We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Leopard Resorts - Bakgatla Resort
Nearby Hotels
Bakubung Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)(Great Value!)
US$370
US$320
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
US$685
US$362
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tented Adventures Pilanesberg(Pilanesberg National Park)(Great Value!)
US$276
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tshukudu Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
US$718
US$694
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)(Great Value!)
US$320
US$310
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morokolo Game Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
US$506
US$463
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ivory Tree Game Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
US$523
US$507
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lush Private Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
US$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valley View Guest House(Pilanesberg National Park)
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Buffalo Thorn Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
US$1 214
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
36
64
49
32
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
64
49
32
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsextra spacedaily servicelong grasscamping tripstaff welcominggreat campingopen areasparkling cleanearly game driveexcellent weekendcleaned dailybraai areaair conplenty gamevervet monkeyscamp sites arepower points
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Had a fantastic camping weekend at Bakgatla. From the moment we arrived, we were welcomed by some of the most friendliest staff I have come across.

We made sure that we arrived early on the morning of our arrival in order to secure a good camp site. (The campsite was sold out for the long weekend). Most of the sites are in good condition, however, some of the sites are in terrible condition. The rain has caused the erosion of some pretty deep gullies in some of the sites, so one needs to ensure they choose a good site to pitch their tents. Other than that, the campsite as a whole was clean, the staff were friendly and cleaned our braai every morning. The fellow campers were very respectful and kept the noise levels to a minimum.

The park itself was in beautiful condition, however with the long grass, game viewing was tricky at times.

Overall, had a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank cameront331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naledi1, Guest Relations Officer at Golden Leopard Resorts - Bakgatla Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear Valued Guests

Thank you for taking time to complete our questionnaire and to comment on it.The fact that you mentioned our resort without doubt,we love to read that you have enjoyed all the services you have been offered.Wish to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Will most definitely return to this camping site. The grounds were kept clean as well as the ablution facilities. The only problem e had was the camping sites are not clearly marked so we didn't clearly know where our sites start and ends. the monkeys are also a problem so be aware and please ask the people not to feed them.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sandraaO8729NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naledi1, Guest Relations Officer at Golden Leopard Resorts - Bakgatla Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear Valued Guests

Thank you for taking time to complete our questionnaire and to comment on it and we acknowledge.The fact that you mentioned our resort without doubt,we love to read that you have enjoyed all the services you have been offered.Wish to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

What a disappointment. I booked 5x electrified camping stands for a family reunion of 25 people. I was informed that stands cannot be reserved. We therefore decided to book from 26 April to ensure we can secure an area as per booking. When we arrived, half the camp was reserved for the Jakaranda Caravan club?? We were directed to the electrified tent campsite. This is the worst campsite/area ever. None of the campsites are even (the entire camp is actually on a slope with ditches where rocks and bricks were in some instances used for filling of holes etc), the campsites are not marked, there are not enough power points, there are absolutely "NO" grass, the ground is infested with thorns, the braai`s are rusted, there are no lights and the entire bush experience is spoiled with loud music from nearby town carrying-on until 4am in the morning. This resort is in need of a serious make-over/revamp. I will never return and cannot recommend.......it is going to be a mission to try to get rid of thorns on camping equipment, car interior, shoes etc.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KobievD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naledi1, Guest Relations Officer at Golden Leopard Resorts - Bakgatla Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear Valued Guests

Thank you for taking time to complete our questionnaire and to comment on it.We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you as your feedback is very extremely valuable to us, therefore it is a pleasure to announce that we are in a process of fulfilling many of these maintenance issues. Our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere to all our guests. We promise to attend to all concerns raised in your reviews and hope that this will convince you to change your mind about another visit to our resort.Once again, thank you for your comments. We are striving on a daily basis to improve the guest experience at Bakgatla and therefore appreciate the inputs received by our regular visitors.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Very enjoyable, would like to visit again, would recommend it to everybody. Close to Pretoria, so can go for only one day. Saw lions, leopard, elephants and heard lions catch a zebra, could not see it

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 846ankier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

From the Security Guard at the gate to the cleaning staff, the welcome at Bakgatla was friendly and welcoming. The cottages are neat, spotless and the beds are comfortable with beautifully crisp white linen. There are plenty of playgrounds for children, a large swimming pool and shop for all the little items you may have forgotten to pack.
Breakfast is served from 07h00 until 10h00 which accommodates the early game drive enthusiasts.
There were two occasions where loud music disturbed us but clearly management were equally disturbed and it was promptly turned down.

Room Tip: There are a number of room overlooking the children's playground. If you are travelling with little ones I would suggest you request one.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susangE4967XZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews