We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kwena Chalets - Sun City
Nearby Hotels
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$365
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$225
US$181
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Kingdom Resort(Sun City)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Bakubung Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)(Great Value!)
US$425
US$370
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
US$487
US$441
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Soho Hotel(Sun City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
44
19
3
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
19
3
5
7
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Rooms were clean and spacious. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Emily assisted with the booking and she was wonderful and very helpful in every way. Better priced than accommodation within Sun City, and includes free access into the valley of waves. Breakfast was plain but sufficient The down side : Catching the free shuttle into sun city was difficult. We had to wait long and ask many times. Coming out of sun city, the sun city staff were very rude and unhelpful. There seems to be a perception that guests at Kwena should not be assisted with the shuttle even though this is clearly part of the package. The staff at Kwena seemed helpless on this. Kwena needs to urgently resolve this issue with Sun city as it really takes away from the experience. Will definitely stay again and hope that the problem improves.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCW131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa800, Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send such an amazing report. We are pleased that we have met some of your expectations.

During the peak season it is difficult for the sun city transport to come within minutes (which they normally do). We will take this up with their managers to ensure this will not happen again. The best we can do is ask them to please assist us (which i believe my staff has done) and the rest is up to them. I ensure you that we will turn around every rock to make sure our guest has the best of both (accommodation and transport)

Once again thank you for your feedback. We value every comment and review we receive to make it better for our guest.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Kwena Chalets is the poorest accommodation within Sun City. Hugely over priced for what you get. We could have stayed at the main hotel for the same amount and received far more value. Our son had to share a bed with us on the first night as the forgot to make him up a bed, when they did it was a dirty old mattress on the floor. The breakfast was awful. The poorest quality one could find. Everything is cheap. The crocodiles are ill treated, being hit with rubber hoses on the noses. The beautiful gardens are tired and old. Transportation to sun city is limited and takes a long time. There is no relaxation area at the lodge so most of your time is spent at the other hotels. Our bathroom was falling apart and I think we had the oldest tv in South Africa in outlet room. Nothing luxurious about the place Waste of money.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank CandiceWyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa800, Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is with great disappointment that we have not met your standards and we will strive to do better in the future. There was a miscommunication from Bookings.com when you booked for 2 people and No children.

We are busy upgrading the premises and We are saddened that you did not enjoy your stay at our chalet. Our main aim at kwena is for each and every guest to be heartly welcomed and treated like family. We will definitely improve on the status of the staff as well as the chalets. We are constantly repairing and improving our facilities and appreciate your feedback.The chalets are being upgraded but due to the busy season we have had very little time to do renovations.

Our crocodiles are well fed and taken care of. We will have a look at the statement you have given above and take serious steps to ensure that this will not happen.

As for the Gardens, due to drought and water shortages we try to water as much as possible but during this summer we had no rain and have to use water sparingly.

Transport within sun city has been very busy and during peak time they are doing the best they can with driving between all the hotels. I sincerely apologize if you had to wait long and ensure you we will report this and improve this.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we sincerely apologize if you have not enjoyed your stay at our chalets

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed staying here the service was fantastic everyone was very friendly and willing to help and answer any questions we had the rooms we're really nice and clean the croc sanctuary was really great to see as soon as we arrived we were informed that the croc feeding was about to start and we were taken there to watch that then handed a baby croc to hold then shown back to reception where we were given our key to our room and showed to our room very easy to get around and close to everything we just went to reception and they called a shuttle for us to anywhere inside sun city and the shuttle was there within 5 mins every time some of sun city was shut down due to renovations but still an amazing experience we would definatly stay here again and recommend it to anyone

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stevie-lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa800, Guest Relations Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Dear Stevie-lee

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We pride ourselves in making every experience as personal and memorable as possible. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we have met your expectations.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Sent couple of emails..no answer...phoned from overseas....no answer..tried again a few times eventually get through when someone answered the phone..spoke to someone about wanting to book and enquired rates..get passed between two different people one of them could barley understand / speak English (I am english south African). They were not very polite on the phone I asked some questions regarding certain things and the feeling you get is that you are interrupting them and they want to hang up as quickly as possible and were not very friendly on phone. very slack. going to stay somewhere else as I have overseas visitors joining me in SA for the first time and with service I got just trying to make enquiries its too risky!! No Thanks!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa800, Guest Relations Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Dear Mark

I sincerely apologize for the booking experience you have received. I ensure you proper training is given to every staff member. With every guest booking with us we try to make this experience as easy and pleasant as possible to meet the expectation of every guest. I do sincerely apologize once again and I hope you will consider giving us another chance to show you the best quality of service from Kwena chalets.

Regards
Manangement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Inferior accommodation for R3000 a night. Black mould in the shower, loose tap fittings, toilet that was continually running. Obviously no maintenance done on the chalets for a long time. Disinterested reception staff, who could hardly bring themselves to help....asked for a shuttle to Cascades and was waved in the direction of where we must wait, no smiles, no courteous manner, no helpful manner. Breakfast a disgrace, thick slices of ham, dried out slices of cheese and horrible scramble eggs. Staff talking at the top of their voices in the dining room. We were then subjected to having to watch a croc being caught to be put on display for the day. Staff were rough with the terrified baby reptiles.
We will never return to this rip off place. Sun International should be ashamed to be running such low grade accommodation at this price. No management was seen at all for the duration of our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Bea873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa800, Guest Relations Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Dear Bea

We thank you for taking the time to communicate to us that we did not meet your expectations.

We have immediately spoken to the employees present that weekend to evaluate your stay at our chalets.

We highly appreciate your feedback and will contact you in the upcoming days.

It is our goal to offer an amazing and personable experience for all of our customers and will not be satisfied until we have improved upon your experience.

I Ensure you that every crocodile in our enclosure is never harmed. Our tour guides has had training on how to handle them as well as care for them outside the enclosure. NO harm will ever be given to our animals.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews