We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
R 3 078
Fully refundable before Sun, 21 Apr
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
R 3 078
Fully refundable before Sun, 21 Apr
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
R 2 729
Fully refundable before Sun, 28 Apr
Breakfast included
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 092)
Filter reviews
1 092 results
Traveller rating
201
378
262
124
127
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
201
378
262
124
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water sports buffet breakfast lost city waves valley casino golf monkeys
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 1 092 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2021

Stay away from this hotel unless you like to live in a night club.
The beautiful grounds and surrounding nature are totally ruined by disco music blazing at full volume EVERY DAY, the ENTIRE DAY. The music only stops after 7 PM.
We were a family with 2 kids and a 2 month old baby and it was a nightmare.
At night there are also noisy and rowdy guests and the only way to try get any sleep is to keep all doors sealed shut with the aircon on (which wouldn't stop swinging left to right non stop and blowing right onto us which we had to switch off).
Besides that:
-Very long queues at breakfast
-We were checked into a room with a broken door / lock that couldn't close (most likely from a forced entry). After an hour and a half nightmare, denials that there were any other rooms available for us, and the management trying to move us into 5 or 6 different cigarette smelling rooms, we eventually, after refusing to give up and dealing with the manager directly, were given a room with a functioning door that didn't smell of cigarette smoke. What should have taken 5 mins took 1.5 hours of our family holiday time with my wife sitting with 3 kids guarding the luggage in the original room.
-Rooms tiny

Don't waste your precious time and hard earned money.

Room tip: Furthest from the DJ (pool area)
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2021

The resort is absolutely amazing! The service is brilliant, the facilities are awesome! You park your car and everything is available on the resort, no need to drive out. Plenty pools, the only downside is that none of the pools are heated. Other than that, I was extremely sad to leave, absolutely love Sun City!

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Katzzmoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dorah Molefe, Guest Services / Front Office at Cabanas at Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2023

Dear Guest,

We appreciate hearing form the customers, as we are committed to creating everlasting memories.

Kind Regards,

Dorah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2021

We had booked to stay in the Cabanas from the Friday until the Monday. We are a family of 4, myself and my husband and 2 girls aged 4 years and 10 months. We arrived on the Friday, check in was good and we spent the day swimming at the pool.

Day turns to night, and the nightmare of a noisy night began. We were in a room and all around us was obviously booked by a whole family, taking up 5 rooms in total. At 9pm they had come home from wherever they had been and started to make such a noise. Screaming, shouting, kids running up and down corridors, loud music, chairs moving. It was awful. I went to reception to complain and were told it would be sorted out. Well, it wasn't, 1 am ticked around and they were still going at it. It then quietened down until about 1.45am, again, kids running around, people shouting and screaming. Needless to say this kept my children up. THEN, 6 am arrives and the guy next door to us puts his speaker in the corridor and starts playing very loud music. WTF??? That was the last straw, we decided that we were out of there. We packed our stuff, went to reception where Refilwe assisted us. She was amazing but we were so put off and just wanted to go home. So we checked out.

Whilst there, FYI, 2 other guests were there complaining about other noisy guests and disruptions in the night.

This is definitely not a family friendly hotel to be honest.

Room tip: Just don't book if you looking for a quiet weekend away!
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Elinor-Laing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2020 via mobile

We booked and really looked forward to our first family holiday at Sun City.
Flew into JNB and waited in the car hire line while they tried to up sell every insurance under the African sky to everyone.
After a 2 hour drive on not great roads we had finally arrived at Sun Cabanas.
Very clean reception and dated entry. We booked a family room as we are 2 adults and 2 children (8 &10yo) The porter was very friendly and speed our bags to the room. When the door opened we walked in but not too far as this has to be the smallest family room ever. The children were expected to sleep on a sofa couch which was hard and on the floor taking up what little space there was. Storage in the room was little so ended up with case lying around and living out of them. The children wouldn't sleep on it. The hotel said that its a family room and nothing else is available. We were booked in for 5 nights but ended up leaving after 3 nights. It wasn't a pleasant room for a family at all. Will we be back.... no. The family all voted to leave early so we wouldn't stay here again.

1  Thank stevefZ6387UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2020

We are staying at the Cabannas. It has been nothing short of perfect and absolutely excellent

At check in yesterday. Clement was awesome. Friendly, professional and just all round awesome.

The rooms have been recently upgraded and are stunning and super modern

The restaurant, Sun International you can be so proud of what you are pulling off. The food is packaged so there is no risk of cross contamination and no spread of COVID. Yes if you want hot breakfast you MIGHT have to que but we didn’t see any ques, because you have to be served so you don’t have everyone and their Aunty touching everything but in the grand Scheme of thing I would rather wait to be served then run the risk of disease.

The buses are clean and everyone is sterilized before entry. The restaurants at the welcome center are super clean and there is a lovely gentleman (whose name I have forgotten) that is so attentive and makes sure that very surface is cleaned before you sit and after you get up. You literally could eat off the table that’s how clean it is.

The Valley of the waves is fantastic and so clean. There are people walking around sterilizing everything.

Well Done Sun International you can hold your head up high and be really PROUD of the FANTASTIC job you are doing.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank travellingT821103
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews