We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to visit and experience ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace of the Lost City
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Myself and my wife decided to get away from the rat race for a long weekend, we were not disappointed by the 3 nights we spent at the Palace of the Lost City. We golfed both courses, ate in some magnificent restaurants, had a little flutter on the tables and generally just relaxed. The hotels amenities are second to none, the staff only a glance away - this was pure luxury at its best.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mac190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear Mac190

Your review of your stay at the Hotel is highly appreciated.

We look forward welcoming you back when you need another a break from "the rat race"

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1 985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 248 of 1 985 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2017

the palace of the lost city is a fantastic hotel all the suroundings are magnificent the room are excellent and the service first class the staff could not do anymore fore you if you walk outside of main entranceand tell bell boys where you want to go to they will get you a driver and take you we have never had service like this in any hotel and we have been round the world. the food is to good to be true fresh and cooked to order breakfast is superb the staff are a credit to this hotel.

Room Tip: 5th floor overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Geordiejock2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Dear Geordiejock2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The Palace is visually stunning. Great ambience created by Artwork, sculptures and grand furnishings. It has a variety of places to eat and the pool areas are ample and relaxing. However, the service you expect at a 5 star hotel is lacking - service is slow and you can expect calling reception at least 3 times before something is done about your query or concern. There is an expectation of tipping - so always have enough cash on hand. The internet was down quite a lot and the shuttles dedicated to the Palace were slow. The staff are very apologetic if you are unhappy but often leave it at the apology without making any changes or rectifying the issue. The cleaning staff were great - our rooms were always refreshed well and turn down in the evenings were welcome.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on a higher level with views of the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Dear Sue K

We appreciate your feedback of your stay at the Palace, and have taken note of your comments regarding the service levels.

Thank you for complimenting the cleaning staff, we will ensure that they are recognized.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Visited with the family for six nights over the new year. Booked larger rooms as no suites available. Rooms spacious and well appointed.
Welcome at the hotel was great as where the facilities and restaurants.
I would hire a couple of niggles:
There were mattresses left in the corridor daily. Far from what is expected of the palace
My son had to ask for a plug for the bath six times
Some days we had water put in the room. Other days not.

It's still a great hotel and well worth a visit. I hope they can tighten up on the service standards as it would be tragic to see this hotel go downhill.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear Robert G

thank you so much for taking the time and providing us with detailed feedback of your stay at he hotel. Please accept our apologies for the poor service delivery.

The management team have taken note of your comment of improving the service standards.

I am positive you will see an improvement upon your next visit to us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Don't want to slate the hotel because my family like it and we probably would go back, but this time it was lacking. The Tusk bar, while very nice was always hard to get a seat over the Christmas period. Very small bar and the only one for a hotel that accommodates 750 guests. Also there is not a lot of entertainment in the hotel in the evenings, sometimes a singer or piano player. I was at times bored.

We found the food good and the staff friendly. Also pool area was nice and we never had to fight for sun loungers.

However we brought a brand new football along for a match that was organized at the game reserve we were going to after the Palace, and it was stolen from our room. Not much they could do about it. A little tip, we kept things in our suitcases with locks to avoid anything else, no matter how small, disappearing. Shame you have to do this though!!

Bit disappointing.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Fink2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.6 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
637 reviews
3.8 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
819 reviews
1292.8 km away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#4 of 6 in Sun City
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
682 reviews
36.6 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
0.9 km away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#3 of 6 in Sun City
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace of the Lost City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range: R3 934 - R7 458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing