We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Maynav G

More Than Just a Lodge

Review of Tambuti Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 04 Jan 2024
We will never forget our stay at the Tambuti Lodge. From the moment Marcia greeted us at the door to the time we hugged her and Martin goodbye at the door, we loved every minute. The accommodations were exceptional. The food was delicious and offered unique flavors that represented the area. The staff was delightful. The common areas were beautiful and kept so clean. We enjoyed our nightly gatherings with the other guests at the bar. But, most of all, the safari rides with Martin stole the show. His knowledge of the reserve and the national park was unbelievable and his enthusiasm was so contagious. In our three night stay, we saw the big 5 and so much more. If we are able to go back to South Africa one day, the Tambuti Lodge will definitely be visited again. We are so grateful for having this experience and will hold it in our hearts forever.
Date of stay: December 2023
Room Tip: Bring & wear sunscreen. Layer clothing & bring a light long sleeve shirt to protect from the sun....
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tambuti Lodge, General Manager at Tambuti Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 05 Jan 2024
Dear maynavg2020

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such an awesome review. We really appreciate it.
We are delighted to read that you had an unforgettable stay with us. I will certainly pass on your compliments to Marcia, Martin and the rest of the team.
We will be thrilled to welcome you back to Tambuti Lodge during your next visit to South Africa.

All the best from all of us at Tambuti Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Reviews (947)
Filter reviews
947 results
Traveller rating
910
30
4
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
910
30
4
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives black rhino reserve private dinner attention to detail other guests whole team wonderful experience game driver our honeymoon out of this world treated like royalty his knowledge bubble bath blown away food was amazing safari experience went the extra mile
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 947 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2024

Wonderful Christmas weekend. Accomodation is stunning and comfortable. The staff are friendly and go the extra mile. The chef was accomodating to dietery preferences and catered for items that we do not eat. Homey feeling while still being away.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paradise55178470183
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tambuti Lodge, General Manager at Tambuti Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Dear Paradise55178470183,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are very delighted that you chose to spend Christmas with us and that we made you feel at home. We always aim to go over and above for all our guests to ensure that they have the best experience with us, from the accommodation, the friendliness and the food. We will pass on a special thanks to all of them.

Regards,
Tambuti team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2024

The entire Tambuti Lodge team provided an incredible experience for myself and my friends. The safari excursions were breathtaking and tailored to what we wanted to see, the accommodations were stellar, and the catering from the head chefs was EXCELLENT. I would recommend Tambuti to anyone taking a trip to South Africa.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank nico-robben
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tambuti Lodge, General Manager at Tambuti Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Thank you so much. It was our absolute pleasure to ensure you have many unforgettable memories from your time at Tambuti Lodge.
We look forward to your next visit and creating more special moments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2024

The team at Tambuti are exceptional with great gourmet meals, drinks and housekeeping services. They offer 2 safari rides per day and it is very well planned. We were elated to see all big 5 in one session (early morning - which is very rare).
Kudos to Marcia- the Asst Manager, Martin - our safari guide and housekeeping & kitchen staff.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Trail14197645954
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tambuti Lodge, General Manager at Tambuti Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Dear Trail14197645954,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review. We are pleased that you had an exceptional service here in Tambuti, from the great gourmet meals, housekeeping and game drives. We will pass on a special thanks to Marcia, Martin and the rest of the staff.

Regards,
Tambuti team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2024

Tambuti was a 5 star experience. From the time we arrived at the lodge we were treated to a highly personalized service. We were lucky enough to witness the Big 5 during our outings. The food served at the restaurant was gourmet. We are very thankful to the entire staff.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tambuti Lodge, General Manager at Tambuti Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Dear Pearre,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and for rating us 5 star. We do our best to give all our guests a highly personalized service, from the minute they arrive, the food, game drives and to the good byes. We will pass on a special thanks to the entire staff.

Regards,
Tambuti team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2024 via mobile

We booked our Safari through Sandra at Traipsing Africa. We had an awesome time here. It was so personalised.
Marcia who was the Manage there, was the "Shinning Jewel in the Crown" that is Tambuti. She made us feel totally at home, nothing was too much trouble. Such a pleasure to see everyday, with her wide beaming smile.
The food was delicious and loads of it. Everyone there were super friendly and obliging.
We do & will continue to recommend people to stay here.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 694shereer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tambuti Lodge, General Manager at Tambuti Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Dear 694shereer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We are very pleased that you had an awesome and personalized time with us. We will pass on a special thanks to Marcia and all the staff members. Thank you for recommending Tambuti.

Regards,
Tambuti team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews