We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Derrick K

Best Holiday Ever

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
We spent a weekend at this marvelous place and my wife just cannot stop raving about it, from arrival at Reception where the friendly lady kept our luggage and showed us to the dining area where we met friendly and helpful waiters. The lady from reception came to call us when the room was ready and we were escorted to the room by a friendly luggage man, the room was well laid out and clean, and wifi working well in the room. the food was delicious especially the lamb on the spit on Friday evening, we then went for the boma dinner on Saturday with marimba entertainment and dancers, this is a must do when staying at Bakubung Lodge. the highlight for me was the hand written birthday note from the General Manager, especially that my wife did not tell the reservation lady the reason for our visit. I filled in my details at reception on check in and they must have picked it up then. The game drives were informative and they provide a blanket for the cold evenings. We also visited the Spa and the service was excellent. All I can say is amazing and we will be coming back!
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julandé Maré, Guest Services / Front Office at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Derrickk,

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review of your stay at Bakubung Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you and your wife had an exceptional experience with us.

It is heartwarming to know that our team at Reception made a positive impression from the moment you arrived. We are proud of our staff's dedication to providing warm and friendly service, and it's great to hear they made you feel welcome.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your dining experiences, especially the lamb on the spit and the boma dinner with marimba entertainment and dancers. These special touches are designed to create memorable moments for our guests, and we are glad you found them to be highlights of your stay.

Your mention of the handwritten birthday note from our General Manager brings us immense joy. We strive to personalize each guest’s experience, and it is gratifying to know our efforts made your stay extra special.

The positive feedback about the game drives and the Spa services is much appreciated. We are thrilled that you found the game drives informative and the Spa services excellent.

Thank you once again for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung Lodge soon.

Warm regards,
Julandé
Guest Relations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 14 082
R 12 144
  • Expedia.com
    R 12 606
  • Hotels.com
    R 12 606
  • Priceline
    R 12 144
20.8 km from Bakubung Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View off the Executive Suite
R 5 250
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 250
  • eDreams
    R 5 250
  • Expedia.com
21.1 km from Bakubung Bush Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Terrance
R 1 548
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
21.6 km from Bakubung Bush Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 7 850
  • Priceline
    R 7 850
  • Agoda.com
    R 7 850
  • Vio.com
    R 7 850
22.0 km from Bakubung Bush Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Diphororo Guest House
R 1 000
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 000
21.5 km from Bakubung Bush Lodge
R 13 712
  • Priceline
    R 13 711
  • Agoda.com
    R 13 712
13.5 km from Bakubung Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 13 150
  • Agoda.com
    R 13 150
0.1 km from Bakubung Bush Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 11 270
  • Hotels.com
    R 9 973
  • Trip.com
    R 11 330
21.3 km from Bakubung Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 545
19.4 km from Bakubung Bush Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Reviews (1 293)
Filter reviews
1 293 results
Traveller rating
674
447
98
45
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
674
447
98
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sun city game drives time share bush lodge breakfast and dinner water hole self drive south africa pilansberg game reserve close proximity buffet style boma dinner kwa maritane park elephants safari waterhole
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1 293 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the Villas are exceptional , good value for money
great location
easy access to sun city
accommodation is generous
Pilanesberg nature reserve offers a nice addition; game sparse but still very pleasant
staff were friendly
overall stay was excellent

Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbielynnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julandé Maré, Guest Services / Front Office at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Debbielynnu,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent family vacation at Bakubung Villas. We are delighted to hear that you found our villas exceptional and a good value for money.

We are glad that our location, with its easy access to Sun City, added to the convenience of your stay. It's wonderful to know that you appreciated the generous accommodation and that you found Pilanesberg Nature Reserve to be a pleasant addition to your experience.
Your kind words about our friendly staff mean a lot to us, as we strive to provide excellent service to all our guests.

We are thrilled to hear that your overall stay was excellent. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Bakubung Villas for another memorable stay.

Warm regards,
Julandé
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2024

What an absolute gem of a place. Stayed at this lodge from 31st May to 5th June. Cannot fault it at all. The staff were super friendly and helpful, i was celebrating my 40th Birthday with my mum and son. We had a room that over looked the waterhole, we saw an elephant come and drink from it, aswell as warthogs everyday and a family of waterbucks. The safari's are well organized with tea/coffee and rusk available in the morning before setting off and then a short break during the safari to have another drink and snacks. Safari's last around 3 hours each morning and afternoon, morning was 6am, afternoon 3pm due to the daytime hours, this does change depending on what time of year you go. The rangers are so knowledgeable and very friendly, many have worked there for years and you can tell they love it. Each ranger was telling us different facts about the animals, their behaviors, the park itself and the trees. We had 4 different rangers on our 5 trips out, Francois, Taryn, and two others, sorry forgotten names but they were brilliant, esp the guy who has worked for the park for 15years and told us alot about the history of the park which i really enjoyed.
Plenty of choice for breakfast and evening meal, the boma dinner was a nice treat included in the half board package, a lovely meal, fire and entertainment on the night. You only need to pay for drinks with dinner/lunch, breakfast drinks all included in. We took a visit to the elephant sanctuary around an hour and half away, it was a great experience and the reception staff were extremely helpful in helping to organise transport and use of the telephone to book our tickets. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff. Everyone had a smile, very friendly always asked about our safari and what we saw, the rooms are cleaned twice a day, and as it is winter in SA now the evenings were chilly, the maids would put the heating on for you so coming back to a nice warm room. This is a truly lovely place with great staff and food, i would definitely visit again. Thank you all.

Room tip: try getting a room overlooking waterhole, its well worth it. Pool water is cold, May- Sept- its winter in South Africa. Take coats, fleece
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julandé Maré, Guest Services / Front Office at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2024

Dear 350amnat,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed and glowing review of your recent stay at Bakubung Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional experience celebrating your 40th birthday with your family.
It brings us immense joy to know that our staff’s friendliness and helpfulness left a positive impression on you.
We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed the wildlife sightings from your room and found our game-drives well-organized and informative. Our rangers, including Francois and Taryn, will be thrilled to hear your kind words about their knowledge and passion.
We are glad that our dining options, including the boma dinner, met your expectations.
It’s wonderful to hear that you appreciated the extra touches like the evening room heating during the winter season.

Your praise motivates us to maintain and improve our high standards of service. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bakubung Lodge in the future.

Warm regards,
Julandé
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2024

Bakubung has outstanding facilities, beautiful accommodation, excellent restaurant, and great wildlife experiences. We enjoyed the drives with knowledgable Taryn, the guide. Bona dinner in the bush was a treat. We saw lots of game, lions. Elephants, rhinos, a leopard and cheetah with two cubs.

Room tip: Tar roads have many potholes, gravel roads are good
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julandé Maré, Guest Services / Front Office at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2024

Dear elsad511,

We are thrilled to hear that you had an excellent experience at Bakubung Lodge.

Your kind words about our facilities, accommodation, and restaurant mean a lot to us. It's fantastic to know that you enjoyed the wildlife drives with our knowledgeable guide, Taryn, and that the Boma dinner in the bush was a memorable highlight.

We are delighted that you were able to see such an impressive array of wildlife, including lions, elephants, rhinos, a leopard, and a cheetah with her cubs. Your experience is exactly what we strive to provide for our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to Bakubung Lodge in the future for more unforgettable adventures.

Warm regards,
Julandé
Guest Relations Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2024

Our family had a wonderful stay at Bakubung Bush Lodge. The beautiful surroundings and peaceful atmosphere made for a perfect escape. The staff were welcoming and the accommodations were comfortable. We enjoyed the tasty meals and thrilling game drives. Great for a family adventure!😁👍

Room tip: just bring along warm coats and you are all set😁👍
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua tan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julandé Maré, Guest Services / Front Office at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2024

Dear Joshuatanv,

Thank you for sharing your delightful review of Bakubung Bush Lodge. We are thrilled to hear that your family had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the beautiful surroundings and peaceful atmosphere.

Our team takes great pride in providing welcoming service and comfortable accommodation, and we are pleased that you found both to your satisfaction. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed our meals and found the game drives thrilling.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another adventure in the future.

Warm regards,
Julandé
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2024

Excellent location. It is a very nice hotel for those who want to go on safari with the family. Since it is located in the Pilanesberg National Park, you can see elephants, antelopes, mongooses and many bird species while at the hotel. The hotel's own safari programs are very suitable for families, we saw more than 90% of the must-see species, including the big five.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank asfur31
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julandé Maré, Guest Services / Front Office at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2024

Dear Asfur31,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review of Bakubung Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us.

It brings us great joy to know that you appreciated our location within the Pilanesberg National Park and had the opportunity to witness a diverse array of wildlife, including elephants, antelopes, mongooses, and many bird species. Our team strives to create memorable experiences for our guests, and we are thrilled that our safari programs met your expectations and allowed you to see more than 90% of the must-see species.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Bakubung Lodge in the future for another unforgettable safari adventure.

Warm regards,
Julandé
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews