We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kwena Chalets - Sun City
Nearby Hotels
US$467
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$611
US$572
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Kingdom Resort(Sun City)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bakubung Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)(Great Value!)
US$482
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Soho Hotel(Sun City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
44
19
3
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
19
3
5
7
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Stayed for 3 nights and if we could have we would have stayed longer. Fantastic room, service and amenities. Bus service fantastic too. Will absolutely go again though not sure when as I live in England. Thank you to everyone at Sun City

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marynorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

We are here for the Sun City CANSA cycle race and specifically booked Kwena for a couple of reasons. Perfectly positioned for the start, quiet and out of the main hustle of sun city itself. Sadly, this year, Sun City has erected a hideous conference centre in the car park and appears to have had event after event. We have had permanent noise pollution, blaring music from 6:30am on sat morning, ALL afternoon and right now, I feel like I owe someone a cover charge for the disco I feel is happening in the room. There is NO escape, no quiet and no rest. Good luck Cabana Chalets, I don't see a bright future for you, with this model. Be aware of you are looking for any rest, if traveling with kids or are looking for peace and quiet out of the city. This is no longer the place.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
6  Thank sunrisedh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

This lodging location is located within the sun city and if you are staying here, you will get free pass to enter the Sun City (which is normally about 60 rand). Excellent breakfast compared to American hotels. Whoever want the experience of staying in an authentic Chalet should choose this lodging place. Safe place and staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brightgalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa800, Guest Relations Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2016

Dear Brightgalaxy

Thank you for taking the time to rate our accommodation. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Have a fantastic week ahead

Regards
Vanessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Rooms were clean and spacious. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Emily assisted with the booking and she was wonderful and very helpful in every way. Better priced than accommodation within Sun City, and includes free access into the valley of waves. Breakfast was plain but sufficient The down side : Catching the free shuttle into sun city was difficult. We had to wait long and ask many times. Coming out of sun city, the sun city staff were very rude and unhelpful. There seems to be a perception that guests at Kwena should not be assisted with the shuttle even though this is clearly part of the package. The staff at Kwena seemed helpless on this. Kwena needs to urgently resolve this issue with Sun city as it really takes away from the experience. Will definitely stay again and hope that the problem improves.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCW131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa800, Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send such an amazing report. We are pleased that we have met some of your expectations.

During the peak season it is difficult for the sun city transport to come within minutes (which they normally do). We will take this up with their managers to ensure this will not happen again. The best we can do is ask them to please assist us (which i believe my staff has done) and the rest is up to them. I ensure you that we will turn around every rock to make sure our guest has the best of both (accommodation and transport)

Once again thank you for your feedback. We value every comment and review we receive to make it better for our guest.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Kwena Chalets is the poorest accommodation within Sun City. Hugely over priced for what you get. We could have stayed at the main hotel for the same amount and received far more value. Our son had to share a bed with us on the first night as the forgot to make him up a bed, when they did it was a dirty old mattress on the floor. The breakfast was awful. The poorest quality one could find. Everything is cheap. The crocodiles are ill treated, being hit with rubber hoses on the noses. The beautiful gardens are tired and old. Transportation to sun city is limited and takes a long time. There is no relaxation area at the lodge so most of your time is spent at the other hotels. Our bathroom was falling apart and I think we had the oldest tv in South Africa in outlet room. Nothing luxurious about the place Waste of money.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank CandiceWyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa800, Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is with great disappointment that we have not met your standards and we will strive to do better in the future. There was a miscommunication from Bookings.com when you booked for 2 people and No children.

We are busy upgrading the premises and We are saddened that you did not enjoy your stay at our chalet. Our main aim at kwena is for each and every guest to be heartly welcomed and treated like family. We will definitely improve on the status of the staff as well as the chalets. We are constantly repairing and improving our facilities and appreciate your feedback.The chalets are being upgraded but due to the busy season we have had very little time to do renovations.

Our crocodiles are well fed and taken care of. We will have a look at the statement you have given above and take serious steps to ensure that this will not happen.

As for the Gardens, due to drought and water shortages we try to water as much as possible but during this summer we had no rain and have to use water sparingly.

Transport within sun city has been very busy and during peak time they are doing the best they can with driving between all the hotels. I sincerely apologize if you had to wait long and ensure you we will report this and improve this.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we sincerely apologize if you have not enjoyed your stay at our chalets

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews