We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
R 6 120
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
R 6 120
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Dumelasarafina

LACK OF COMMUNICATION

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Oct 2023
I am due to visit the Palace of the Lost City and I have sent numerous emails to all the addresses provided online and in their computer generated emails - not one response.
I see there are a number of very bad reviews regarding this hotel and I find it worrisome that people spend an exceptional amount of money for 5 star hotels and do not get the same service.
It should be about service before during and after to keep your customers.

I sincerely hope that this is not a precursor to how the rest of the trip will be.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
francois du toit, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace of the Lost City at Sun City Resort, responded to this review
Responded 26 Oct 2023
Dear Dumelasarfina

I am truly sorry to read about the lack of response

Please e-mail me: francois.dtoit@suninternational.com

Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Exterior
Tripadvisor
R 2 482
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 482
1.2 km from The Palace of the Lost City at Sun City Resort
Free parking
Pool
Exterior View
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
    R 4 220
0.6 km from The Palace of the Lost City at Sun City Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 3 692
  • Algotels
1.0 km from The Palace of the Lost City at Sun City Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Destinia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.9 km from The Palace of the Lost City at Sun City Resort
Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 969
  • Prestigia.com
  • Vio.com
0.9 km from The Palace of the Lost City at Sun City Resort
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
16.8 km from The Palace of the Lost City at Sun City Resort
Vio.com
    94.5 km from The Palace of the Lost City at Sun City Resort
    Booking.com
      96.4 km from The Palace of the Lost City at Sun City Resort
      Tripadvisor
      R 6 120
      • Hotels.com
      • Expedia.com
        R 6 120
      • travelup.com
      0.0 km from The Palace of the Lost City at Sun City Resort
      Free Wifi
      Pool
      Hotels.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • Lol.travel
        R 5 544
      • Priceline
      3.8 km from The Palace of the Lost City at Sun City Resort
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Sun City
      Reviews (2 866)
      Filter reviews
      2 866 results
      Traveller rating
      1 698
      573
      289
      154
      152
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      1 698
      573
      289
      154
      152
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews lost city the grill crystal court tusk bar oysters high tea sushi over the top amazing hotel south africa other hotels treated like royalty out of this world breakfast buffet wave pool five star water park
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      37 - 42 of 2 866 reviews
      Reviewed 20 October 2023

      We are booked to stay the Palace and I have sent three emails to the addresses provided on the website as well as from their “looking forward to welcome you” email and not one response. That is already hugely disappointing and worrying. Despite being a large hotel they are still considered a 5 star and should therefore provide 5 star service before and during. There are a number of negative reviews on this platform about the hotel and I do hope that this is not a sign of things to come! I would appreciate a response to my email.

      Date of stay: October 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Service
      1  Thank Sarah B
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      francois du toit, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace of the Lost City at Sun City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

      Dear D1368ILsarahb

      Please be so kind and e mail me at: francois.dtoit@suninternational.com

      I will gladly be of assistance

      Kind regards

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 16 October 2023

      I visited last week with my wife

      Was served by new bar lady, I think her name was Karen.

      She made us feel like guests in her own sitting room. Warm,friendly and welcoming. My wife has mental health issues and struggles with such situations. We were made to feel entirely at ease. Karen assured us that the food looks amazing, so will give it a try next time.

      Date of stay: October 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Robert S
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      francois du toit, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace of the Lost City at Sun City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

      Dear robertsL761LM

      Thank you so much for your heartwarming review. Wonderful to see that Karen made you and your wife feel so at ease!!

      It will be our pleasure to welcome you back

      Kind regards

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 10 October 2023 via mobile

      Absolutely beautiful location but some real big let downs:
      1. Service is poor in the actual hotel ( except julia at the pool bar, she was amazing the whole time, an absolute gem! )
      2. Showers either scalding or freezing, told concierge just got a shrug.
      3. Balcony never cleaned, covered in bird poo, again tood concierge said it would be sorted but never was.
      4. Shuttles randomly dont run leaving you stranded for 40-50 mins ( this happened 3 times all around 9pm so assuming shift change or something but should be communicated, its a 30 minute walk in the dark uphill to get back to the hotel.) again concierge just shrugged and said i dont know why it was late. That’s not really helpful is it, maybe make a suggestion of how you will improve in future or what action people can take in this situation.

      Aside from these issues and the lack of want to put things right, the hotel is stunning, game drives are incredibke and the pool bar staff, especially julia are amazing! Also a shout out to Nora from the spa who ivited us to her church, it was an amazing experience.

      Room tip: When using shuttles be aware that they arent consistent
      Date of stay: October 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Rhys M
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      francois du toit, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace of the Lost City at Sun City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2023

      Dear Rhys M

      I am truly sorry to read about your experience at The Palace. Julia and Nora will be recognized

      I shall be reaching out to you privately.

      Kind regards

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 25 September 2023 via mobile

      Terrible service-45min for a coffee. 1 hour queue for breakfast. Ran out of draught beer, no towels refreshed in rooms only taken out and not replaced. Staff look at you and don’t respond. Had to reorder meals and drinks multiple times.

      Came here a year ago with the same experience and thought we would give it another try.

      Room tip: Do not come here. Go to Mauritius
      Date of stay: September 2023
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      1  Thank Garreth V
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      francois du toit, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace of the Lost City at Sun City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2023

      Dear Garreth

      I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

      Your survey has also been shared with the rest of the management team, and we are looking into this

      Sincerely, yours

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 25 September 2023 via mobile

      Beautiful hotel let down by poor service. Breakfast was a total abortion, no coordination and planning for volume of guests over the long weekend coinciding with school holidays, table service was slow and glasses at the juice canisters take forever to arrive, plates were also at a shortage. There is no order at the buffet with guests bumping into each other in the confined passage. Attempts to visit the tusk bar was fruitless as we waited 10min without being served. The pool deck meal service only starts at 12pm. It seems as management need to train the staff and perhaps even the management need training on how to run a true leading hotel of the world. Upon check-out we had to wait over 20min for a porter considering we skipped breakfast and just wanted to return home. Entry to the royal baths was closed from the palace stairs and the stairs was littered with leaves presenting a potential liability claim. The Palace pool was also not heated. Honestly, if as a proud South African, I would be disappointed for foreign guests considering service at similar properties around the world.

      Room tip: Avoid long weekends and holidays.
      Date of stay: September 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank azharanwark
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      francois du toit, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace of the Lost City at Sun City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

      Dear azharanwark

      Thank you so much for taking the time and reviewing your stay

      I am truly sorry to read about your experience at The Palace. I can fully understand your disappointment and frustration in our product. Please accept our most sincere and humble apologies for this experience. Your survey has also been shared with the management team.

      I want to assure you that we appreciate you your feedback and that we shall be looking into ways that we can improve in the areas that you have brought to our attention

      Your sincerely

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews