We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mike A
Houston

Luxury-Wildlife-Exceptional Hospitality

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Wonderful accommodations, delicious cuisine, incredibly friendly and attentive staff, an exceptional wildlife experience.
Date of stay: June 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mike A

It warms our hearts to know that you had an enjoyable and amazing time at Ivory Tree. Your lovely words inspire us to do better and continue with our commitment to excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another delightful experience.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 17 930
R 15 640
  • Expedia.com
    R 15 821
  • Hotels.com
    R 15 821
  • Priceline
16.5 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 13 712
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 13 712
6.5 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View off the Executive Suite
R 15 199
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 10 845
  • eDreams
    R 15 199
16.5 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 8 940
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
    R 8 740
  • Expedia.com
    R 9 493
16.6 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 1 551
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 545
10.2 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 5 463
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 305
  • Priceline
19.9 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 13 150
  • Agoda.com
    R 13 150
19.9 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Diphororo Guest House
R 1 000
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 000
12.9 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Terrance
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 542
  • Agoda.com
16.8 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Reviews (1 479)
Filter reviews
1 481 results
Traveller rating
1 022
308
98
25
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 022
308
98
25
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower wonderful experience his knowledge safari experience game lodge buffet style every meal morning and evening great safari south africa his job evening drive the reserve food was amazing sun city ranger guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1 481 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a 5star lodge! The rooms are so nice. Interiors and space is really amazing! The park drive is soooo fun! Our safari guide Anna is very knowledgeable and really gives us a very nice experience of the Pilanesburg national park. The staff is very hospitable and warm. I wish I could stay a bit longer. Highlight for me was the safari game drive.

Room tip: It’s winter now and it really gets cold! Could go as low as -3C in the morning. During the game drive, they give you blankets!
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 2879sheenag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sheena G

Thank you for recognizing and appreciating our beautiful lodge.

We are immensely happy, as we always prepare and execute everything with great care from check-in to check-out to surprise and serve all our guests with excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in future.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2024 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Ivory Tree Lodge and it was a relaxing, luxurious break. The staff went out of their way to ensure our comfort and happiness. I would like to compliment Pretty on going above and beyond and always having a welcoming smile. She handled a medical emergency with admirable calm and professionalism and Omphile exhibited his skill and calmness as a driver as he took me to get medical assistance.

Our game drives were really good and we saw a lot on most drives including leopard, lion, elephant and rhino. We can highly recommend Ivory Tree for an authentic five star bush experience and we can’t wait to come back in the future.

Room tip: In May - September take very warm clothes for the game drives despite the warm temperatures during the day
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CheriRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear CheriRSA

Thank you for this heart-warming review.

For each of us, the guest experience matters the most and such kind words of our efforts by our guests drives us to do it consistently and even better. We have shared your fantastic feedback with all our team members, including Pretty and Omphile.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ivory Tree sometime in future.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2024

The food and the guide Jafta were outstanding. However General service, rooms and terrible wifi made this a bad experience. This compared to other 5 star lodges in the Pilansberg was a shocker, note I have visited all the lodges. This is most defiantly not what I would expect from a 5 star lodge, and what I received and paid for was a shocker. Doubt I will revisit when you have Shephetds Tree were pricing is on par and it is definitely a 5 star experience

Room tip: Rather look at the other 5 star lodges in the region where you get a 5 star experience. Not suitable for people needing to make use of the wifi
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally-Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sally-Ann W

We are disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations on your stay, and we sincerely apologize on the unfavorable experience described. It is with regret that these observations and thoughts were not highlighted whilst with us; however, please know that your valuable feedback will enable us to continue to improve.

Thank you for recognizing our sumptuous food, and the incredible bush experience you had with Japhta.

We are hoping to be given an opportunity to serve you again and I am confident and reassuringly undertake to delight you with more than excellent service for your next stay in our opulent and unmistakable 5-star lodge.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2024

We stayed at Ivory Tree Lodge for the first part of our honeymoon and could not recommend it enough. We stayed for 3 nights and went on 5 drives with Marvin, who was fantastic! We saw the big 5 and Marvin’s knowledge was absolutely amazing, he was so friendly and very happy to answer all our questions. He was very good at getting close to the animals, and knowing exactly where they were around the park!

The lodge itself is pretty and relaxing. Our room was spacious and very clean. The food is absolutely incredible for all meals and you also stop for coffee/drinks on the drives which is a nice touch!

Everyone we spoke to was very friendly and welcoming, they even decorated our room one evening after we’d been on a drive, which was so thoughtful.

We had an incredible time and want to say a massive thank you to everyone at Ivory Tree Lodge!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliviaGT94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Olivia T

Thank you very much for the amazing review, and congrats on your union.

It is an honor to hear that you had a remarkable honeymoon experience at Ivory Tree Game Lodge. We always go the extra mile to create "wow experiences" by delivering only the highest standards of service to each and every guest. Be rest assured your kind words have been shared with Marvin and the rest of the team members who made your stay so unique and memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Ivory Tree sometime in future.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2024

There is absolutely nothing I can fault .
We spent 6 nights here at your truly amazing lodge and it was the best week of our lives. A special mention to barman Mike and waitress Bridgette. They were the epitome of excellent. The room was out of this world. So many amazing little touches, the bath absolutely incredible and the bed. The quality of the food every single day including the memorable BBQ was better than anything we’ve ever tasted .
Thank you for the best week of our lives.

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank clarebrett2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2024

Dear Clarebrett2024

Thank you for this heart-warming review.

For each of us, the guest experience matters the most and such kind words of our efforts by our guests drives us to do it consistently and even better. Mike and Bridgette are so overjoyed to hear of your praises.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ivory Tree sometime in future.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews