We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic stay and experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace of the Lost City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palace of the Lost City
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay and experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

2nd visit to this wonderful property and was blown away.

Check in process was fast and effective. Although I did not get an interleading room as asked I was still blown away by the location of the rooms.

Rooms was clean and spacious.
Linen was clean and fresh with the bed offering utmost comfort.

Breakfast was again the highlight of the stay with a huge variety of both hot and cold.
Assistants at the breakfast area was very helpful and created a friendly atmosphere.

The overall property look is great and after so many years of good service it still serves people with excellence.

The High tea was abit downgraded comparing to last year with less sweet and salt servings but still blew me away.

Check out went fast and was accurate.

Will definitely make a visit next year.

Room Tip: Ground rooms might expose you to visitors walking past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Werner d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, 16 January 2017
Dear Werner d

Thank you so much for your great review.

We hope to see you soon for the third time!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1 715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    323
    158
    74
    68
See reviews for
627
586
25
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

We were two families - with one child each. We arrived at the reception at 3 pm. They received us with welcome drinks and smiles. At reception we waited for about 30 minutes - standing, so eventually we suggested that we would go and have high tea until they sort out the problem. We were not informed what the problem is, we assumed that the room was not ready. We had the keys to the rooms at 4:30pm. Check in time is at 2. The rooms were beautiful as expected. Later that evening we had dinner at the grill restaurant. The service was very friendly but slow. The food was excellent with the exception of the mushroom sause which had no mushrooms in it. The next day we went to the valley of the waves. It was crowded, they ran out of umbrellas so we had to sit in the hot sun until we managed to squeeze under one of the few square shades provided, which fit may be 20 people. we felt like sardines in a can. You would ask - why did you stay there and not by the pool at the palace - the kids of course wanted to go on the slides.
in the evening we went to the Plume restaurant. The write up on the restaurant was that it is a must. We had reservation for 8pm. We were there on time. We got our starters at about 9:45pm and the main course at 10;40pm. They placed the wine in the corner of the restaurant but were never around to pour, so we had to get up and pour it our selves. In overall friendly but bad service with a smile! The other problem was at breakfast - every morning there were long queues to get a table. The food was exceptional, absolutely outstanding. The hotel is magnificent. Must admit we did spend some time by the pool where the service was fantastic.I would not go there again. The money spent was not worth it.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julietta68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017

There is a lot of hype in hearing about "The Palace" when visiting SA. The welcome is incredible. The fountains, huge doors and the impressive lobby. It is really breathtaking! However that's where it stops. Staff are all unhappy and extremely slow to say the least. I was that distressed as to why staff were so lethargic that I had to ask. "Sir we have to work from the 16th of December every day until the 16th of January with no break". How can staff give service if they are in that frame of mind? We were sent to the wrong room, our luggage was sent elsewhere and our dinner reservation failed despite being "confirmed". Staff are standing around in suits looking important next to the Christmas tree yet we couldn't even get a water to our room after 4 phone calls! Around the pool the next morning we couldn't get water because there was a "stock" problem. This is a dated property resting on it's structure. Customer service simply doesn't exist but the staff don't care. Welcome to Africa.

Room Tip: Avoid until under new management
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfds84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, 15 January 2017
Dear tfds84

Thank you so much for taking the time and giving us feedback of your stay.

Please accept our apologies for the poor service received , this is definitely not the kind of service that we pride ourselves upon. The management team is looking into what happened and what can be done to ensure that it does nor reoccur. I want to assure you that none of the staff had to work for a month with no rest day in between.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Myself and my wife decided to get away from the rat race for a long weekend, we were not disappointed by the 3 nights we spent at the Palace of the Lost City. We golfed both courses, ate in some magnificent restaurants, had a little flutter on the tables and generally just relaxed. The hotels amenities are second to none, the staff only a glance away - this was pure luxury at its best.

Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mac190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, 15 January 2017
Dear Mac190

Your review of your stay at the Hotel is highly appreciated.

We look forward welcoming you back when you need another a break from "the rat race"

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

the palace of the lost city is a fantastic hotel all the suroundings are magnificent the room are excellent and the service first class the staff could not do anymore fore you if you walk outside of main entranceand tell bell boys where you want to go to they will get you a driver and take you we have never had service like this in any hotel and we have been round the world. the food is to good to be true fresh and cooked to order breakfast is superb the staff are a credit to this hotel.

Room Tip: 5th floor overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordiejock2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, 14 January 2017
Dear Geordiejock2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon again

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
1.3 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
383.0 km away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
4.5 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
39.0 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
21.3 km away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 11 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace of the Lost City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Property: The Palace of the Lost City
Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price range (per night): R3 487 - R7 434
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing