We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic place to visit and experience ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace of the Lost City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Palace of the Lost City
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to visit and experience ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Myself and my wife decided to get away from the rat race for a long weekend, we were not disappointed by the 3 nights we spent at the Palace of the Lost City. We golfed both courses, ate in some magnificent restaurants, had a little flutter on the tables and generally just relaxed. The hotels amenities are second to none, the staff only a glance away - this was pure luxury at its best.

Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mac190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, 15 January 2017
Dear Mac190

Your review of your stay at the Hotel is highly appreciated.

We look forward welcoming you back when you need another a break from "the rat race"

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1 763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,120
    335
    162
    76
    70
See reviews for
643
601
25
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

the palace of the lost city is a fantastic hotel all the suroundings are magnificent the room are excellent and the service first class the staff could not do anymore fore you if you walk outside of main entranceand tell bell boys where you want to go to they will get you a driver and take you we have never had service like this in any hotel and we have been round the world. the food is to good to be true fresh and cooked to order breakfast is superb the staff are a credit to this hotel.

Room Tip: 5th floor overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordiejock2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, 14 January 2017
Dear Geordiejock2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon again

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

The Palace is visually stunning. Great ambience created by Artwork, sculptures and grand furnishings. It has a variety of places to eat and the pool areas are ample and relaxing. However, the service you expect at a 5 star hotel is lacking - service is slow and you can expect calling reception at least 3 times before something is done about your query or concern. There is an expectation of tipping - so always have enough cash on hand. The internet was down quite a lot and the shuttles dedicated to the Palace were slow. The staff are very apologetic if you are unhappy but often leave it at the apology without making any changes or rectifying the issue. The cleaning staff were great - our rooms were always refreshed well and turn down in the evenings were welcome.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on a higher level with views of the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, 14 January 2017
Dear Sue K

We appreciate your feedback of your stay at the Palace, and have taken note of your comments regarding the service levels.

Thank you for complimenting the cleaning staff, we will ensure that they are recognized.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Visited with the family for six nights over the new year. Booked larger rooms as no suites available. Rooms spacious and well appointed.
Welcome at the hotel was great as where the facilities and restaurants.
I would hire a couple of niggles:
There were mattresses left in the corridor daily. Far from what is expected of the palace
My son had to ask for a plug for the bath six times
Some days we had water put in the room. Other days not.

It's still a great hotel and well worth a visit. I hope they can tighten up on the service standards as it would be tragic to see this hotel go downhill.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, 15 January 2017
Dear Robert G

thank you so much for taking the time and providing us with detailed feedback of your stay at he hotel. Please accept our apologies for the poor service delivery.

The management team have taken note of your comment of improving the service standards.

I am positive you will see an improvement upon your next visit to us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Don't want to slate the hotel because my family like it and we probably would go back, but this time it was lacking. The Tusk bar, while very nice was always hard to get a seat over the Christmas period. Very small bar and the only one for a hotel that accommodates 750 guests. Also there is not a lot of entertainment in the hotel in the evenings, sometimes a singer or piano player. I was at times bored.

We found the food good and the staff friendly. Also pool area was nice and we never had to fight for sun loungers.

However we brought a brand new football along for a match that was organized at the game reserve we were going to after the Palace, and it was stolen from our room. Not much they could do about it. A little tip, we kept things in our suitcases with locks to avoid anything else, no matter how small, disappearing. Shame you have to do this though!!

Bit disappointing.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fink2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
1.3 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#3 of 6 in Sun City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
383.0 km away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#4 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
4.5 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.0 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
4.9 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
21.3 km away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace of the Lost City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Property: The Palace of the Lost City
Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price range (per night): R3 326 - R7 045
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing