We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
David7London
London

Disappointing

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 01 Feb 2019
Stayed at these bungalows for two nights whilst we visited Sun City. We were a party of seven occupying four rooms.

Reception was extremely slow in checking us in so this was not the greatest start to our stay here.

The bungalows are now quite dated and whilst we expected them to be simple and plain we did not anticipate all the problems we were to have. These included showers not draining properly and overflowing, air-conditioning not working and one of the bungalows did not have a bath though we had specified all bungalows to have a bath and shower. The bungalows are very close to one another and there is little privacy. On the positive the bungalows are spacious with comfortable beds.

Breakfast included a continental and hot breakfast cooked to order, this was good and I could not fault this apart from getting some of orders wrong, but this was corrected.

It is easy to get around Sun City though I was very disappointed with the facilities as again these have not been updated in years and the place generally needs a major overall.

We had a pleasant stay but I would not stay here again. I would suggest a major revamp is needed not just on the bungalows but on Sun City itself.
Date of stay: December 2018
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Exterior
R 2 494
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 494
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 445
  • Algotels
    R 2 535
0.3 km from Bush Bungalows At Sun City Resort
Free parking
Pool
R 6 100
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 6 100
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 915
  • Trip.com
    R 6 090
0.9 km from Bush Bungalows At Sun City Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
R 3 643
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
    R 3 644
  • Vio.com
    R 3 642
  • StayForLong
    R 3 667
0.1 km from Bush Bungalows At Sun City Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 4 962
R 4 165
Fully refundable
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 962
  • StayForLong
    R 4 189
  • Vio.com
    R 4 162
0.1 km from Bush Bungalows At Sun City Resort
Exterior View
R 4 163
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 163
  • Tripadvisor
    R 4 163
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Bush Bungalows At Sun City Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 800
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 800
  • ZenHotels.com
16.6 km from Bush Bungalows At Sun City Resort
Granchis Guesthouse
R 665
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 665
4.6 km from Bush Bungalows At Sun City Resort
R 5 463
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 335
  • Priceline
    R 4 666
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 188
4.5 km from Bush Bungalows At Sun City Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 13 150
  • Agoda.com
    R 13 150
4.5 km from Bush Bungalows At Sun City Resort
R 1 260
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 386
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 212
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 260
5.4 km from Bush Bungalows At Sun City Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Sun City
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
12
8
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
12
8
6
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2019 via mobile

What a lovely hotel! The bungalows have a "typical" African safari look and have all the necessary amenities. The sun city resort is in general a good place to stay when visiting Pilanesberg: there are many restaurants and a great swimming pool where you can easily spend a day. Price/quality ratio is perfect!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank _SaarB_246
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2018 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend and loved every minute. The bungalows were clean and very comfortable. The buses to the main complex were regular and quick.
The staff were most helpful and breakfast more than ample with a good selection that was regularly replenished.
The staff in the crocodile park were very friendly and full of information about the crocs. . I would highly recommend

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Brilliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2018

Bungalows was very nice, a bit dark on the inside. Air conditioner worked very well (it was 39 degrees) outside. NIce big bathroom. Breakfast was ok not as nice as breakfasts at other properties in Sun city. View of the crocodiles when you eat.Very quiet which I loved. Only problem I had was the distance from where you park to where your bungalow is. There is a closer entrance that is much more practical but it is for staff only,

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2018 via mobile

The bungalows are either a double or twin bed and luck of the draw. They very close together and no 9 seems to be the most private which isn’t saying a lot. It’s has a small balcony with wicker chairs, small fridge and kettle in room. There isn’t much light in the rooms. The water out the taps is very slow and the shower trickles out. Anyone tall struggles to get under the shower. The breakfast was pleasant not huge range and overlooks the crocodiles enclosure. Can do a walk around crocodiles plenty to see and obviously their main business. The pond and bridge you walk over is empty to get to the bungalows. There is no pool. Receptionist struggled to work out how to split our booking payments and spent a lot of time trying to work it out. Towels are hard and scratchy although the room is very clean need an upgrade. Braai area is available but one small braai and not much information. It’s quiet area. Bar and boma only open in day then you have to go in search for food. Overall average but adequate just far from the rides and valley. Bar and food option at evening would go a long way to livening it up.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank desin348
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our visit to these lovely bungalows that have been recently refurbished. They are located adjacent to the crocodile farm and across the road from the Sky train stop. If you would like to be inside Sun City, but away from the busyness of the big hotels, then this is a good option.

The small group of bungalows are set in pretty gardens and each one sleeps 2 in either a twin or double configuration. They each have a small seating area outside with comfy wicker chairs and inside is another chair and table. There is no self catering but there is a side counter with a sink and a fridge so it is possible to store drinks and snacks at least. There is no cutlery and not even a wine glass so they are clearly not trying to encourage any self catering. The bungalows are reasonably sized, air conditioned, nicely furnished and spotlessly clean. My only gripe was that the blinds really don't cut out light - proper curtains are needed. And the showers were quite slow to drain - not a disaster but should be sorted out.

As this accommodation is on the budget end, there is not much in the way of facilities. Guests get multiple entry access to the Valley of the Waves and can use the pool at the Cabanas hotel a short bus ride away. There is no restaurant on site, but there is a lovely open air boma serving drinks and light snacks that overlooks one of the crocodile enclosures. The enclosed breakfast area is also just adjacent to this. The breakfast buffet is not huge, but perfectly pleasant and run by a very friendly lady. There is also a braai enclosure which looked rather unkempt compared to the rest of the facilities. We would have liked to braai one night but there was no info on how we could make use of the facilities. A shame as this would really distinguish it from the other hotels.

There were 2 things that stopped me giving this little gem a 5 star rating; a seriously unfriendly receptionist and ongoing background noise from the entertainment venue down the road (we think it was the Shebeen).

Firstly, the reception. We arrived to find that the payment we had made 6 months ago had not been allocated to our booking. Instead of working with us to resolve the issue the lady just kept shrugging our shoulders and looking uninterested. The stupid thing is that Sun City bookings have to be paid within a set time frame else they won't hold the reservation. So how she justified shrugging her shoulders and treating us like we were 2 bit chancers I don't know. It was eventually resolved when our travel agent sent proof of payment through and we got a free dinner out of it. Unfortunately this lady was on duty during our whole stay. She just about managed to say good morning. Not once did she ask us how we were doing or whether we needed any help or info. All the other staff we came across were very pleasant though.

Secondly, the noise from the venue which is about 400m down the road. During our 4 night stay we picked up background music noise for 3 of the afternoons and evenings. We were out for some of this time and the music always stopped by 10pm but it wasn't ideal to have to listen to background party noise so often. It didn't ruin my visit but if I book in a place that prides itself on being a relaxing place 'in the bush' I don't expect to have to put up with that. Sun resorts needs to get the venue to turn it down or enclose and sound proof it.

Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rollingstone2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews