We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
5
8
3
1
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
5
8
3
1
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2023 via mobile

My review of the check in at reception on November 2021 still applies as there is no improvement at all. Surely commonsense dictates and agrees with my previous review? It is extremely frustrating for the dozens of visitors having to stand in queues for ages

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Andries B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rudi van Schalkwyk, General Manager at Sun Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2023

Dear Andries

Thank you for your valued and appreciated feedback, we are constantly working on improving our check in processes. We hope that when you next visit us you will see a significant improvement as we work toward allowing online check ins to be done soon.

Kind Regards
Sun Vacation Club Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2023

I stayed over this past weekend

- the royal baths pool was disgusting slimy and so many insects
- Service was ridiculous ( reception , restaurants , bartenders ) as well as didn’t have a decent shower if we stood in rain we’d be cleaner !

Beautiful place poorly managed

Also their reception just sees an owners name and allocates any of their units to guests without checking confirmation numbers and makes
It your problem I stood crying for
Two hours thinking I got scammed only to find out they f**d up & they did not apologize for any inconvience made me belive I will pay again ( a group of 8 people )

They really don’t know how to deal with situations ( mind you I am someone that suffers with sever anxiety and panic attacks ) they are clearly not capability of dealing with their
Own mistakes

I saw another foreign lady complain about having no power for more than 4 hours and burning electricals

Our bedrooms barely had any light they where so dim or dying
No irons fine we carried Our own but cannot see a thing.

Was really excited to enjoy a lil birthday vacation that was ruined by poor management!

Room tip: The pools are slimy and moldy full of bugs Reception unhelpful
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TRavjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rudi van Schalkwyk, General Manager at Sun Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2023

Good Afternoon

Thank you for you valued and appreciated feedback, The Royal baths will during the Valley Shutdown in 2023 receive a lot of love care and attention. We are also constantly working on improving our check in process and hope that you will see a significant improvent.

Kind Regards
Sun Vacation Club Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2022

This Vacation club is a really terrible place. They don't answer phones, kitchen basic things like a can opener doesn't work and they did not assist until 2 hours later. Duty manager does not answer the phone. The senior manager makes empty promises.
To get the WiFi to work, took 2 hours.
Housekeeping, Constance answers and says they doing things, but do not deliver on anything.
Let alone trying to get the TV to connect to internet, my word, now we are asking a lot, beyond frustrating.
Didn't even bother asking them to put globes in the bedroom.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kanchani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rudi van Schalkwyk, General Manager at Sun Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2022

Good Morning Kanchani

First and foremost thank you so much for your feedback, we value and appreciate all customer feedback as this assists us to do better for our member and guests alike. We have escalated and investigated all the points raised above and we have put processes in place to ensure that the above does not occur in any unit going forward

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2022

Apparently they have been refurbished - new fabric on couches, aircon units in the bedrooms, that's about all. Bathrooms are the same. Our chalet 489 was clean, everything worked, except the shower - spray was very weak, bad smell, and sink was blocked and didn't drain away. I told reception but nothing was done during our 5 day stay.
The icons on the knobs for the temp etc. on the oven had been rubbed off.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dthcfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rudi van Schalkwyk, General Manager at Sun Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2022

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we value and appreciate all feedback as this assists us to do better for our members and guests all the time. We take not of all your comments and suggestions and we hope to welcome you back soon to our resort and that you will find a significant improvement.

Kind Regards
Sun Vacation Club Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2021 via mobile

Check in disaster. PLEASE separate the Reserve and Aviary check in. It takes far to long to check in. Standing in 37 degree heat is not enjoyable. How about online check in and separate pensioners check in?this is not impossible to arrange so please do it.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Andries B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rudi van Schalkwyk, Owner at Sun Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2021

Good Afternoon Andries

Thank you for your very valuable feedback. We are currently looking at ways to improve our check in process, we are also investigating possible online check in solutions. we hope to welcome you back soon and that you will find a significant improvement during the check in process.

Kind Regards

Rudi van Schalkwyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews