We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
R 4 855
Fully refundable before Sun, 21 Apr
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Lol.travel
R 4 804
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (664)
Filter reviews
664 results
Traveller rating
173
189
150
78
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
173
189
150
78
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vacation club golf course gary player non smoking shuttle service casino waves valley palace raj monkeys courses suncity maze
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 664 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2020

Our trip started with a great surprise from Elizabeth to let us we were getting an upgrade. Always a treat if you get these!
Felicia at reception was so helpful in terms of sorting our bookings and room requirements amongst our group of friends.
We loved the music at Legends on the first night and vibe at The Shebeen on the second (and value for money food/ drinks so definitely worth a visit)
Jaw dropping pool at the SOHO and lovely breakfast too.
My tips:
For a treat book sundowner drinks at The Tusk Bar and experience The Palace.
Great lunches but both golf clubs (price and location/ views) unbeatable

Room tip: Room 522 and near that have great views!
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 257genevievea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle Dutton, General Manager at Sun City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2020

Good Day 257genevievea,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us and great feedback on you stay - we are glad to see you enjoyed all the facilities across the resort.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Sun City.
Kind Regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2020

We have visited the Sun City complex numerous times for the last 40 odd years, staying at the Cabanas, Main Hotel (now Soho), Cascades, The Palace and even the vacation club.

We booked two rooms, ours was for 2 adults and 2 children. Our children complained that the sleeper couch was very uncomfortable.

The second room was for 2 adults who visited Sun City for the first time. We were embarrassed that we "made" Sun City sound so amazing compared to what we experienced.

Not sure we will visit in a very long time. There are many other destinations that would be worth the money!

Room tip: Ground floor, you can open your door and sit outside
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RoshneeG2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle Dutton, General Manager at Sun City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2020

Good Day RoshneeG2803,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We have noted the concerns, and are reviewing the sleeper couches in the rooms.
We pride ourselves on offering a one stop vacation destination, having everything from Game drives, to Valley of the Waves, as well as a Championship Golf course, on the resort.
If there are any other details you would like to share from your stay with us, you are welcome to contact me : michelle.dutton@suninternational.com.

Kind Regards
Michelle and the Soho Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2020 via mobile

The standard is shocki g
No quality control
We were 3 but had to beg for extra towels etc
Extra bed made up only with a blanket and no sheers
Water pressure non existent
Is this a one star hotel???
No standards here anymore
Never again

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank KnysnaGypsy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle Dutton, General Manager at Sun City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2020

Good Day Apie1967
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
I have noted all the concerns you have raised regarding the Housekeeping team, and will address with them immediately. This is not the standard we pride ourselves in or the standard of service you should have received.
Thank you once again for taking the time to review our service, and I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced on you stay with us.
Kind Regards
Michelle and the Soho Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2020

Having stayed at The Palace, The Cascades as well as Sun City Vacation Club we had high expectations of Sun City’s 4 star Soho Hotel. We booked two rooms, a ground floor superior unit and a 6th floor twin unit.

To say that we were underwhelmed and disappointed is an understatement. I cannot, for the life of me, understand why this hotel is rated 4 star. Upon arrival, we were issued our room keys only to find that the 6th floor unit key wasn’t working. It took almost an hour of various staff members unsuccessfully trying to sort the door out, until I eventually insisted that we be moved to another room.

The impressions of the room was nowhere NEAR the standard one expects of a four star hotel in a flagship resort. The decor is dated, the fittings are shoddy, furniture is either lacking (we had NO chair for the desk in our family unit) or sub-standard (my daughter slept on a very uncomfortable sleeper couch). In fact, there was no material difference between the twin unit and our ‘family’ unit – apart, ironically, from the fact that the twin unit had a chair.

I have never stayed in a hotel where sound carries as it did in our unit at Soho. The sound of people having a normal conversation, or watching TV carried over into our room, which is unacceptable. Not to mention that getting an elevator on the first floor (two below the ground floor) is virtually impossible.

Considering the price premium that Soho demands over other 4-star hotels we’ve stayed at, it delivers very little value. Fortunately, our weekend was redeemed by the one-of-a-kind experience that Sun City offers, however, we will not be returning to this hotel in the future.

Soho, sort it out. Your guests deserve better!

Room tip: Go for a unit on a higher floor
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RamoPhalatse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle Dutton, General Manager at Sun City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Good Day RamoPhalatse,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us, and apologies for any inconvenience caused.
We have noted the concerns you have raise regarding the room appointments, and have been reviewing the rooms one by one to ensure they have all the required furniture and items that are meant to be in the rooms. Soho was 40 years old last year, and some of the older décor styles have remained to keep the old world charm. We are however looking at refurbing the hotel in the near further to address some of the issues noted. We have had an issue with our lifts, and are in the process of replacing and updating them.

We want to that you again for you detail feedback and assistance in making Soho great again.
Kind Regards
Michelle and the Soho Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2020 via mobile

Please don’t get me wrong , sun city is an amazing resort, but just be mindful that the Soho hotel is extremely noisy, and depending on where your room is in proximity to the casino, is extremely noisy as the slots has PA announcements the whole night not giving one a chance to rest.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JackSelesnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle Dutton, General Manager at Sun City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2020

Good Day Mr Jack Selesnik,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We have reviewed the system at the casino floor and reduced the sound volume. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We are glad to see that you enjoyed the rest o the resort.

Kind Regards,
Michelle and the Soho Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews