We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just some feedback”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cascades, Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cascades, Sun City
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just some feedback”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We have just arrived home from a weekend away at the Cascades and would like to share our experience we had with you. Upon Check-In Friday afternoon we got our room key and only to find another family lying on the bed when we walked in. We were then given another room which was fine, later on when we returned to the room after dinner our cards were not working and we had to go back to reception to get new cards. While lying in bed getting ready to sleep housekeeping just walked into our room without knocking which was very strange.

We felt as though the daily maintenance has taken a bit of a back step when it comes to cleaning consistantly. From Friday until Sunday when we left there were pieces of left over pizza in the middle lift which shows no one had checked them throughout the weekend. Outside by the bridge there were cigarett buds inside the pond as well as shoved in the corner by the glass.

On our way down to the Gary Player Spa we saw a baboon with its baby on her back pulling a steers packet from the bushes and started tearing and eating the remains in the street. I understand the above is all neglegence from naive people but I feel you need to be aware of this and take a more tentative approach to housekeeping inside and outside of the hotel to make sure you live up to your 5 star rating and make sure the environment is taken care of.

Beside the above all the staff were very friendly and helpful in assisting us with the above. We will definetly be back in March.

Regards
Bianca

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    198
    115
    44
    48
See reviews for
241
167
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

The rooms were classic sun city cascades. The pianist at the breakfast room was a nice touch. The staff were extremely helpful, but not upto 5 star standard.

On check out the bill was R1000 less than booking.com. Despite having paid booking for. Com the Receptionist was unable to explain this and quickly pulled back the bill.

She refused to give a copy and found this odd.

However, Cascades pool was a hit with my 8 year old daughter

Stayed January 2017
Helpful?
Thank jontully23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017

Admittedly we stayed here in the few days between Xmas and New Year which meant the place was absolutely heaving with people. However, when we went to check in, it was absolute chaos, people and luggage everywhere and the staff weren't overly friendly. The hotel is quite dated however we got upgraded in room, so our stay was relatively comfortable. Glad we went to Sun City for the experience, but probably don't need to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell D, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this review, 4 January 2017
Dear Mel

Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent stay at the Cascades hotel. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused due to chaos at reception. We will monitor reception staff friendliness with emphasis on handling high volumes in busy periods.

Once again thanks for you support.

Kind regards

Hopewell Dlomo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2016

The Cascades has always been my favourite Sun City hotel because of the wonderful tropical gardens and waterfalls, and I looked forward to returning after an 11 year absence. However, I came away disappointed after my latest visit. It seems that maintenance is an issue. The air conditioning was not working properly, the fridge was not cold, the shower leaked and the lifts broke down on several occasions. The hotel had an air of neglect about it which I would not expect from a 5 star establishment. The heated pool, which was a big drawcard for my husband, was closed for maintenance and although signs promised it would be operational by 16 December, this did not happen. We visited the Valley of Waves and whilst the rides were well maintained, the main pool was filthy with all kinds of detritus floating in it. I really feel that our money could have been better spent elsewhere.

Stayed December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell D, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this review, 23 December 2016
Dear Sarah

Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent stay at the Cascades hotel. Firstly, please accept my sincere apology for inconvenience caused due to mechanical faults. These issued are being addressed by the engineering team. The heated pool is now back in operation, we did not open it on the 16th as planned due to unforeseen water purification challenges that we encountered on the day.

Once again thanks for your support and sharing your views with us.

Yours sincerely

Hopewell Dlomo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2016

Although the room has not been refurbished, the hotel lobby, entertainment center and valley of the waves upgrades have been refurbished and make this an extremely enjoyable experience. The Cascades has a heated pool and a normal pool that are extremely enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell D, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this review, 23 December 2016
Dear Mergs

Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent stay at the Cascades hotel. I am pleased that the refurbishments that have taken place in most public areas have been well received and enjoyable experiences created for you.

Once again thanks for your support.

Kind regards

Hopewell Dlomo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.6 km away
The Palace of the Lost City
383.3 km away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
4.2 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.1 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
5.1 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
31.8 km away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades, Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades, Sun City

Property: Cascades, Sun City
Address: Sun City Road | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price range (per night): R2 507 - R4 805
Hotel Class:5 star — Cascades, Sun City 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tumbling water flowing through a tropical forest gives The Cascades hotel in South Africa its name and firmly positions it as one of the most sought-after Sun City accommodation destinations. Experience the romance of the elegant Cascades hotel as you discover the Big 5 in the Pilanesberg Game Reserve or meander underneath the lush forest canopy. Waiting a stone’s throw away from Johannesburg is luxurious accommodation, sophisticated entertainment and the Gary Player Golf Course ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cascades, Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades Hotel Sun City
Cascades Sun City
Hotel Cascades Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing