We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
5
8
3
1
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
5
8
3
1
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2021

Old and smelly!
Our first time staying at the Vacation club and surely our last. The unit in the 2nd phase had a terrible sewer smell that seemed to come from the bathrooms which are old, outdated and not the cleanest. The unit is serviced daily but bathrooms are not mopped. We booked for 3 nights but only stayed for 2 as we could not handle the smell.
The units are advertised as being refurbished but the kitchens and bathrooms need complete renovations.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AshGov251
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rudi van Schalkwyk, Owner at Sun Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2021

Dear Valued Customer

First and foremost, apologies for the delay in our response, we are currently doing a major unit care project and hope to be done with this by June 2022, we apologize for the experience you had whilst visiting us. We hope to welcome you soon in the near future.

Regards
Rudi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2021 via mobile

I was invited by friends to join them at sun city vacation club for a week. Understandably the complex is showing lack of maintenance etc due to lockdown and the difficulty time the hospitality industry is crumbling under , so this we can overlook. However I have never heard so much man made noise in the early morning in my life , road sweeper vehicles , lawnmowers, leaf blowers, busses , supply vehicles , staff shouting from a distance to each other , it’s incredible . Some thought should go into start up times and the guest experience .....the guests partying into the morning without any security staff addressing the late noise factor , I’m delighted to be back in rush hour traffic in Johannesburg it’s far quieter than my experience at sun city this week 🙃

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Finchattum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rudi van Schalkwyk, Owner at Sun Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2021

Dear Valued Guest

First and foremost, apologies for the delay in our response to you, we value and appreciate all customer feedback, We have done quite a considerable amount of retraining of our teams to ensure this does not happen going forward. We have also done a considerable amount of maintenance on the resort and hope that when you next visit us you will find a significant improvement.

Regards
Rudi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2021

We always stay at Sun Vacation Club because of its easy proximity to the Pilanesberg Game Reserve, and the variety of things to do in the resort. The staff are all friendly and helpful, from the check-in to the cleaning and maintenance people. Despite the beautifully manicured gardens and the cleanliness of the pools and entertainment areas, the outside facade of the units in The Reserve are looking very tired and in need of maintenance.

The rooms are well appointed, with regular changes of towels and great service from cleaning staff. But the basins and sink had an awful sewer smell, and a sewerage pipe overflowed right next to our patio, making it impossible to sit outdoors. I reported it, but it wasn't fixed by the time we left. These are the small things that make a visit a disappointment, or a delight.

The closure of the gate to the Bakubung entrance meant we had to drive to the main road, adding at least 40 minutes round trip to each visit to the Park. There must be a way to better manage this.

For children this is an amazing venue with wonderful play areas and water parks. It is safe with many different activities for the whole family .

Room tip: Try to get a room on the ground floor, and one the looks onto the garden, not onto the parking lot.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rudi van Schalkwyk, Owner at Sun Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2021

Dear Belinda

Thank you so much for your very valuable feedback, we appreciate all customer feedback as this assists us to do better all the time for our members and guests. We are happy to report that entire Reserve section has been repainted and has received a lot of love and attention in 2021, we will not stop on our improvements and the Aviary is scheduled to be done in 2022. We hope to announce the re-opening of the Bakubang gate in the not to distant future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the not to distant future.

Regards
Rudi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021

Superb however most facilities were still closed due to covid 19 so very disappointing at the time as it definitely wasn't value for money .hotels should look at decreasing prices over the period where facilities can't be used

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank faatimahm2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rudi van Schalkwyk, Owner at Sun Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2021

Dear Valued Guest

We are happy to report that all activities have returned to full operation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Regards
Rudi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2020

While all are locked up for COVID - South Africa is OPEN and ready to welcome you... Sun City was a BLAST! the recent rains have left the landscape breath taking with beautiful facilities and lots to do for the family. Water park with wave pool, safari game drives, golf and entertainment facilities for young and old.... leave the winter behind in the North and escape to Sun City - you can thank me later...

Room tip: If you can afford the Palace, book there... otherwise the other hotels are great value.
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPS-SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rudi van Schalkwyk, Owner at Sun Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2021

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your very positive feedback, it is much appreciated

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Rudi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews