We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Palace of the Lost City
Nearby Hotels
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Kingdom Resort(Sun City)(Great Value!)
US$72
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Soho Hotel(Sun City)
US$179
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bakubung Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)(Great Value!)
US$450
US$310
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)(Great Value!)
US$392
US$274
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2 206)
Filter reviews
2 206 results
Traveller rating
1 350
439
213
110
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 350
439
213
110
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslost citycrystal courttusk barthe grillhigh teaoysterssushiover the topsouth africaamazing hotelother hotelsout of this worldbreakfast buffettreated like royaltywave poolwater parkmain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 2 206 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2017

the palace of the lost city is a fantastic hotel all the suroundings are magnificent the room are excellent and the service first class the staff could not do anymore fore you if you walk outside of main entranceand tell bell boys where you want to go to they will get you a driver and take you we have never had service like this in any hotel and we have been round the world. the food is to good to be true fresh and cooked to order breakfast is superb the staff are a credit to this hotel.

Room Tip: 5th floor overlooking pool
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Geordiejock2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Dear Geordiejock2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The Palace is visually stunning. Great ambience created by Artwork, sculptures and grand furnishings. It has a variety of places to eat and the pool areas are ample and relaxing. However, the service you expect at a 5 star hotel is lacking - service is slow and you can expect calling reception at least 3 times before something is done about your query or concern. There is an expectation of tipping - so always have enough cash on hand. The internet was down quite a lot and the shuttles dedicated to the Palace were slow. The staff are very apologetic if you are unhappy but often leave it at the apology without making any changes or rectifying the issue. The cleaning staff were great - our rooms were always refreshed well and turn down in the evenings were welcome.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on a higher level with views of the pool area.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Dear Sue K

We appreciate your feedback of your stay at the Palace, and have taken note of your comments regarding the service levels.

Thank you for complimenting the cleaning staff, we will ensure that they are recognized.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Visited with the family for six nights over the new year. Booked larger rooms as no suites available. Rooms spacious and well appointed.
Welcome at the hotel was great as where the facilities and restaurants.
I would hire a couple of niggles:
There were mattresses left in the corridor daily. Far from what is expected of the palace
My son had to ask for a plug for the bath six times
Some days we had water put in the room. Other days not.

It's still a great hotel and well worth a visit. I hope they can tighten up on the service standards as it would be tragic to see this hotel go downhill.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear Robert G

thank you so much for taking the time and providing us with detailed feedback of your stay at he hotel. Please accept our apologies for the poor service delivery.

The management team have taken note of your comment of improving the service standards.

I am positive you will see an improvement upon your next visit to us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Don't want to slate the hotel because my family like it and we probably would go back, but this time it was lacking. The Tusk bar, while very nice was always hard to get a seat over the Christmas period. Very small bar and the only one for a hotel that accommodates 750 guests. Also there is not a lot of entertainment in the hotel in the evenings, sometimes a singer or piano player. I was at times bored.

We found the food good and the staff friendly. Also pool area was nice and we never had to fight for sun loungers.

However we brought a brand new football along for a match that was organized at the game reserve we were going to after the Palace, and it was stolen from our room. Not much they could do about it. A little tip, we kept things in our suitcases with locks to avoid anything else, no matter how small, disappearing. Shame you have to do this though!!

Bit disappointing.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Fink2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed a few times before, but I visited now for four nights between Christmas and New Year with my daughter of 8 years. I have read quite a few bad reports about the staff and service, so I just want to comment on the exceptional service we experienced. We were treated like royalty. The food was also excellent during this time in the Crystal Court. Every evening there was either a barbecue or lamb on the spit. We were treated with such respect and good service, especially during meal times. We always found a spot at the pool, even though the hotel was fully booked. Can really recommend staying here. The only problem to me was that the Tusk Bar's cappucino machine was out of order.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Floristry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear Floristry

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

We look forward having you back

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews