We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Shamiel Hagee
Cape Town Central, South Africa

Ivory Tree more than Just a Game Lodge

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 03 Jan 2024
The Ivory Tree Game Lodge is a magical establishment. The details, the people, the food, the attention to specific details, they go out of their way to give you the best service in Pilanesberg, its more than value for your money, its memories you will cherish forever and probably compare every establishment after that because its simply a wonderful place.
Before game drives they treat you with snacks and drinks, the food was wonderful as you receive a menu that offers you a starter, main and dessert, be sure to try the lamb shank and the amazing fruit juices they offer.

The massage therapist were amazing, one of the best messages I've had, be sure to book in advance as they could be fully booked.

Complete privacy at every lodge, and they really spoil you, especially the turn down service I was blown away but all the things they provided and how thoughtful they were.

Thank you Ivory Tree, even though you were fully booked you managed everyone with professionalism and gave everyone adequate attention.
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 04 Jan 2024
Dear Shamiel Hagee

Thank you for the lovely review. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you found everything to be superb. Everything at Ivory Tree is prepared with meticulous detail to ensure our guest enjoy. We take pride in knowing that we fulfilled your expectations. I will be sure to share this feedback with all our friendly and passionate team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ivory Tree for another therapeutic and refreshing getaway.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 12 173
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 12 173
16.5 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 14 219
R 13 818
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 13 818
17.3 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
R 8 794
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 794
16.6 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Small but beautiful garden
R 1 384
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 384
11.8 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 7 540
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
20.9 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
6.5 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 165
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 703
16.5 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 5 468
  • Trip.com
19.9 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 542
10.2 km from Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Reviews (1 477)
Filter reviews
1 477 results
Traveller rating
1 018
308
98
25
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 018
308
98
25
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower wonderful experience his knowledge safari experience game lodge buffet style every meal morning and evening great safari south africa his job evening drive the reserve food was amazing sun city ranger guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 1 477 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2024

We had a memorable second visit to Ivory Tree. We had amazing game drives with our guide Sipho, including a superb sighting of a leopard.
The quality of the food is average and the preparation does not feel like it comes from a highly skilled kitchen. Some meals were particularly poor. There was a lamb dish at lunchtime that I couldn't eat, it had unrendered white fat. It had either only been cooked in a sous vide or spent too little time in the oven. A lamb dish like that slow cooked should be delicious.
There were also too few staff in the restaurant, it sometimes took a long time to get service. That said, the staff are very helpful and friendly. Just not enough of them.
The hotel rooms are amazing, love to bush views and outdoor shower.
It would be a major improvement to add a gym. There is only a certain amount of time I can spend eating and sitting, two days is probably my limit. It would be different if there was a gym.

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank toolmanntadgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Dear Toolmanntadgh

Compliments of the season!

Thank you for the return visit to Ivory Tree. Glad to hear that it was a memorable one as usual. We have noted the suggestions and the constructive sentiments highlighted, and we will address accordingly with the concerned department heads and their team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in future.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2023

The lodge is lovely, a real treat! Beautiful private rooms with an outdoor shower. Evening service every night to prepare your room for the night make you feel very special.
Game drives are wonderful and our guide, Aiden, was very knowledgeable and always went the extra mile! He also stop for birds if there are birders on the trip.
Meals are great and all staff are very friendly.
The only thing missing was a waterig hole to watch animals from the lodge.

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bvente137254
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Dear Bvente

Compliments of the season!

Thank you for recognizing and appreciating our beautiful lodge. We are immensely happy, as we always prepare and execute everything with great care from check-in to check-out to surprise and serve all our guests with excellence.

We are planning to incorporate a waterhole for our guests to view and enjoy wildlife without having to venture into the reserve.

Once again, thank you for the compliments and enjoy the year ahead.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2023

Could not fault our time at Ivory Tree Game Lodge!

My friend and I had been travelling for a year and decided to end our travels with a luxury safari and it certainly did not disappoint.

I have been lucky enough to on a number of safaris previously but this was my top rated. I have never seen such an abundance of predators! Also to see a thriving rhino population was incredible. Cannot thank our guide Tanya enough! Amazing.

The spa was also incredible, I had a hydro boost facial and couldn’t fault my experience. The staff even chased the monkeys that had trapped me as I was leaving.

Every meal, every staff member, every dip in the pool was outstanding!

Hope to return in the future.

Room tip: Definitely recommend booking transfers from Johannesburg so you do not have to hire a car.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dreamer04328101725
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2023

Dear Dreamer04

We would like to thank you for choosing Ivory Tree Game Lodge as your safari destination. We are very elated to know that the experience was exceptional, and appreciate all the compliments on our superb and hospitable team. Your lovely feedback has been shared with all our team members to ensure they are encouraged to maintain the same level of service to all our guests.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you and create some more memorable experiences.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2023

Fantastic stay! Food great, accommodation comfortable and clean. Staff friendly and helpful but, most of all the game drive! LouAnn, our guide for the evening and morning drive was amazing! So knowledgeable and really went that extra mile to make sure we got the very best experience. Only negatives - locks on patio doors not secure and the safe did not work. Would also be good to have al a carte in the evening too.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Stay67869047849
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2023

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for this heart-warming review.

For each of us, the guest experience matters the most and such kind words of our efforts by our guests drives us to do it consistently and even better.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ivory Tree sometime in future.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2023 via mobile

I am very fortunate to have revisited this amazing hotel just under a year from my last visit and wow it did not disappoint. The room, the staff and the food were all beyond reproach. It was perfection last time and perfection once again. This time the hotel was full but the service never wavered. The Rangers who take you into the park are all highly knowledgeable and really add so much to the experience.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AndrewHarvey60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafadzwa Manyowa, General Manager at Ivory Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2023

Dear AndrewHarvey60

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

It is delightful to hear that you had a wonderful experience at Ivory Tree Game Lodge. We are devoted to curating extraordinary experiences for our guests with the finest personal service and a warm, relaxed, yet refined ambience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
Ivory Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews