We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place to stay within Sun City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kwena Chalets - Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kwena Chalets - Sun City
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Place to stay within Sun City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2016

This lodging location is located within the sun city and if you are staying here, you will get free pass to enter the Sun City (which is normally about 60 rand). Excellent breakfast compared to American hotels. Whoever want the experience of staying in an authentic Chalet should choose this lodging place. Safe place and staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brightgalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa800, Guest Relations Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
Dear Brightgalaxy

Thank you for taking the time to rate our accommodation. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Have a fantastic week ahead

Regards
Vanessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    19
    3
    5
    6
See reviews for
36
20
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2016

Rooms were clean and spacious. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Emily assisted with the booking and she was wonderful and very helpful in every way. Better priced than accommodation within Sun City, and includes free access into the valley of waves. Breakfast was plain but sufficient The down side : Catching the free shuttle into sun city was difficult. We had to wait long and ask many times. Coming out of sun city, the sun city staff were very rude and unhelpful. There seems to be a perception that guests at Kwena should not be assisted with the shuttle even though this is clearly part of the package. The staff at Kwena seemed helpless on this. Kwena needs to urgently resolve this issue with Sun city as it really takes away from the experience. Will definitely stay again and hope that the problem improves.

  • Stayed February 2016, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCW131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa800, Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send such an amazing report. We are pleased that we have met some of your expectations.

During the peak season it is difficult for the sun city transport to come within minutes (which they normally do). We will take this up with their managers to ensure this will not happen again. The best we can do is ask them to please assist us (which i believe my staff has done) and the rest is up to them. I ensure you that we will turn around every rock to make sure our guest has the best of both (accommodation and transport)

Once again thank you for your feedback. We value every comment and review we receive to make it better for our guest.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Kwena Chalets is the poorest accommodation within Sun City. Hugely over priced for what you get. We could have stayed at the main hotel for the same amount and received far more value. Our son had to share a bed with us on the first night as the forgot to make him up a bed, when they did it was a dirty old mattress on the floor. The breakfast was awful. The poorest quality one could find. Everything is cheap. The crocodiles are ill treated, being hit with rubber hoses on the noses. The beautiful gardens are tired and old. Transportation to sun city is limited and takes a long time. There is no relaxation area at the lodge so most of your time is spent at the other hotels. Our bathroom was falling apart and I think we had the oldest tv in South Africa in outlet room. Nothing luxurious about the place Waste of money.

Stayed March 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CandiceWyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa800, Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is with great disappointment that we have not met your standards and we will strive to do better in the future. There was a miscommunication from Bookings.com when you booked for 2 people and No children.

We are busy upgrading the premises and We are saddened that you did not enjoy your stay at our chalet. Our main aim at kwena is for each and every guest to be heartly welcomed and treated like family. We will definitely improve on the status of the staff as well as the chalets. We are constantly repairing and improving our facilities and appreciate your feedback.The chalets are being upgraded but due to the busy season we have had very little time to do renovations.

Our crocodiles are well fed and taken care of. We will have a look at the statement you have given above and take serious steps to ensure that this will not happen.

As for the Gardens, due to drought and water shortages we try to water as much as possible but during this summer we had no rain and have to use water sparingly.

Transport within sun city has been very busy and during peak time they are doing the best they can with driving between all the hotels. I sincerely apologize if you had to wait long and ensure you we will report this and improve this.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we sincerely apologize if you have not enjoyed your stay at our chalets

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed staying here the service was fantastic everyone was very friendly and willing to help and answer any questions we had the rooms we're really nice and clean the croc sanctuary was really great to see as soon as we arrived we were informed that the croc feeding was about to start and we were taken there to watch that then handed a baby croc to hold then shown back to reception where we were given our key to our room and showed to our room very easy to get around and close to everything we just went to reception and they called a shuttle for us to anywhere inside sun city and the shuttle was there within 5 mins every time some of sun city was shut down due to renovations but still an amazing experience we would definatly stay here again and recommend it to anyone

Stayed February 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie-lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa800, Guest Relations Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this review, 22 March 2016
Dear Stevie-lee

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We pride ourselves in making every experience as personal and memorable as possible. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we have met your expectations.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2016

Sent couple of emails..no answer...phoned from overseas....no answer..tried again a few times eventually get through when someone answered the phone..spoke to someone about wanting to book and enquired rates..get passed between two different people one of them could barley understand / speak English (I am english south African). They were not very polite on the phone I asked some questions regarding certain things and the feeling you get is that you are interrupting them and they want to hang up as quickly as possible and were not very friendly on phone. very slack. going to stay somewhere else as I have overseas visitors joining me in SA for the first time and with service I got just trying to make enquiries its too risky!! No Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2016, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa800, Guest Relations Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this review, 22 March 2016
Dear Mark

I sincerely apologize for the booking experience you have received. I ensure you proper training is given to every staff member. With every guest booking with us we try to make this experience as easy and pleasant as possible to meet the expectation of every guest. I do sincerely apologize once again and I hope you will consider giving us another chance to show you the best quality of service from Kwena chalets.

Regards
Manangement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
39.0 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
1.3 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.0 km away
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
383.0 km away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
4.9 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwena Chalets - Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwena Chalets - Sun City

Property: Kwena Chalets - Sun City
Address: Kwena Gardens Trail, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price range (per night): R2 552
Hotel Class:3 star — Kwena Chalets - Sun City 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 14 luxury thatched roof chalets are decorated in warm, authentic African colours and relaxing themes, providing all necessary comforts. Breakfast is included in your chalet rate. Serving breakfast and light meals while overlooking our beautifully landscaped crocodile ponds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sun City Kwena Chalets Hotel Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing