12 or 13), they told us that they want you to feel like the Ellerman House is your home and it absolutely did. Whether it was enjoying sundowners on the terrace, a glass of wine in the library, getting a snack in the pantry or enjoying breakfast in the dining room, it all felt like quiet, beautiful luxury in a stunning setting. We weren't there long enough to enjoy the pool, the wine gallery or yoga on the sunrise yoga deck, but we will absolutely be back to enjoy those and more!

    Date of stay: July 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank 319christinas
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Ellerman House, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

    Dear 319christinas,

    Thank you very much for your kind words.

    We are grateful that you stayed with us for one night at Ellerman House, your Cape Town home when you next visit our lovely city. We were delighted that you were able to sample a few of our offerings and hope that we will have another opportunity to invite you back to sample even more of what we have to offer! We specialise in hospitality and endeavor to provide the best service possible.

    Thank you again for choosing Ellerman House!

    Best regards,
    Ellerman House Family

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews