We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
77
84
37
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
84
37
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boer war sun city national park museum tour outdoor shower venison rich history animals including game driver game drives game park yogurt armoury paul artifacts lodge zebra
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2015

The lodge is located in a lovely area and has a lovely garden. We arrived late the first evening, and were told that there was buffet in the restaurant and a bar which only served small dishes. The buffet was ok, but not any special. The second night we went to the bar for dinner and it turned out they had quite an extensive menu, with burgers, steaks etc. So, I had the feeling they really pushed us to the more expensive buffet the first evening.
The breakfast which is included was great, a lot of choice.
The room was beautiful, big and with a nice patio and relaxing garden.
We used this place as a base to Pilanesberg, which is a 30 min drive.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ElsVdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rentom765, Manager at Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2015

Thank you for choosing Kedar for your recent stay in Rustenburgt.We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time.
At your convenience, would you please take a moment to share your experience online with your friends and others on your preferred social media platform?
Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2015

Had a great stay at Kedar Country Lodge
The Boer War Artifacts are amazing and a trip to the Oom Paul Kruger House is a must, the guide knew his facts, no matter the questions ask
The food was great with a variety of food, the Venison Chops on Friday Night were superb, salads fresh, vegetables not over cooked. The staff were pleasant and had an amazing break away from the "No Electricity and No water" in JHB ed he had the answers

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CalodyneSurMerAdmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rentom765, Manager at Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2015

Thank you for choosing Kedar for your recent stay in Rustenburgt.We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time.
At your convenience, would you please take a moment to share your experience online with your friends and others on your preferred social media platform?
Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2015 via mobile

Never in my life have I had such terrible food. The stake was as tough as rubber and the evening buffet was just as disappointing. We litteraly tried a bit of everything in the hopes of finding something good, but to no avail. The rooms were ok although I expected a lot more.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Jaco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2015

Hotel setting was beautiful and the lodge's were very well equipped with Wifi, TV, air con, Mosquito plugs and sprays which is an essential precaution although we were rarely bothered by the wee mozzies.
Game Drive to meet George the Giraffe is a must see as is Paul Krugers Homestead.
If I was being picky, the service is inconsistant when ordering food or drink and it became a bit wearysome having to chase after food or drinks so although the venue is above average in respect to value and setting, the service often fell below average, so its a reluctant average score.
Having said that, it became an in house joke to see who's drink didnt show up or how the same meal on a different day contained different meats?
Breakfast was always good but varied depending on demand from overnite groups or just us in the dining area
Please also be aware that Hotel.Com state its R800 for an airport transfer when in fact its R1800 (ish) as its almost 2 hours north from Joburg! However Its a short R200 taxi to Sun City, which helps break up the week, so bring your swimming togs and pop into cascades pool for free....nice!

Room Tip: Go for the upgraded lodges as they have lovely external showers, wifi and TV
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Starman1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015

We got a late booking here for a trip to The Pilanesberg, living in the UK a trip to a game reserve is a must for me on each trip to SA. We were welcomed with a lovely glass a fruit juice and a flannel to wash away the travel dust on arrival. Every single staff member was friendly and could not do enough to help us. My little niece wanted to sleep with her parents so a third bed was put up and readied within minutes of the request. We planned to eat out of the complex thinking the food would be expensive but the food was good and reasonably priced, so we ate at the pub all three nights. The gardens surrounding the chalets are beautiful and the whole setting is relaxing. Our only gripe was the packed breakfast we requested for a morning drive, we were each given a sandwich of processed meat/cheese and fruit. The breakfast included with your stay is a wonderful buffet part of the choice were pastries and muffins, these are what should have been put into the packed breakfast, with a flask of hot coffee/tea. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: ensure the room has aircon, apparently some rooms do not
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen27_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rentom765, Manager at Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2015

Thank you for choosing Kedar for your recent stay in Rustenburgt.We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time.
At your convenience, would you please take a moment to share your experience online with your friends and others on your preferred social media platform?
Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews