We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Emily L
Sweden

Good - but not the best for families

Review of Sun City Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Nov 2021via mobile
We are on a mission to test different trips to be recommended to other families. First out is Sun City. We booked 4 nights at Cabanas but when we arrived yesterday it was closed (will hopefully be able to check-in there today).
When you enter Soho the first (and only thing) you see is the casino. We were given a family room next to the Smoking Casino. Compared to what we have booked at the Cabanas (looking at photos) it felt really dated and it didnt smell nice. We told the reception who gave us another room two levels down, next to the restaurant Sun Terrace and with a glimpse of the pool. This room was equally dated but much bigger and brighter and had a lighter and friendlier feeling. I must also add that the bathroom was superb - large and beautifully renovated.
For a late lunch we went to the pool bar and had sandwiches which were good, the kids were afraid of the baboons (one came to our table and took the lemon from a drink) but there were guards to keep them away. The pool and the pool area was really nice until around 5 pm when it started to fill up with people drinking and smoking, even IN the pool.
The night was quiet so we all had a good night sleep but now we hope that we can move to Cabanas during the day and get more of the family vacation that we are here for. Will get back with a new review for that hotel!
Date of stay: November 2021
Room Tip: If possible, try to get a room facing the pool.
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle Dutton, General Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 14 Dec 2021
Good Day EmilyIU8285AE
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Soho, and we are glad to see you enjoy our Ground floor Lux Rooms at Soho. They are lovely rooms.
We hope you enjoyed your stay on the resort and made time for the Valley of the Waves.
Kind Regards
The Soho Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Exterior
R 5 127
R 3 059
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 059
0.2 km from Sun City Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 6 100
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 100
  • Trip.com
1.0 km from Sun City Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior View
R 7 215
R 6 261
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 261
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Sun City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Vio.com
  • Destinia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.1 km from Sun City Hotel
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
16.6 km from Sun City Hotel
    93.6 km from Sun City Hotel
      95.6 km from Sun City Hotel
      R 1 364
      R 1 260
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Algotels
      5.3 km from Sun City Hotel
      Free parking
      Pool
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        R 4 659
      • Expedia.com
        R 4 706
      4.8 km from Sun City Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Sun City
      Reviews (670)
      Filter reviews
      670 results
      Traveller rating
      175
      189
      150
      79
      77
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      175
      189
      150
      79
      77
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews vacation club golf course gary player non smoking shuttle service casino waves valley palace raj monkeys courses suncity maze
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      45 - 50 of 670 reviews
      Reviewed 4 November 2021

      Rooms are very small for families, shower was not working, bathtub in the bathroom could fit a 5 year old are u people for real?sheets are too old or very cheap quality, no sound proof we were unable to sleep due to the noise from neighbors, room was very dirty the head board and chair needs a serious cleaning, the sofa bed was very hard and un comfortable my children was complaining the whole night as much as I love the location of the hotel I will never come back we had a terrible stay thank u

      Date of stay: November 2021
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank Sibumlayedwa45
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Michelle Dutton, General Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2021

      Good Day Sibumlayedwa 45
      Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.
      We have noted your comments and concerns on your stay with use, and have reviewed with the team concerned. We have found some points very concerning, considering we have recently update our linen and our cleaning procedures and will review with the team accordingly. We thank you for bringing this to our attention.
      Kind Regards
      The Soho Team

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 28 October 2021

      Sol Kerzner would have fired everybody, and rightly so.
      What an utter disappointment.
      If “Soho” is the last hotel left on earth, I will not stay in it again.
      In my view, it will be an insult to a Town Lodge Hotel to describe Soho as a Town Lodge, disguised as a Sun International hotel.
      Soho, or the old Sun City Hotel is a four-star hotel, but it should really lose a star or two.
      In my view it is at best a three-star hotel, at worst, a two star (despite some dated glitz and glam from its heyday) and if you disagree you have no real standards and should go and stay at a real hotel, like The Palace of the Lost City (which was full, hence our stay at Soho).
      Check-in went smooth, but in each of the three rooms we booked for the three-night stay, either a lightbulb was out, or the light was flickering. A call to report it on Thursday led to nothing being done, up to Sunday when we checked out (and those lights are probably still not fixed).
      Furniture and carpets were either dirty or damaged or both.
      The room had plastic teaspoons.
      Room service was at best apathetic – taking an hour for a simple milkshake and a slice of cake and an hour for two small plates and a knife.
      Pool service was as indifferent to service as well.
      For a four-star, breakfast boasted paper coffee cups, filled at machines.
      Despite this review, Soho or Sun International will do nothing – Sun City’s biggest problem is the monopoly it has. That said, Soho suffers from a patent identity problem – the name itself has nothing to do with what Sun City purports to be. From Africa’s Kingdom of Pleasure to misguided attempts to impart faux urban “city” elements.
      It is misplaced, it is cheap, and it is tacky. Just like “Soho.”

      Date of stay: October 2021
        • Rooms
        • Service
      1  Thank DrFJLabuschagne
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Michelle Dutton, General Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2021

      Good Day DrFJLabuschagne,
      Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us, and highlighting the area's, in which you feel that we can improve on. We as a team have noted some of your concerns are looking at ways in which to improve our service, and service delivery times. While still offering our guest a safe and enjoyable stay.
      We do value your feedback and will use it to work towards a better Soho.
      Kind Regards
      The Soho team

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 2 October 2021

      Thank youmto Michelle and the Soho team once again.
      You always make our stay worth while.We feel so welcomed at Soho.
      Soho has become part of our family.

      Also big thank you to Martin at information desk.His so helpful every every visit.
      So welcoming and compliments to your great customer service.

      Regards
      Mrs K Krishna n family

      Date of stay: September 2021
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Keshni K
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Michelle Dutton, General Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2021

      Good Day Mrs Krishna,

      Thank you so much for your feedback, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and you feel that you are part of our family. We have passed on your kind words to the team. and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

      Kind Regards
      Michelle and the Soho team.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 12 May 2021 via mobile

      I have stayed in all the Sun City hotels and my favorite has always been Cascades, but over the April long weekend tried the rebranded Soho Hotel. We got upgrade to the “Presidential suite’. Not so presidential in size but well located on the top floor with all the modern facilities. Truly luxurious and comfortable with jacuzzi et al. My grandchildren truly loved the luxury and will judge every suite against this one. The WiFi is strong and the beds comfortable.

      Because of the COVID protocols, there is no cutlery, glasses no plates in the room. I do not get it why have wine and a microwave if one cannot use it? The resort offers many restaurants and takeout place, which is wonderful.

      Date of stay: March 2021
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      2  Thank Voyager26
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Michelle Dutton, General Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2021

      Good Day Voyager26,
      Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. we are glad to hear you enjoyed you stay with us at the Soho Hotel, The resort does have a slot to offer and we are glad you enjoyed some of the facilities. Covid has cause a lot of our "normal" business ideas to change but we are reviewing them as the Covid levels change, and will note you observation regarding the suites - thank you, for letting us know.
      We hope to welcome you back to Soho in the future.
      Kind Regards
      Michelle and the Soho Team

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 4 May 2021

      I feel the review should be used to help the hotel improve the management during this difficult pandemic. The Soho hotel was not at all a 4 star facility, despite being advertised so, our towels were not replaced, our water was not replaced, rooms were only ready 2-3 hours after the check in time. Information was difficult to come by. Breakfast was chaos to say the least, not well managed at all. If it was a 2 or 3 star facility perhaps these could be overlooked, but after staying in many 4 and 5 star places in my life, this was not at all up to scratch and left me and my family disappointed for spending the money to stay there. We were also not an isolated incident as at one point I stood in a que of people with the same complaints. I do feel sorry for the staff during the pandemic, but a plan should be made.

      Room tip: stay at another hotel
      Date of stay: April 2021
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank BMCBMC12345
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Michelle Dutton, General Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2021

      Good day BMCBMC12345,
      Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Soho. We have noted your concerns regarding the replacement of the towels and water in the rooms, and will review with the team concerned.
      Unfortunately with Covid does come a new set of Challenges that we learn from each day, we have noted your comments and concerns and will look at ways to improve the shortfalls you have noted.
      Kind Regards
      Michelle and the Soho Team

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews