We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabanas, Sun City
Nearby Hotels
Soho Hotel(Sun City)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
US$274
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$371
US$355
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Kingdom Resort(Sun City)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bakubung Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)(Great Value!)
US$417
US$372
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
US$483
US$420
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
136
290
211
99
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
290
211
99
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake viewground floorwater sportsbuffet breakfastbar fridgespent nightsmini golfgolf courseshuttle servicegame driveswave poollost citygary playerwater parkentertainmentcasinolawns
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Maybe my fault for looking to manage budget on a 3-night stay in Sun City recently so booked a family room at Cabanas Hotel. Check in (luckily) was okay - though by no means welcoming.

Room was distinctly average and motel-like. Sofa bed bedding was pretty grotty looking. The TV is internet linked and was not working so we had to call a technician to come and fix it - which he did reasonably efficiently. That night there was a power-cut in the middle of the night which took out the aircon and also the telephone so I had to walk down to reception to get help (which never came.)

Breakfast was good in terms of variety and taste of food. However, you need to be at breakfast by about 845am at the weekend or you will find yourselves at the back of a long, long queue.

All in then, pleased we stopped offf at Sun City but we were all happy to leave there a day early and spend a day in Johannesburg before flying home. Just about acceptable hotel if it was budget priced...which it is not of course.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank njhh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear guest

Thank you for the review on your recent stay. We are sorry that not all your expectations were met. We try hard to ensure your stay is a memorable one and we can see that this was not fully memorable.

The breakfast area is a very busy area and we agree the earlier you are the better it becomes and there are no queues then.

Sincere apologies to you

Ntebi Mathope
Hotel Manager
Sun Cabanas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Cabanas for a few days to watch a schools tennis tournament. The rooms were tiny, the staff indifferent and the food very ordinary. The only thing appealing was the walk along the golf cart route in the early evening. It is totally overrated and the entire experience undesirable and unappealing. The kids enjoyed the Valley of the Waves, although the falsehood of everything is so overwhelmingly apparent. It certainly has lost its original appeal, unless of course you're playing golf, I imagine!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank jodirobertson2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear guest

Thank your for the feedback on your stay during the tennis tournament. We apologise that not all met your expectations. We are pleased that the kids enjoyed the Valley Of waves and that you enjoyed your walk at the golf course.

We wish you will accept our apology and come visit us again

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope
Hotel Manager
Sun Cabanas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Visited for one night with my family in January. Check in took 45 minutes, and staff were rude and unfriendly. Rooms didnt have towels and bar fridges were empty. Staff at the pool were rude and unfriendly and service was extremely slow. So glad we only booked for one night wont be back again. So overpriced for what we got in return. Do yourself a favour and go elsewhere.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank MJRaddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear guest

We would like to thank you for sending us your feedback on your stay. We value your feedback as it will make us improve in the future. We consider your feedback important as it will make us focus on the areas mentioned and create more great memories to future guests.

We apologise that we did not meet your expectations and want to say that is not how we want you to remember us. Sincere apologies to you and your family.

Regards

Ntebi Mathope
Hotel Manager
Sun Cabanas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We visited Cabanas over New Years 2017.

Firstly, avoid Sun City over New Years. It is hugely overcrowded and Sun City places no limitations on the numbers of people it will jam into the wave pool, etc. so you find yourself as a hotel guest fighting over facilities with the rest of the day visitors.

Sun City is beautiful with great architecture and great facilities. There is lots for the kids to do and some nice restaurants within walking distance.

The service was absolutely dismal.

The lady at the front desk made it clear with her attitude that she would rather be anywhere else rather than checking guests in.

Asking restaurant staff for cutlery is met with confused and irritated looks. One waitress will pass you to another waitress and on and on until you finally resort to helping yourself to pillaging another tables cutlery. The quality of food was terrible - I've never seen a poorer excuse for an omelette, more resembling a pile of burnt scrambled egg.

Poolside staff were unhelpful and unprofessional and seemed irritated when you placed an order with them. When your persistence finally resulted in an order being placed, you were punished for disrupting their day by receiving your drinks 15 - 20 minutes later with no ice.

I would not visit Sun City or Cabanas again. The venue has great potential but without a massive investment in staff training, your experience will be poor at best.

The 2nd star in my 2 star rating is purely based on the beautiful natural scenery.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank lathspel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear guest

Thank you so much for the feedback on your stay with us. We would like to apologise for not creating positive or great memories during your stay. We have note all the comments and will definitely address them with all the departments involved.

We will have all staff trained as per your recommendation and as per our procedures to ensure that they represent us well in all departments.

Sincere apologies to you once again

Ntebi Mathope
Hotel Manager
Sun Cabanas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Check in was awful, in that we were over an hour waiting in the queue! No body seamed to be responsible for this queue as people were pushing in!
While there were 4-5 stations at reception only 2 staff were checking in until a few strong complaints were made and more staff finally came.

Concierge was totally disinterested when we asked for any information. There Sean to be a porter system, but we were left to our own devices with luggage and child.
The room is quite small even though a family room.
House keeping had not made up the bed sofa for our child and we had to make it up ourselves, but perhaps this is policy.
Air conditioning not that powerful even on high setting! Room is clean though and beds comfy- sofa bed not so great!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RituandHannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear guest

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. We are sorry that some of our facilities and service did not meet your expectations.

We apologise for this and would like to say that this is not how we want you to remember us. We sincerely apologise and hope that you will visit us again.

Sincere regards

Ntebi Mathope
Hotel Manager
Sun Cabanas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews