We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mariekelly2016
Vancouver, Canada

Remarkable Little Gem!

Review of Tambuti Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 May 2024
I can’t say enough about this game lodge. It is large enough to have everything you want and yet with only 10 guests (5 rooms) you get a very personal and private experience. The staff thought of everything you might need from personal touches in your room, to an open bar and free laundry service! The food was stunning in its presentation and as good as any 5 star restaurant I’ve been to. My room was spotless with a huge shower with lots of hot water. The turndown service was very nice and I looked forward to the tasty piece of fudge awaiting my return to my room. Nolu made me feel at home right away, greeted us with warm towels after each safari, was great at starting our campfire - both the fire and the conversation. Both the morning and evening drives were top quality with a hot water bottle and blankets if it was chilly - and a bar half way through the evening drive to celebrate being out in nature. Martin was so knowledgeable as a guide, patient with our endless questions and really in tune with the animals.
If you want a nice few days at a game lodge close to Johannesburg I highly recommend it. In fact I recommend a trip to South Africa just to visit this team at Tambuti!
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Great for couples but also for singles - it’s quaint enough to make everyone at home!
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tambuti Lodge, General Manager at Tambuti Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 01 Jun 2024
Dear Mariekelly2016,

Oh wow! What a great review. Thank you so much for taking the time to go into details about your experience with us and also for highly recommending us. We are thrilled! We aim to keep up with the standard.

Regards,
Tambuti team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 13 712
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 13 712
14.7 km from Tambuti Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 13 654
  • Expedia.com
    R 14 170
  • Algotels
    R 11 631
  • Trip.com
15.6 km from Tambuti Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
campground pool
R 3 232
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 232
  • eDreams
    R 3 232
15.2 km from Tambuti Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 13 150
  • Agoda.com
    R 13 150
21.3 km from Tambuti Lodge
Diphororo Guest House
R 1 000
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 000
28.3 km from Tambuti Lodge
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 13 943
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Tambuti Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 8 120
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Tambuti Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 463
  • travelup.com
21.3 km from Tambuti Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Terrance
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 548
  • Agoda.com
31.4 km from Tambuti Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 545
25.3 km from Tambuti Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Reviews (948)
Filter reviews
948 results
Traveller rating
911
30
4
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
911
30
4
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives black rhino reserve private dinner attention to detail other guests whole team wonderful experience game driver our honeymoon out of this world treated like royalty his knowledge bubble bath blown away food was amazing safari experience went the extra mile
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 948 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2024

Wow, Wow, Wow - nothing more to say.

The perfect, luxury private lodge in Black Rhino Reserve in Pilanesberg.

You will feel part of the family from start to finish. All the staff go out of their way to make you stay perfect.

The lodge is beautiful and looks better in real life then the pictures. Rooms are huge, with such comfy beds - defiantly in our top 3 best holiday beds (I am now over 57 countries and we go away 6-8 x year) so this says a lot. The pool area is so good to relax after breakfast between game drives.

The game drives are fun, well planned and show the vast diversity of the park. Even being from England and the temperature being 15 degrees we had gloves, 3 layers and the blanket on the 2nd and 3rd morning drives - in May. For the afternoon you will be fine - light jacket incase wind little cool on the drive back after the sun goes down.

Food - delicious - so good - you will put weight on with breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner - WHAT NO LUNCH - afternoon tea is more than enough.

Loved every minute here We did 3 nights with 2 full days of game drive with pm one on arrival and am one pre leaving. We felt this was the perfect length of stay.

Sandra from Traipsing South Africa Tours organised this trip with transport and I am so glad we picked this lodge for 3 night and not 2.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tambuti Lodge, General Manager at Tambuti Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2024

Dear 673robing,

Thank you so much for writing us such a great review. It is our aim to treat every guest as part of our family. We are grateful that your stay with us was perfect from the beginning to the end. Thank you for your recommendations.

Regards,
Tambuti team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2024

We have visited Tambuti many times and each time is an absolute treat! The staff are amazing, the food is delicious and we are always made to feel extra special. We were surprised with a private dinner in our room which was amazing! We will definitely be back again!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tambuti Lodge, General Manager at Tambuti Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2024

Dear Jenny,

We feel very honored by your multiple visits at Tambuti, and still manage to amaze you with what we do. You are indeed one of our special guests that we regard as part of our family. We looking forward to your next visit. Thank you very much!

Regards,
Tambuti team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2024

Very kind staff, beautiful room, good food and drinks. The park is beautiful and the guide exactly knew where to find the animals. Mind blowing views of nature.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tambuti Lodge, General Manager at Tambuti Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

Dear dave04958YU

Thank you for the glowing review! We're thrilled you had an exceptional safari experience with us. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Tambuti lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2024

Beautiful location and facilities, lovely accommodations, great food, super attentive and friendly staff. Wouldn't change a thing! The guides were fun, knowledgeable, and informative, and the park is stunning and we saw lots of animals.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T5092OJryanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tambuti Lodge, General Manager at Tambuti Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2024

Dear T50920Jryanh

Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope to hear from you again to make more memories.

Many thanks,
Tambuti lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2024

We loved Tambuti Lodge, we experienced exceptional hospitality, beautiful food and incredible scenery and wildlife.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Guide42811132567
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tambuti Lodge, General Manager at Tambuti Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2024

Dear Guide42811132567,

We are thrilled with your exceptional review and we hope to see you back again in future. It was a great pleasure to host you.

Regards,
Tambuti team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews