We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WEEK END GETAWAY”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sun City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kwena Chalets - Sun City
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“WEEK END GETAWAY”
Reviewed 17 November 2016

NIce place with an exotic feel that takes you away from your daily life and routine.
It is clean,
Service is good.
Staff very helpful and kind.
You re not very far from the markets and crocodile farm.
It s nice and confortable and makes you feel you are in Africa in a very nice way.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTandyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    19
    3
    5
    6
See reviews for
36
20
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Stayed for 3 nights and if we could have we would have stayed longer. Fantastic room, service and amenities. Bus service fantastic too. Will absolutely go again though not sure when as I live in England. Thank you to everyone at Sun City

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marynorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

We are here for the Sun City CANSA cycle race and specifically booked Kwena for a couple of reasons. Perfectly positioned for the start, quiet and out of the main hustle of sun city itself. Sadly, this year, Sun City has erected a hideous conference centre in the car park and appears to have had event after event. We have had permanent noise pollution, blaring music from 6:30am on sat morning, ALL afternoon and right now, I feel like I owe someone a cover charge for the disco I feel is happening in the room. There is NO escape, no quiet and no rest. Good luck Cabana Chalets, I don't see a bright future for you, with this model. Be aware of you are looking for any rest, if traveling with kids or are looking for peace and quiet out of the city. This is no longer the place.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sunrisedh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2016

This lodging location is located within the sun city and if you are staying here, you will get free pass to enter the Sun City (which is normally about 60 rand). Excellent breakfast compared to American hotels. Whoever want the experience of staying in an authentic Chalet should choose this lodging place. Safe place and staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brightgalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa800, Guest Relations Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
Dear Brightgalaxy

Thank you for taking the time to rate our accommodation. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Have a fantastic week ahead

Regards
Vanessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Rooms were clean and spacious. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Emily assisted with the booking and she was wonderful and very helpful in every way. Better priced than accommodation within Sun City, and includes free access into the valley of waves. Breakfast was plain but sufficient The down side : Catching the free shuttle into sun city was difficult. We had to wait long and ask many times. Coming out of sun city, the sun city staff were very rude and unhelpful. There seems to be a perception that guests at Kwena should not be assisted with the shuttle even though this is clearly part of the package. The staff at Kwena seemed helpless on this. Kwena needs to urgently resolve this issue with Sun city as it really takes away from the experience. Will definitely stay again and hope that the problem improves.

  • Stayed February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCW131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa800, Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send such an amazing report. We are pleased that we have met some of your expectations.

During the peak season it is difficult for the sun city transport to come within minutes (which they normally do). We will take this up with their managers to ensure this will not happen again. The best we can do is ask them to please assist us (which i believe my staff has done) and the rest is up to them. I ensure you that we will turn around every rock to make sure our guest has the best of both (accommodation and transport)

Once again thank you for your feedback. We value every comment and review we receive to make it better for our guest.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
1.0 km away
The Palace of the Lost City
0.3 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
612 reviews
35.8 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
383.0 km away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
471 reviews
4.5 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
787 reviews
4.9 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwena Chalets - Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwena Chalets - Sun City

Property: Kwena Chalets - Sun City
Address: Kwena Gardens Trail, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price range (per night): R2 883
Hotel Class:3 star — Kwena Chalets - Sun City 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 14 luxury thatched roof chalets are decorated in warm, authentic African colours and relaxing themes, providing all necessary comforts. Breakfast is included in your chalet rate. Serving breakfast and light meals while overlooking our beautifully landscaped crocodile ponds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sun City Kwena Chalets Hotel Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing