We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about okay...booked 3 nights but left after 2”
Review of Cabanas, Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cabanas, Sun City
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Maybe my fault for looking to manage budget on a 3-night stay in Sun City recently so booked a family room at Cabanas Hotel. Check in (luckily) was okay - though by no means welcoming.

Room was distinctly average and motel-like. Sofa bed bedding was pretty grotty looking. The TV is internet linked and was not working so we had to call a technician to come and fix it - which he did reasonably efficiently. That night there was a power-cut in the middle of the night which took out the aircon and also the telephone so I had to walk down to reception to get help (which never came.)

Breakfast was good in terms of variety and taste of food. However, you need to be at breakfast by about 845am at the weekend or you will find yourselves at the back of a long, long queue.

All in then, pleased we stopped offf at Sun City but we were all happy to leave there a day early and spend a day in Johannesburg before flying home. Just about acceptable hotel if it was budget priced...which it is not of course.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank njhh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear guest

Thank you for the review on your recent stay. We are sorry that not all your expectations were met. We try hard to ensure your stay is a memorable one and we can see that this was not fully memorable.

The breakfast area is a very busy area and we agree the earlier you are the better it becomes and there are no queues then.

Sincere apologies to you

Ntebi Mathope
Hotel Manager
Sun Cabanas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
There are newer reviews for Cabanas, Sun City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 91 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Cabanas for a few days to watch a schools tennis tournament. The rooms were tiny, the staff indifferent and the food very ordinary. The only thing appealing was the walk along the golf cart route in the early evening. It is totally overrated and the entire experience undesirable and unappealing. The kids enjoyed the Valley of the Waves, although the falsehood of everything is so overwhelmingly apparent. It certainly has lost its original appeal, unless of course you're playing golf, I imagine!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank jodirobertson2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear guest

Thank your for the feedback on your stay during the tennis tournament. We apologise that not all met your expectations. We are pleased that the kids enjoyed the Valley Of waves and that you enjoyed your walk at the golf course.

We wish you will accept our apology and come visit us again

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope
Hotel Manager
Sun Cabanas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Visited for one night with my family in January. Check in took 45 minutes, and staff were rude and unfriendly. Rooms didnt have towels and bar fridges were empty. Staff at the pool were rude and unfriendly and service was extremely slow. So glad we only booked for one night wont be back again. So overpriced for what we got in return. Do yourself a favour and go elsewhere.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank MJRaddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear guest

We would like to thank you for sending us your feedback on your stay. We value your feedback as it will make us improve in the future. We consider your feedback important as it will make us focus on the areas mentioned and create more great memories to future guests.

We apologise that we did not meet your expectations and want to say that is not how we want you to remember us. Sincere apologies to you and your family.

Regards

Ntebi Mathope
Hotel Manager
Sun Cabanas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We visited Cabanas over New Years 2017.

Firstly, avoid Sun City over New Years. It is hugely overcrowded and Sun City places no limitations on the numbers of people it will jam into the wave pool, etc. so you find yourself as a hotel guest fighting over facilities with the rest of the day visitors.

Sun City is beautiful with great architecture and great facilities. There is lots for the kids to do and some nice restaurants within walking distance.

The service was absolutely dismal.

The lady at the front desk made it clear with her attitude that she would rather be anywhere else rather than checking guests in.

Asking restaurant staff for cutlery is met with confused and irritated looks. One waitress will pass you to another waitress and on and on until you finally resort to helping yourself to pillaging another tables cutlery. The quality of food was terrible - I've never seen a poorer excuse for an omelette, more resembling a pile of burnt scrambled egg.

Poolside staff were unhelpful and unprofessional and seemed irritated when you placed an order with them. When your persistence finally resulted in an order being placed, you were punished for disrupting their day by receiving your drinks 15 - 20 minutes later with no ice.

I would not visit Sun City or Cabanas again. The venue has great potential but without a massive investment in staff training, your experience will be poor at best.

The 2nd star in my 2 star rating is purely based on the beautiful natural scenery.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank lathspel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear guest

Thank you so much for the feedback on your stay with us. We would like to apologise for not creating positive or great memories during your stay. We have note all the comments and will definitely address them with all the departments involved.

We will have all staff trained as per your recommendation and as per our procedures to ensure that they represent us well in all departments.

Sincere apologies to you once again

Ntebi Mathope
Hotel Manager
Sun Cabanas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Check in was awful, in that we were over an hour waiting in the queue! No body seamed to be responsible for this queue as people were pushing in!
While there were 4-5 stations at reception only 2 staff were checking in until a few strong complaints were made and more staff finally came.

Concierge was totally disinterested when we asked for any information. There Sean to be a porter system, but we were left to our own devices with luggage and child.
The room is quite small even though a family room.
House keeping had not made up the bed sofa for our child and we had to make it up ourselves, but perhaps this is policy.
Air conditioning not that powerful even on high setting! Room is clean though and beds comfy- sofa bed not so great!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RituandHannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear guest

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. We are sorry that some of our facilities and service did not meet your expectations.

We apologise for this and would like to say that this is not how we want you to remember us. We sincerely apologise and hope that you will visit us again.

Sincere regards

Ntebi Mathope
Hotel Manager
Sun Cabanas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.9 km away
The Palace of the Lost City
0.3 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
623 reviews
1292.8 km away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
805 reviews
35.8 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
4.8 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas, Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas, Sun City

Address: R556 | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range: R1 705 - R3 636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas, Sun City 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The refreshing, laid back ambiance of the Cabanas hotel in South Africa is the immediate impression one receives upon welcome. The most relaxed of all the Sun City hotels, the Cabanas offer informal yet comfortable accommodation close to Johannesburg. All rooms offer modern decor and a retro design. Guests can choose between standard and luxury rooms, all are air-conditioned and equipped with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, electronic safes and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabanas, Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas, Sun City Hotel Sun City
Sun City Cabanas
Cabanas Hotel Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing