We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
tonydry
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Kedar Heritage Lodge more than lived up to expectations!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 04 Apr 2024
My daughter, granddaughter and I enjoyed our 4 days at Kedar Lodge in March 2024. I enjoyed the many historical sites, memorabilia, and information scattered through the gardens. Our rooms were very comfortable and looked out onto the bush where there were lovely birds. Giraffe and various buck including black impala welcomed us at the gate each day. I was most impressed with both Sarah and Robert Forsyth whose dad really established Kedar as a heritage lodge. They went out of their way to help get my cell phone to me which I had inadvertently left in Johannesburg. This was real dedication as far as customer service was concerned!
Edward was also most helpful during our stay. Sarah took time to chat to us about the Lodge's history and her family's involvement in keeping South African history relevant.
We were able to visit the Pilanesberg three times as it is only 30 mins away. What a pleasure!
We had supper in Heroes Bar each evening and found the meals satisfactory. I wasn't well one evening and delicious soup and bread were brought to my room at no extra cost.
We can highly recommend Kedar Heritage Lodge!
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Recreation Africa, Guest Services / Front Office at Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to post your very positive comments about Kedar. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay and we are delighted that we met your expectations!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 295
  • Hotels.com
4.2 km from Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
veranda
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 331
  • Booking.com
17.8 km from Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
24.2 km from Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ducks
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 501
  • Priceline
23.1 km from Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 468
  • Algotels
24.5 km from Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Family Suite
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 818
  • Booking.com
24.2 km from Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 379
  • Booking.com
21.9 km from Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
This image has been removed
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 580
  • Hotels.com
33.7 km from Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family Bed Unit Exterior / Play Area
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 658
  • eDreams
14.5 km from Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 047
  • Booking.com
47.5 km from Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Rustenburg
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
84
98
39
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
84
98
39
15
16
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2024

I was not happy with your activities, the play grounds for kids it is very poor.Try to be creative by creating fun activities for us for example cards game questions and hire young staff at the restaurant

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mphoelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Recreation Africa, Guest Services / Front Office at Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about Kedar. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay and we apologise that we did not meet all your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2024

What an extraordinary experience! I was facinated with the vast amount of information and memorabilia of the Anglo-Boer War, Bafokeng, Tswana and Mzilikazi history and then had the delightful opportunity of lazing and dozing in our room with a view of the wetland! Driving through the game reserve with various types of antelope to the Paul Kruger farm next door was a bonus and the historic farmhouse made history had come alive. If you are interested in history this is a must!

Room tip: A fridge is offered so take cheese and biscuits etc. Take a hat and sunscreen. The lodge does offer insect spray - remember this is Africa!
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trip11592050151
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Recreation Africa, Guest Services / Front Office at Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your Kedar experience – it’s always wonderful to receive such positive feedback! Please come and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2023

Just spent 4 nights at Kedar Lodge. Staff are very friendly and the resort is easy to like. It doesn't have the corporate image of hotels but its individuality and the history available at the location is excellent to remind us of earlier times.
Our main reason for staying here was to access Pilansberg Nature Reserve. It is about 30 minutes away and access is very easy and very reasonably priced (even for us international visitors)

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gbegg773458
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Recreation Africa, Guest Services / Front Office at Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2023

Thank you for choosing Kedar for your recent stay in Rustenburg. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable time. Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2023

I like the location of the property including the fact that it is in the bush. I had a nice sleep and felt stress free when I was there. The breeze and the trees are marvelous. The art and the statues are awesome. I enjoyed my stay.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pmankg231825
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Recreation Africa, Guest Services / Front Office at Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2023

Thank you for taking the time to post your very positive comments about Kedar. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay and we are delighted that we met your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2023

I attended a Heritage Symposium last week, and arrived early to explore the area before the start and enjoy the venue. The Kedar team of employees are remarkable, everyone was welcoming, friendly and helpful. The kitchen team produced a feast for a group during the symposium. The lodge itself is special for a variety of reasons. The original Paul Kruger buildings are on site and you can arrange a guided visit. They have many creative memorial art tributes to a broad array of historical people and events. They have a range of antelope, zebras, wildebeest and giraffe, I really enjoyed my afternoon game drive with Alfred.

Only 25 minutes drive from Bakubung gate I also took the opportunity to explore the Pilanesburg Game reserve.

Thank you to everyone at Kedar Heritage Lodge for a memorable week.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LesleyJCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Recreation Africa, Guest Services / Front Office at Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2023

Thank you for choosing Kedar for your recent stay in Rustenburg. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable time. Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews