We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soho Hotel(Sun City)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    Bakubung Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Golden Leopard Resort - Manyane(Pilanesberg National Park)
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Reviews (2 183)
    Filter reviews
    2 183 results
    Traveller rating
    1 336
    433
    213
    109
    92
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1 336
    433
    213
    109
    92
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewslost citycrystal courttusk barthe grillhigh teaoysterssushiover the topsouth africaamazing hotelother hotelsout of this worldbreakfast buffettreated like royaltywave poolwater parkmain restaurant
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    382 - 387 of 2 183 reviews
    Reviewed 9 January 2017

    We were two families - with one child each. We arrived at the reception at 3 pm. They received us with welcome drinks and smiles. At reception we waited for about 30 minutes - standing, so eventually we suggested that we would go and have high tea until they sort out the problem. We were not informed what the problem is, we assumed that the room was not ready. We had the keys to the rooms at 4:30pm. Check in time is at 2. The rooms were beautiful as expected. Later that evening we had dinner at the grill restaurant. The service was very friendly but slow. The food was excellent with the exception of the mushroom sause which had no mushrooms in it. The next day we went to the valley of the waves. It was crowded, they ran out of umbrellas so we had to sit in the hot sun until we managed to squeeze under one of the few square shades provided, which fit may be 20 people. we felt like sardines in a can. You would ask - why did you stay there and not by the pool at the palace - the kids of course wanted to go on the slides.
    in the evening we went to the Plume restaurant. The write up on the restaurant was that it is a must. We had reservation for 8pm. We were there on time. We got our starters at about 9:45pm and the main course at 10;40pm. They placed the wine in the corner of the restaurant but were never around to pour, so we had to get up and pour it our selves. In overall friendly but bad service with a smile! The other problem was at breakfast - every morning there were long queues to get a table. The food was exceptional, absolutely outstanding. The hotel is magnificent. Must admit we did spend some time by the pool where the service was fantastic.I would not go there again. The money spent was not worth it.

    • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    2  Thank Julietta68
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 January 2017

    There is a lot of hype in hearing about "The Palace" when visiting SA. The welcome is incredible. The fountains, huge doors and the impressive lobby. It is really breathtaking! However that's where it stops. Staff are all unhappy and extremely slow to say the least. I was that distressed as to why staff were so lethargic that I had to ask. "Sir we have to work from the 16th of December every day until the 16th of January with no break". How can staff give service if they are in that frame of mind? We were sent to the wrong room, our luggage was sent elsewhere and our dinner reservation failed despite being "confirmed". Staff are standing around in suits looking important next to the Christmas tree yet we couldn't even get a water to our room after 4 phone calls! Around the pool the next morning we couldn't get water because there was a "stock" problem. This is a dated property resting on it's structure. Customer service simply doesn't exist but the staff don't care. Welcome to Africa.

    Room Tip: Avoid until under new management
    • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank tfds84
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

    Dear tfds84

    Thank you so much for taking the time and giving us feedback of your stay.

    Please accept our apologies for the poor service received , this is definitely not the kind of service that we pride ourselves upon. The management team is looking into what happened and what can be done to ensure that it does nor reoccur. I want to assure you that none of the staff had to work for a month with no rest day in between.

    Yours sincerely

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

    Myself and my wife decided to get away from the rat race for a long weekend, we were not disappointed by the 3 nights we spent at the Palace of the Lost City. We golfed both courses, ate in some magnificent restaurants, had a little flutter on the tables and generally just relaxed. The hotels amenities are second to none, the staff only a glance away - this was pure luxury at its best.

    Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    Thank Mac190
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

    Dear Mac190

    Your review of your stay at the Hotel is highly appreciated.

    We look forward welcoming you back when you need another a break from "the rat race"

    Kind regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 January 2017

    the palace of the lost city is a fantastic hotel all the suroundings are magnificent the room are excellent and the service first class the staff could not do anymore fore you if you walk outside of main entranceand tell bell boys where you want to go to they will get you a driver and take you we have never had service like this in any hotel and we have been round the world. the food is to good to be true fresh and cooked to order breakfast is superb the staff are a credit to this hotel.

    Room Tip: 5th floor overlooking pool
    • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Geordiejock2014
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

    Dear Geordiejock2014

    Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us.

    We hope to see you soon again

    Kind regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 January 2017

    The Palace is visually stunning. Great ambience created by Artwork, sculptures and grand furnishings. It has a variety of places to eat and the pool areas are ample and relaxing. However, the service you expect at a 5 star hotel is lacking - service is slow and you can expect calling reception at least 3 times before something is done about your query or concern. There is an expectation of tipping - so always have enough cash on hand. The internet was down quite a lot and the shuttles dedicated to the Palace were slow. The staff are very apologetic if you are unhappy but often leave it at the apology without making any changes or rectifying the issue. The cleaning staff were great - our rooms were always refreshed well and turn down in the evenings were welcome.

    Room Tip: Choose rooms on a higher level with views of the pool area.
    • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Sue K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

    Dear Sue K

    We appreciate your feedback of your stay at the Palace, and have taken note of your comments regarding the service levels.

    Thank you for complimenting the cleaning staff, we will ensure that they are recognized.

    Kind regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews