We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Full Day Ultimate Pilanesberg National Park Safari from Johannesburg or Pretoria
504

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Pilanesberg National Park
Reviews (1 643)
Filter reviews
1 643 results
Traveller rating
985
474
127
35
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
985
474
127
35
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self drive game viewing the reserve animal sightings south africa big cats roads lion hippos safari johannesburg vehicle buffalo gate bakubung bush springbok
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1 643 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2024

A very large reserve where the animals are in their natural habitats. Could see al lot of Elephants, They even came very close and touched our open vehicles. Also saw a lot of giraffes and zebras as well as oem Hippos. Couldnt see any big Cats
Restrooms

Date of experience: June 2023
Thank sunilt1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2024 via mobile

It was a long game drive. I hear you can see the big 5. But we were unlucky. Huge game reserve with good dusty roads . Great flora too

Date of experience: April 2024
Thank MelodyM877
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 March 2024 via mobile

In deciding where to try our first African safari, we chose Pilansberg because: (i) it is easily accessible from Jo'burg; (ii) it is malaria-free; and (iii) we were curious about the volcano crater. We LOVED it - saw 4 of the Big 5 (no buffalo) and lots of other animals.
My tips for other international travellers:

1. If you like elephants, rhinos, giraffes and various deer/antelope, you will be in heaven. Saw more than imagined!

2. All of our best sightings - elephant mama giving baby a sand bath, zebra crossing, baby leopard, baby rhino nursing, and lion pair devouring a wildebeest - happened before or after the park was open to the public. Stay at a lodge in the park if you at all can - it just doesn't seem like a day trip would be at all comparable.

3. If you want to see cats (lions, leopards, cheetahs) all the time, perhaps consider going to another park. There are apparently very few lions in Pilansberg as they were attacking too many zebras and so some have been moved to other parks. We had an amazing ranger and did see 3 lions and a baby leopard, but it was definitely touching and go. The logjam of vehicles at one spot when there was a sighting is worse than the traffic in any major city I have ever been to.

4. The rangers/trackers are key! Ours was anazingly observant - he would see an elephant ear flapping in the distance or smell rhinos and zip us over to see a herd. It was incredible and he made sure we had the most opportunities for animal sightings. We definitely would have seen only 10% without him.

5. Stay at a lodge with guaranteed small groups for safari drives. Ours said maximum of 10 people per safari tour and we ended up being only 2-4 people. It was amazing, but we saw safari trucks with 24 people, and they just looked hot, exhausted and crowded.

Amazing trip!!!

Date of experience: March 2024
Thank 584anun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2024 via mobile

We loved our time at Pilansberg, we stayed for 4 nights and went on 8 Safari trip, we were very pleased with the variety and amount of animals we saw. Great Park if you want a location that’s malaria free, trip of a lifetime, we would love to go back one day.

Date of experience: January 2024
Thank Climber34067267766
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

Could have been wonderful. The park setting
is magnificent especially since the land has been reclaimed and extensive conservation has taken place. But we didn’t see an abundance of animals. The roads are terrible. Four wheel drives okay but anything else would be dangerous and minimize access into areas of the park. It all seemed very chaotic.

Date of experience: January 2024
Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews