We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Matthew T

Amazing Stay!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Jan 2024
Ivory Tree is certainly one of the best lodges I’ve ever stayed at in Pilanesberg. As an avid bush goer the lodge was perfect from staff to food and overall value for money, with a great bush experience given by our friendly Ranger. It went a long way to give a very relaxing weekend stay.
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 20 Jan 2024
Dear Matthew T

Thank you for this heart-warming review.

For each of us, the guest experience matters the most and such kind words of our efforts by our guests drives us to do it consistently, and even better.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ivory Tree in the near future.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
R 1 545
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 545
  • Booking.com
10.2 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Terrance
ZenHotels.com
R 1 538
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
16.8 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
R 6 070
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    R 4 737
  • Vio.com
    R 4 360
  • StayForLong
    R 5 487
19.9 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
R 3 232
  • ZenHotels.com
0.5 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Booking.com
R 13 712
  • Priceline
    R 13 711
  • Agoda.com
    R 13 712
6.5 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 12 144
  • Expedia.com
    R 12 194
  • Hotels.com
    R 12 194
  • Priceline
    R 12 144
16.5 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 13 150
  • Agoda.com
    R 13 150
19.9 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
View off the Executive Suite
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 4 050
  • eDreams
    R 4 050
  • Agoda.com
    R 4 050
16.5 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 7 689
  • Vio.com
16.5 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Diphororo Guest House
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 000
12.9 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
View more hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Reviews (1 470)
Filter reviews
1 471 results
Traveller rating
1 013
308
98
25
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 013
308
98
25
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower wonderful experience his knowledge safari experience game lodge buffet style every meal morning and evening great safari south africa his job evening drive the reserve food was amazing sun city ranger guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1 471 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2024

So fun and I felt safe as a solo female traveler. Came with Collette tours. The outdoor shower was high enough and great in the heat. The big tub is great for a soak and the touches were smart of as good as 5 star hotels. Why was the Port wine in room only found my last night? My fault for chilling in the tub so long. Ample water. The restaurant could use one more coffee machine so lines form but relax. Leopards don't care! Great bed and helpful Staff. The animal viewing and even the skyline is spectacular. The rides were just outside the lodge for pick up. Loved my Ranger Aiden

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TaraY98
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2024

Dear Tara Y

Thank you very much for the amazing review.

It is an honor to hear that you had a remarkable stay at Ivory Tree Game Lodge. We always go the extra mile to create "wow experiences" by delivering only the highest standards of service to each and every guest. Be rest assured your kind words have been shared with Aiden and the rest of the team members who made your stay so unique and memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Ivory Tree sometime in future.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2024

What an amazing game lodge. The food, staff, accommodation and game drives were out of this world. We had Kelvin as our game ranger and he was so knowledgeable. We will definitely be returning for another visit in the near future.

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2024

Dear Kelly S

Thank you for the lovely review.

We are absolutely delighted to hear that you found everything to be superb. Everything at Ivory Tree is prepared with meticulous detail to ensure our guest enjoy. We take pride in knowing that we fulfilled your expectations. I will be sure to share this feedback with all our friendly and passionate team members especially Kelvin.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ivory Tree for another therapeutic and refreshing getaway.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2024

I've been to one too many game drives in my life (self-driven and guided) but I've never met a Game Ranger comparable to Anja who has all the traits - great personality, intellect, knowledge and enthusiasm. I'll always remember her honest and witty disclaimer at introduction, "I'm not a waiter." This's profound especially when people start "putting orders" to see all of the Big 5 (inclusive of a Tiger and a Whale!) before they could even settle in the truck.

Anja, with an infectious sense of humour, knew her "vast office" from why Zebras are striped the way they are, to how a chameleon manages to camouflage. There was never a dull moment in our truck even when there were no animals in view. We got to know about the volcanic history of the Pilanesberg National Park and the horror stories of what happened in the mountains in the olden days.

What impressed me the most was her ability to manage all conflicting social styles in her always spick-and-span-self-cleaned-truck. It didn't matter if you were a local, German, Swiss or American, you got the same respect and attention. She answered all the questions from anyone with respect and humility and even stopped her truck when only one person thought they saw a lion (a tree log) or when they wanted to take a photo/video of anything that interested them.

When we got caught in the middle of a full blown thunderstorm, she was well prepared and made sure that everyone is wearing her rain ponchos. She immediately stopped the truck and urgently lowered all the side canvas blinds to protect us from the pelting rain and howling wind. Wet from being whipped by the rain and missed by the deadly lightning, she asked if everyone was "OK" before she safely drove us back to the lodge through the muddy and flooded gravel roads.

This was a true 5 Star Game Drive Experience for me, thanks to Anja!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thapelo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2024

Dear Thapelo M

Thank you for this detailed review of your amazing experience at Ivory Tree.

We always strive to provide an exceptional experience for all our guests, and we are glad that we were able to not only meet but exceed your expectations. It brings us joy to hear that you enjoyed the phenomenal game drives in the iconic Pilanesberg.

We appreciate your superb compliments on Anja. We are so proud to have her as part of our team and it is wonderful that she made a positive impression on you with her professionalism and passion for her trade.

We would be honored to welcome you back at Ivory Tree and provide you with another memorable experience.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2024

Ive been at Ivory now 5 times and each time my family had a wonderful experience at Ivory Tree. Every staff member I encountered, from the travel guides to the check- in to the cleaning staff were delightful and eager to help! Thank you! I have to mention Onka at reception always going the extra mile to be helpful and Anya our guide she is just the best and our kids loved the bambino drives with her.

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pronkchantelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2024

Dear Pronkchantelle

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

It is delightful to hear that you had a wonderful experience at Ivory Tree Game Lodge. Glad to hear that all the team members honored their call of duty and delivered the usual memorable experience to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, and thank you for the continued loyalty.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2024

The Ivory Tree Game Lodge is a magical establishment. The details, the people, the food, the attention to specific details, they go out of their way to give you the best service in Pilanesberg, its more than value for your money, its memories you will cherish forever and probably compare every establishment after that because its simply a wonderful place.
Before game drives they treat you with snacks and drinks, the food was wonderful as you receive a menu that offers you a starter, main and dessert, be sure to try the lamb shank and the amazing fruit juices they offer.

The massage therapist were amazing, one of the best messages I've had, be sure to book in advance as they could be fully booked.

Complete privacy at every lodge, and they really spoil you, especially the turn down service I was blown away but all the things they provided and how thoughtful they were.

Thank you Ivory Tree, even though you were fully booked you managed everyone with professionalism and gave everyone adequate attention.

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shamielsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Dear Shamiel Hagee

Thank you for the lovely review. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you found everything to be superb. Everything at Ivory Tree is prepared with meticulous detail to ensure our guest enjoy. We take pride in knowing that we fulfilled your expectations. I will be sure to share this feedback with all our friendly and passionate team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ivory Tree for another therapeutic and refreshing getaway.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews