We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Thapelo@Gestaldt
Cape Town, South Africa

Game Drive Experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Jan 2024
I've been to one too many game drives in my life (self-driven and guided) but I've never met a Game Ranger comparable to Anja who has all the traits - great personality, intellect, knowledge and enthusiasm. I'll always remember her honest and witty disclaimer at introduction, "I'm not a waiter." This's profound especially when people start "putting orders" to see all of the Big 5 (inclusive of a Tiger and a Whale!) before they could even settle in the truck.

Anja, with an infectious sense of humour, knew her "vast office" from why Zebras are striped the way they are, to how a chameleon manages to camouflage. There was never a dull moment in our truck even when there were no animals in view. We got to know about the volcanic history of the Pilanesberg National Park and the horror stories of what happened in the mountains in the olden days.

What impressed me the most was her ability to manage all conflicting social styles in her always spick-and-span-self-cleaned-truck. It didn't matter if you were a local, German, Swiss or American, you got the same respect and attention. She answered all the questions from anyone with respect and humility and even stopped her truck when only one person thought they saw a lion (a tree log) or when they wanted to take a photo/video of anything that interested them.

When we got caught in the middle of a full blown thunderstorm, she was well prepared and made sure that everyone is wearing her rain ponchos. She immediately stopped the truck and urgently lowered all the side canvas blinds to protect us from the pelting rain and howling wind. Wet from being whipped by the rain and missed by the deadly lightning, she asked if everyone was "OK" before she safely drove us back to the lodge through the muddy and flooded gravel roads.

This was a true 5 Star Game Drive Experience for me, thanks to Anja!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 20 Jan 2024
Dear Thapelo M

Thank you for this detailed review of your amazing experience at Ivory Tree.

We always strive to provide an exceptional experience for all our guests, and we are glad that we were able to not only meet but exceed your expectations. It brings us joy to hear that you enjoyed the phenomenal game drives in the iconic Pilanesberg.

We appreciate your superb compliments on Anja. We are so proud to have her as part of our team and it is wonderful that she made a positive impression on you with her professionalism and passion for her trade.

We would be honored to welcome you back at Ivory Tree and provide you with another memorable experience.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 13 712
  • Agoda.com
    R 13 712
  • Priceline
    R 13 712
6.5 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 13 203
R 12 144
  • Expedia.com
    R 12 173
  • Hotels.com
    R 13 203
  • Agoda.com
    R 12 144
16.5 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 542
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 545
  • Booking.com
10.2 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 8 791
  • Hotels.com
    R 8 812
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 794
  • Tripadvisor
    R 8 794
16.6 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 6 070
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
    R 6 058
  • Vio.com
    R 4 368
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 517
19.9 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 13 150
  • Agoda.com
    R 13 150
19.9 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
R 3 232
  • ZenHotels.com
0.5 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Diphororo Guest House
R 1 000
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 000
12.9 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
View more hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Reviews (1 477)
Filter reviews
1 477 results
Traveller rating
1 018
308
98
25
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 018
308
98
25
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower wonderful experience his knowledge safari experience game lodge buffet style every meal morning and evening great safari south africa his job evening drive the reserve food was amazing sun city ranger guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1 477 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2024

Ive been at Ivory now 5 times and each time my family had a wonderful experience at Ivory Tree. Every staff member I encountered, from the travel guides to the check- in to the cleaning staff were delightful and eager to help! Thank you! I have to mention Onka at reception always going the extra mile to be helpful and Anya our guide she is just the best and our kids loved the bambino drives with her.

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pronkchantelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2024

Dear Pronkchantelle

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

It is delightful to hear that you had a wonderful experience at Ivory Tree Game Lodge. Glad to hear that all the team members honored their call of duty and delivered the usual memorable experience to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, and thank you for the continued loyalty.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2024

The Ivory Tree Game Lodge is a magical establishment. The details, the people, the food, the attention to specific details, they go out of their way to give you the best service in Pilanesberg, its more than value for your money, its memories you will cherish forever and probably compare every establishment after that because its simply a wonderful place.
Before game drives they treat you with snacks and drinks, the food was wonderful as you receive a menu that offers you a starter, main and dessert, be sure to try the lamb shank and the amazing fruit juices they offer.

The massage therapist were amazing, one of the best messages I've had, be sure to book in advance as they could be fully booked.

Complete privacy at every lodge, and they really spoil you, especially the turn down service I was blown away but all the things they provided and how thoughtful they were.

Thank you Ivory Tree, even though you were fully booked you managed everyone with professionalism and gave everyone adequate attention.

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shamielsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Dear Shamiel Hagee

Thank you for the lovely review. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you found everything to be superb. Everything at Ivory Tree is prepared with meticulous detail to ensure our guest enjoy. We take pride in knowing that we fulfilled your expectations. I will be sure to share this feedback with all our friendly and passionate team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ivory Tree for another therapeutic and refreshing getaway.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2024

We had a memorable second visit to Ivory Tree. We had amazing game drives with our guide Sipho, including a superb sighting of a leopard.
The quality of the food is average and the preparation does not feel like it comes from a highly skilled kitchen. Some meals were particularly poor. There was a lamb dish at lunchtime that I couldn't eat, it had unrendered white fat. It had either only been cooked in a sous vide or spent too little time in the oven. A lamb dish like that slow cooked should be delicious.
There were also too few staff in the restaurant, it sometimes took a long time to get service. That said, the staff are very helpful and friendly. Just not enough of them.
The hotel rooms are amazing, love to bush views and outdoor shower.
It would be a major improvement to add a gym. There is only a certain amount of time I can spend eating and sitting, two days is probably my limit. It would be different if there was a gym.

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank toolmanntadgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Dear Toolmanntadgh

Compliments of the season!

Thank you for the return visit to Ivory Tree. Glad to hear that it was a memorable one as usual. We have noted the suggestions and the constructive sentiments highlighted, and we will address accordingly with the concerned department heads and their team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in future.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2023

The lodge is lovely, a real treat! Beautiful private rooms with an outdoor shower. Evening service every night to prepare your room for the night make you feel very special.
Game drives are wonderful and our guide, Aiden, was very knowledgeable and always went the extra mile! He also stop for birds if there are birders on the trip.
Meals are great and all staff are very friendly.
The only thing missing was a waterig hole to watch animals from the lodge.

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bvente137254
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Dear Bvente

Compliments of the season!

Thank you for recognizing and appreciating our beautiful lodge. We are immensely happy, as we always prepare and execute everything with great care from check-in to check-out to surprise and serve all our guests with excellence.

We are planning to incorporate a waterhole for our guests to view and enjoy wildlife without having to venture into the reserve.

Once again, thank you for the compliments and enjoy the year ahead.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2023

Could not fault our time at Ivory Tree Game Lodge!

My friend and I had been travelling for a year and decided to end our travels with a luxury safari and it certainly did not disappoint.

I have been lucky enough to on a number of safaris previously but this was my top rated. I have never seen such an abundance of predators! Also to see a thriving rhino population was incredible. Cannot thank our guide Tanya enough! Amazing.

The spa was also incredible, I had a hydro boost facial and couldn’t fault my experience. The staff even chased the monkeys that had trapped me as I was leaving.

Every meal, every staff member, every dip in the pool was outstanding!

Hope to return in the future.

Room tip: Definitely recommend booking transfers from Johannesburg so you do not have to hire a car.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dreamer04328101725
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2023

Dear Dreamer04

We would like to thank you for choosing Ivory Tree Game Lodge as your safari destination. We are very elated to know that the experience was exceptional, and appreciate all the compliments on our superb and hospitable team. Your lovely feedback has been shared with all our team members to ensure they are encouraged to maintain the same level of service to all our guests.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you and create some more memorable experiences.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews