We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cascades, Sun City
Nearby Hotels
Soho Hotel(Sun City)
US$215
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$366
US$356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$196
US$146
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Kingdom Resort(Sun City)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$123
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Bakubung Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)(Great Value!)
US$415
US$374
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
US$476
US$416
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveller rating
198
234
134
61
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
234
134
61
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursepeninsula restaurantgary playertennis courtsnespresso machineluxury roomcascades poolfabulous stayentertainment centerlost cityplay golffruit basketwater featurespool sidesouth africagame drivesvalley
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 685 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

The rooms were classic sun city cascades. The pianist at the breakfast room was a nice touch. The staff were extremely helpful, but not upto 5 star standard.

On check out the bill was R1000 less than booking.com. Despite having paid booking for. Com the Receptionist was unable to explain this and quickly pulled back the bill.

She refused to give a copy and found this odd.

However, Cascades pool was a hit with my 8 year old daughter

Stayed: January 2017
Thank jontully23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Admittedly we stayed here in the few days between Xmas and New Year which meant the place was absolutely heaving with people. However, when we went to check in, it was absolute chaos, people and luggage everywhere and the staff weren't overly friendly. The hotel is quite dated however we got upgraded in room, so our stay was relatively comfortable. Glad we went to Sun City for the experience, but probably don't need to visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell D, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Dear Mel

Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent stay at the Cascades hotel. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused due to chaos at reception. We will monitor reception staff friendliness with emphasis on handling high volumes in busy periods.

Once again thanks for you support.

Kind regards

Hopewell Dlomo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

The Cascades has always been my favourite Sun City hotel because of the wonderful tropical gardens and waterfalls, and I looked forward to returning after an 11 year absence. However, I came away disappointed after my latest visit. It seems that maintenance is an issue. The air conditioning was not working properly, the fridge was not cold, the shower leaked and the lifts broke down on several occasions. The hotel had an air of neglect about it which I would not expect from a 5 star establishment. The heated pool, which was a big drawcard for my husband, was closed for maintenance and although signs promised it would be operational by 16 December, this did not happen. We visited the Valley of Waves and whilst the rides were well maintained, the main pool was filthy with all kinds of detritus floating in it. I really feel that our money could have been better spent elsewhere.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell D, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Dear Sarah

Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent stay at the Cascades hotel. Firstly, please accept my sincere apology for inconvenience caused due to mechanical faults. These issued are being addressed by the engineering team. The heated pool is now back in operation, we did not open it on the 16th as planned due to unforeseen water purification challenges that we encountered on the day.

Once again thanks for your support and sharing your views with us.

Yours sincerely

Hopewell Dlomo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Although the room has not been refurbished, the hotel lobby, entertainment center and valley of the waves upgrades have been refurbished and make this an extremely enjoyable experience. The Cascades has a heated pool and a normal pool that are extremely enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell D, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Dear Mergs

Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent stay at the Cascades hotel. I am pleased that the refurbishments that have taken place in most public areas have been well received and enjoyable experiences created for you.

Once again thanks for your support.

Kind regards

Hopewell Dlomo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

This hotel was built in the 90's and hasn't really moved on from there. Bathrooms, furniture and fittings are very dated, and now more in tune with what you'd find at a basic hotel versus a 5 star hotel. The only saving grace was the Smart TV in the room.

The Peninsula restaurant struggled with the breakfast rush, running out of bowls on one morning and the buffet was not replenished timeously.

It is probably the best located hotel in the Sun City complex as it is central to everything.

In it's day it was top-end but has long slipped from that position.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rajeev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews