We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Susan S
Johannesburg, South Africa

Fantastic overall

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 Dec 2023
The experience overall was fantastic. Very unusual decor, but so original.
A very relaxing place to be.
The staff was friendly and efficient
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to the area
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 239
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.4 km from Excalibur Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 600
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 599
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 599
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Excalibur Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
This image has been removed
R 3 034
R 1 806
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
4.2 km from Excalibur Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family Suite
R 973
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
6.5 km from Excalibur Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 842
Fully refundable
Easy and fast booking
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
9.8 km from Excalibur Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 2 329
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 288
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 049
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 281
26.5 km from Excalibur Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 052
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 251
  • Trip.com
30.6 km from Excalibur Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 950
    10.8 km from Excalibur Boutique Hotel
    veranda
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      R 1 305
    • Hotels.com
      R 1 258
    • Priceline
    13.4 km from Excalibur Boutique Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    Family Bed Unit Exterior / Play Area
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Vio.com
    • Agoda.com
      R 520
    • Trip.com
    17.6 km from Excalibur Boutique Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Rustenburg
    Reviews (65)
    Filter reviews
    65 results
    Traveller rating
    50
    12
    1
    1
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    50
    12
    1
    1
    1
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 65 reviews
    Reviewed 4 April 2023

    The Hotel is unique, very Medieval. Extremely clean and looked after. Daniel on reception, was most helpful. The entire staff were very pleasant. my only gripe is the food. It is basic and somewhat oily. Breakfast was the best meal we had.

    We wandered around the entire venue, it is very big and looks like it would be great for a wedding. The rooms were like stepping back in time, very comfortable and well stocked, teas, coffee and complimentary breakfast pack, if you wanted it. Again, extremely clean and well maintained.

    Room tip: |Stay away from the Skin on chips - greasy
    Date of stay: April 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Alison S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 25 December 2022 via mobile

    I made my family Christmas Lunch Booking at Excalibur, same as 3 years ago 2019. The private dining chamber the King Arthur dinning suite, now 3 years ago when we arrived the suite was decorated like a Christmas Lunch flowers, serviettes, glasses very classy, because you pay extra for this I was very happy, the food was excellent the services was excellent we left very happy.
    2022 however totally different first of all the only Christmas decoration was plastic placemats with some Chridtmas Pics on it, no glasses, no serviette’s nothing table with place mars thats it, I was a bit agitated but its Christmas so I said nothing, then the waiter arrived no wine list nothing had to go back order two bottles of wine he brought two glasses we were 5, again i kept quite the kid is new let it be. But the the food the smoke pork chops was raw and when we pointed it out we were told it is smoked, the manager then returned and told my mom she has cooked the prok chop well done, sorry but is pork not suppose to be well done from starr, the beef was tuff, the chicken like road kill with cheese and a crust on it. The plates are smaller then my side plates at home and you are only allowed one serving
    My family went through a lot this year, we paid with the drinks R3000 for a lunch I woukd not serve my dogs never again this was by far the worst lunch I ever had, KFC would have been a better choice.

    Room tip: Stay away
    Date of stay: December 2022
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank 967hennied
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 21 December 2021

    We had a very good stay, great food and Mike the waiter was amazing, just a few tips The Romantic Dinner was not worth the money, the canapes were very dry and really expensive for what you get, the room turndown was very expensive for a few rose petals and five chocolate's, there was also no effort in the romantic corner so not sure why we had to pay extra for it. The receptionist was more copied with his phone than really interested in assisting us.

    Date of stay: December 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank epienaar90
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 22 November 2021

    Pleasant stay, neat and clean rooms, very well priced breakfasts. Service was good and the front office helpful at midnight. The idea of medieval feasts as a celebration meal is a nice idea with the option to use costumes for the themes.

    Date of stay: November 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank bstrae213524
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 4 November 2021

    Wonderful place to stay. Restaurant food is delicious. The staff are pleasant and friendly. This is my number 1 place to stay in Rustenburg. One of the greatest highlights working in Rustenburg was staying over at Excalibur Boutique Hotel and enjoying a nice Eisbein meal for dinner.

    Date of stay: October 2021
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank charlmare2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews