We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alison S
Benoni, South Africa

Right out of King Arhturs tale

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 04 Apr 2023
The Hotel is unique, very Medieval. Extremely clean and looked after. Daniel on reception, was most helpful. The entire staff were very pleasant. my only gripe is the food. It is basic and somewhat oily. Breakfast was the best meal we had.

We wandered around the entire venue, it is very big and looks like it would be great for a wedding. The rooms were like stepping back in time, very comfortable and well stocked, teas, coffee and complimentary breakfast pack, if you wanted it. Again, extremely clean and well maintained.
Date of stay: April 2023
Room Tip: |Stay away from the Skin on chips - greasy
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 418
  • Booking.com
6.4 km from Excalibur Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
This image has been removed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 579
  • Booking.com
4.2 km from Excalibur Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 441
  • Priceline
7.6 km from Excalibur Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Family Suite
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 869
  • Booking.com
6.5 km from Excalibur Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
veranda
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 441
  • Booking.com
13.4 km from Excalibur Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 293
  • Hotels.com
9.3 km from Excalibur Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 258
  • Booking.com
26.5 km from Excalibur Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 938
  • StayForLong
4.2 km from Excalibur Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 299
  • Booking.com
17.7 km from Excalibur Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family Bed Unit Exterior / Play Area
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 606
  • Booking.com
17.6 km from Excalibur Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Rustenburg
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
50
12
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
50
12
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2022 via mobile

I made my family Christmas Lunch Booking at Excalibur, same as 3 years ago 2019. The private dining chamber the King Arthur dinning suite, now 3 years ago when we arrived the suite was decorated like a Christmas Lunch flowers, serviettes, glasses very classy, because you pay extra for this I was very happy, the food was excellent the services was excellent we left very happy.
2022 however totally different first of all the only Christmas decoration was plastic placemats with some Chridtmas Pics on it, no glasses, no serviette’s nothing table with place mars thats it, I was a bit agitated but its Christmas so I said nothing, then the waiter arrived no wine list nothing had to go back order two bottles of wine he brought two glasses we were 5, again i kept quite the kid is new let it be. But the the food the smoke pork chops was raw and when we pointed it out we were told it is smoked, the manager then returned and told my mom she has cooked the prok chop well done, sorry but is pork not suppose to be well done from starr, the beef was tuff, the chicken like road kill with cheese and a crust on it. The plates are smaller then my side plates at home and you are only allowed one serving
My family went through a lot this year, we paid with the drinks R3000 for a lunch I woukd not serve my dogs never again this was by far the worst lunch I ever had, KFC would have been a better choice.

Room tip: Stay away
Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 967hennied
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2021

We had a very good stay, great food and Mike the waiter was amazing, just a few tips The Romantic Dinner was not worth the money, the canapes were very dry and really expensive for what you get, the room turndown was very expensive for a few rose petals and five chocolate's, there was also no effort in the romantic corner so not sure why we had to pay extra for it. The receptionist was more copied with his phone than really interested in assisting us.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank epienaar90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2021

Pleasant stay, neat and clean rooms, very well priced breakfasts. Service was good and the front office helpful at midnight. The idea of medieval feasts as a celebration meal is a nice idea with the option to use costumes for the themes.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bstrae213524
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 November 2021

Wonderful place to stay. Restaurant food is delicious. The staff are pleasant and friendly. This is my number 1 place to stay in Rustenburg. One of the greatest highlights working in Rustenburg was staying over at Excalibur Boutique Hotel and enjoying a nice Eisbein meal for dinner.

Date of stay: October 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank charlmare2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2021

we were treated like royalty from arrival to to departure...guys book room 1 and stargaze the whole evening..supper was very romantic ..and awesome.breakfast in the garden was also nothing to complain about

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FILI V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews