We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lodge near Pilanesberg National Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Rustenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2015

Really a hidden gem- we were a little anxious after making the booking as it seemed like this place was half the price of everything around it of a similar quality but the reviews seemed excellent- We arrived with some trepidation after a longhaul flight to be met with first class service, staff who went the extra mile to treat us like royalty, and a stunning lodge in a great setting.
Its around 20 minutes drive to Pilanesberg but it was significantly cheaper than anything closer and it really wasnt a problem.
The hotel has its own nature walk with an elusive pygmy hippo- I didnt expect it to be much but we were very pleasantly surprised to spot a whole range of wildlife from monkeys to snakes to all sorts of antelope, and the walkway is well maintained and children friendly. The pool area was lovely, there was some debris from the plants in the water and we felt very sorry for the poor gardener who spent ages cleaning it meticulously only for the wind to blow a load in as soon as he walked away! Breakfast was great, and we ate dinner there one night- lovely!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank wiltshirepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rentom765, Manager at Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2015

Thank you for choosing Kedar for your recent stay in Rustenburgt.We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time.
At your convenience, would you please take a moment to share your experience online with your friends and others on your preferred social media platform?
Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 65 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2015

The lodge is located in a lovely area and has a lovely garden. We arrived late the first evening, and were told that there was buffet in the restaurant and a bar which only served small dishes. The buffet was ok, but not any special. The second night we went to the bar for dinner and it turned out they had quite an extensive menu, with burgers, steaks etc. So, I had the feeling they really pushed us to the more expensive buffet the first evening.
The breakfast which is included was great, a lot of choice.
The room was beautiful, big and with a nice patio and relaxing garden.
We used this place as a base to Pilanesberg, which is a 30 min drive.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ElsVdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rentom765, Manager at Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2015

Thank you for choosing Kedar for your recent stay in Rustenburgt.We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time.
At your convenience, would you please take a moment to share your experience online with your friends and others on your preferred social media platform?
Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2015

Had a great stay at Kedar Country Lodge
The Boer War Artifacts are amazing and a trip to the Oom Paul Kruger House is a must, the guide knew his facts, no matter the questions ask
The food was great with a variety of food, the Venison Chops on Friday Night were superb, salads fresh, vegetables not over cooked. The staff were pleasant and had an amazing break away from the "No Electricity and No water" in JHB ed he had the answers

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CalodyneSurMerAdmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rentom765, Manager at Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2015

Thank you for choosing Kedar for your recent stay in Rustenburgt.We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time.
At your convenience, would you please take a moment to share your experience online with your friends and others on your preferred social media platform?
Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2015 via mobile

Never in my life have I had such terrible food. The stake was as tough as rubber and the evening buffet was just as disappointing. We litteraly tried a bit of everything in the hopes of finding something good, but to no avail. The rooms were ok although I expected a lot more.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Jaco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2015

Hotel setting was beautiful and the lodge's were very well equipped with Wifi, TV, air con, Mosquito plugs and sprays which is an essential precaution although we were rarely bothered by the wee mozzies.
Game Drive to meet George the Giraffe is a must see as is Paul Krugers Homestead.
If I was being picky, the service is inconsistant when ordering food or drink and it became a bit wearysome having to chase after food or drinks so although the venue is above average in respect to value and setting, the service often fell below average, so its a reluctant average score.
Having said that, it became an in house joke to see who's drink didnt show up or how the same meal on a different day contained different meats?
Breakfast was always good but varied depending on demand from overnite groups or just us in the dining area
Please also be aware that Hotel.Com state its R800 for an airport transfer when in fact its R1800 (ish) as its almost 2 hours north from Joburg! However Its a short R200 taxi to Sun City, which helps break up the week, so bring your swimming togs and pop into cascades pool for free....nice!

Room Tip: Go for the upgraded lodges as they have lovely external showers, wifi and TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Starman1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustenburg
17 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
9,9 km away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rustenburg
240 reviews
23,6 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42,5 km away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#9 of 13 in Rustenburg
95 reviews
23,2 km away
The Palace of the Lost City
23,8 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa

Address: Boekenhoutfontein, R565/ Sun City Road, Rustenburg 0301, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Rustenburg
Price Range: R1 164 - R1 746 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5km away from the Royal Bafokeng Stadium, one of the stadiums that hosted the 2010 Soccer World Cup, Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa offers 60 elegantly finished rooms, 3 Executive Rooms, 1 Royal Suite and 1 Presidential Suite. 7 conference rooms, an open air Boma with a stage and a Chapel for an elegant bushveld wedding. Some 20 years ago, Recreation Africa purchased a portion of Boekenhoutfontein, the historic farm of President Paul Kruger. Over the years, adjoining land has been acquired, culminating in the consolidation of an area of some 700 acres, which has been game fenced and populated with a wide variety of game, including eland, blesbok, impala, bushbuck, nyala, kudu, zebra, blue wildebeest and giraffe. Invaluable environmental work has been done to remove alien vegetation and restore the wetlands which attract prolific birdlife. With a Spa in an idyllic setting, jutting out over a natural wetland lake teaming with fish and birdlife, it is sure to enhance the spiritual and physical relaxation you expect from a Spa in the country. The Heroes bar allows guests to partake of sundowners whilst watching the sunset over the natural bush. Other facilities include a large swimming pool, game drives, Paul Kruger Country House Museum Tour, Team building area, and open air conference areas. All this, just one and a half hour’s drive from Johannesburg and Pretoria, and only 15 minutes from Sun City and the Pilanesberg Game Reserve - home of the “Big Five”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kedar Country Hotel, Hotel Rustenburg
Kedar Country Hotel, Conference Center And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing