We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
R 2 474
Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
R 2 482
Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Algotels
R 2 521
Breakfast included
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Scenic08072571156

HORRIFIC EXPERIENCE!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Oct 2023
I srayed in the Cabanas with my family and our small dog of wich i got authorization for through sun international bookings. I asked SEVERAL times is my dog allowed and i was told yes over and over. On the Bookings.com website it also shows Pet Friendly! Frim the time of arrival until the time we left i was interrogated by several staff of sun city about the dog i was told to stay in the room after i complained because the dog was not allowed outside and if he cries or bark i would have problems (this was now after i was appologized to by one of the staff members that they listened to the voice recording when the booking was made and they heard that their staff member approved the doggy staying there) HOW DO YOU EXPECT A GUEST TO STAY IN THE ROOM TO KEEP THE DOG QUIET IF YOU PAY MORE THAN R8000 for 2 nights stay? I couldnt enjoy anything but went out while my grand daughter was staying with the doggie (and he never cried or barked at all) and we still spend more than R10 thousand rand at Sun City. This was HORRIFIC to say the least! I love going to Sun City i have a gold card and was told when i arrived that my card was downgraded to a silver (another embarresment) why i dont know but i still ended up paying more than R8000 for the 2 nights. I am so furious and disappointed and feel that they owe me a apology and a replacement of my 2 nights that i paid top dollar for to say the least!
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Be rea dy to be disappointed
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Odirile Sebolao, Guest Services / Front Office at Cabanas at Sun City, responded to this review
Responded 6 days ago
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our Cabanas with your family and furry friend. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or miscommunication regarding the accommodation of your pet during your visit. It is never our intention to make our guests feel unwelcome or restricted in any way.

We appreciate your understanding and patience as we work to address and rectify this issue. We have taken your feedback seriously and will ensure that our staff are properly trained and informed about our pet policy to prevent any misunderstandings in the future.

We understand how important it is for our guests to have a comfortable and enjoyable stay, and we regret that your experience fell short of your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any frustration or inconvenience you may have experienced during your time with us.

We hope that you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with a seamless and pleasant experience in the future. If you have any further concerns or would like to discuss your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly.

Thank you for choosing Sun International. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back for a true Cabanas experience.

Warm regards,

Hotel Management Team at Sun City Cabanas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
R 3 643
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
    R 2 453
  • Agoda.com
    R 4 721
  • StayForLong
    R 3 681
0.2 km from Cabanas at Sun City
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
R 6 120
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 6 100
  • Vio.com
    R 6 110
  • Trip.com
    R 6 048
1.2 km from Cabanas at Sun City
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior View
Hotels.com
R 4 163
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Lol.travel
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Cabanas at Sun City
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 800
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 800
  • ZenHotels.com
16.5 km from Cabanas at Sun City
travelup.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 969
  • Trip.com
    R 4 127
  • Vio.com
    R 4 170
0.4 km from Cabanas at Sun City
Hotel Exterior
Hotels.com
R 3 005
R 2 474
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 482
  • Algotels
    R 2 521
  • Vio.com
    R 2 478
0.0 km from Cabanas at Sun City
Free parking
Pool
Granchis Guesthouse
Booking.com
R 665
  • Agoda.com
    R 665
4.7 km from Cabanas at Sun City
Hotels.com
R 6 070
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    R 4 693
  • Vio.com
    R 4 370
  • Trip.com
    R 5 611
4.7 km from Cabanas at Sun City
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 17 530
  • Agoda.com
    R 17 530
4.7 km from Cabanas at Sun City
Priceline
R 1 540
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 264
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 233
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 260
5.1 km from Cabanas at Sun City
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Sun City
Reviews (1 094)
Filter reviews
1 094 results
Traveller rating
202
378
262
124
128
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
202
378
262
124
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water sports buffet breakfast lost city waves valley casino golf monkeys
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1 094 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2023

very poorly kept hotel. Litter everywhere, grubby kids play areas and generally all areas. Complacent, slow and poor service with every interaction. Not geared for families at all as there were no kids meals available, the family room we were sold was a very small room with a pull out couch. Could barely move.

Room tip: Do not book a family room, it is not suitable for a family. Bring your own toddler meals as they do not cater.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JuzzyFick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2023 via mobile

Stay was very good but rooms needed to be a bit bigger than this.When you open your luggage there is hardly any space left in room .Breakfast had nice variety services were ok . We were given rooms on lowest floor . landscapes in and around were cool

Room tip: Higher floor rooms provided much better view's
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank PuneetM747
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dorah Molefe, Guest Services / Front Office at Cabanas at Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2023

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to share your rating of the Cabanas with us.

Kind Regards:
Dorah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2023 via mobile

We wanted a place to stay why we visited at the national park. This is more of a 4 star resort. The grounds are excellent and clean. The breakfast buffet is excellent. Check in is quick. The room we had in 26 block overlooked the lake. Not a big room but really good and clean. The staff were excellent. The weather was cold. So we didn't try the pool but all looked good there. Everything you need for restaurants and entertainment is within walking distance. A lace we would go to again.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ChuckS331
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dorah Molefe, Guest Services / Front Office at Cabanas at Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2023

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your positive feedback.

Kind Regards,
Dorah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2023

Its waste of Money trip. Hotel is completely outdated with very small size rooms with no space to even open 3 people bags. Everything was closed incl vally of waves is closed till June end. even entertainment centre has got pathetic age old games. Current big shopping malls have better options. Zip line was also closed due to Monday. Game drive was worst than zoo... Just managed to see some Zebras and distant back side view of lion. WASTE OF MONEY.

Date of stay: May 2023
1  Thank RAJGOPALN6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dorah Molefe, Guest Services / Front Office at Cabanas at Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2023

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We have noted your comments and we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I have shared your comments with the team to rectify. We strive towards great customer service, and we are embarking on improving this going forward.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dorah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2023

The rooms are a bit small for a family but okay for couples. When we asked them for additional bed which was already paid for, they arranged for the sofa to be converted into a bed which was a bit of a let down - but we understood that this is how it is here.
Breakfast spread is good but they don't have any local dishes which one may want to sample and there is a shuttle to take you to different places in Sun City. We wanted a small piece of band aid for a cut and the front desk said they had none which I thought was a surprise. Staff can do with a bit of improvement on etiquette and communication.

Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jmca2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dorah Molefe, Guest Services / Front Office at Cabanas at Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2023

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to rate us. Your comments are taken seriously, I have shared and addressed them with the team.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dorah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews