We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 5 090
Hotels.com
R 6 340
Fully refundable before Fri, 19 Apr
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
StayForLong
R 4 552
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Isaac M
Memorial experience we had at your premises.
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Feb 2024
I am Orapeleng Motlhale from Carletonville Gauteng last year July, we had great.
experience right from the reception staff what a warmly welcome we received from them, going to the rooms good housekeeping from the staff. we had awesome dining experience as well food varieties excellent buffet menu well done to the chefs. Game driver professionalism and passion shown by Mpho knowledgeable. he was explained in detail we had great time I don't' mind doing the tour more than once.

Lastly it was the Boma night food was excellent compliments to the chefs and the music as well excellent thanks to the management and staff for making us to enjoy our stay. defiantly we will come again, first impression last and you will defiantly attract guest locally and internationally.

Regards
Mr. Orapeleng Motlhale
Date of stay: July 2023
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
R 15 720
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 15 351
  • StayForLong
    R 13 544
  • Hotels.com
    R 15 720
5.8 km from Bakubung Bush Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
R 13 712
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 13 712
13.5 km from Bakubung Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 12 130
R 10 657
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    R 12 130
  • Expedia.com
    R 12 096
  • Priceline
9.3 km from Bakubung Bush Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 15 480
R 12 144
  • Hotels.com
    R 15 480
  • Expedia.com
    R 14 293
  • Priceline
20.8 km from Bakubung Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 14 160
  • Agoda.com
0.1 km from Bakubung Bush Lodge
Booking.com
R 9 471
  • Hotels.com
    R 9 495
  • Expedia.com
    R 9 495
  • Tripadvisor
    R 9 495
21.9 km from Bakubung Bush Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
R 1 545
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 545
  • Booking.com
19.4 km from Bakubung Bush Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 8 450
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
22.0 km from Bakubung Bush Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
    R 1 098
  • Priceline
17.3 km from Bakubung Bush Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Reviews (1 274)
Filter reviews
1 275 results
Traveller rating
658
446
98
45
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
658
446
98
45
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sun city game drives time share bush lodge breakfast and dinner water hole self drive south africa pilansberg game reserve close proximity buffet style boma dinner kwa maritane park elephants safari waterhole
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1 275 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2024

I just spent an amazing weekend at this lodge with my family. Driving through the township before getting to the lodge made us a bit skeptical, but as soon as we got to the lodge we were blown away. This place is beautiful and offers one an authentic bush experience, and regardless of how busy the place was, we did not at any stage feel neglected. The service was great from reception to the restaurant, the food was great and offered a variety on the buffet, they have a menu as an alternative option to buffet. To top it off was the excellent game drive and the bush boma dinner on Saturday evening. We will be back for sure.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Curiosity11040976931
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julandé Maré, Guest Services / Front Office at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Dear Curiosity from Pretoria,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bakubung Lodge. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family had an amazing weekend with us.
It's wonderful to know you were pleasantly surprised by the beauty and authenticity of our lodge. 
 
We take great pride in providing exceptional service, and it's heartening to hear that you felt well taken care of from reception to the restaurant. Our team works hard to ensure that every guest feels valued and attended to.
 
We're delighted that you enjoyed the variety and quality of food options available, both on the buffet and from our menu. The game drive and bush boma dinner are indeed highlights of the Bakubung experience, and we're pleased that they added to your enjoyment of your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soonest!

Warm Regards
Julandé Maré
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2024

We’ve just had an excellent 3 night stay at the Lodge.
The rooms are very comfortable and roomy.
The food is generally good and an a La carte menu is available if you tire of the evening buffet.
Included in our half board booking was a game drive each day, we took part in both evening and morning drives. The guides were knowledgeable as you would expect and found us the Big Five except the Buffaloes which were in a different part of Pilanesberg this time of year.
All in all a great stay.

Room tip: About a 2 1/2 drive from JBG airport.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julandé Maré, Guest Services / Front Office at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2024

Dear Andyb911

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Bakubung Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable rooms, diverse dining options, and memorable game drives with our knowledgeable guides. Sorry about the Buffaloes, but we hope the rest of the sightings made up for it.

Thank you for staying with us and we “The people of the Hippo”look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay!

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2024

Great place to stay and go for safari.
Food was good and staff really friendly even they were busy all the time.
Minus thing is that when going to morning safaris there is only hot water available for coffee & tea. No snacks at all even for purchase.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ruonanoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julandé Maré, Guest Services / Front Office at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2024

Dear Ruonanoja

Thank you for choosing Bakubung Lodge for your safari adventure! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the good food, and the friendly staff. Your feedback regarding the morning safari is valuable and we will certainly explore options to enhance the experience by offering snacks.

Thank you for the feedback and we hope to welcome you back for another memorable stay.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2024

My stay at Bakubung lodge was fantastic! The place was peaceful, the staff were friendly, and the food was tasty. I loved the cozy rooms and the beautiful surroundings. The surrounding nature was breathtaking, providing the perfect backdrop for a relaxing vacation. I'd definitely recommend it for a relaxing getaway!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julandé Maré, Guest Services / Front Office at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2024

Dear rishp2024

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Bakubung Lodge. We take pride in providing relaxing and memorable stays, and we are delighted to hear that we have achieved exactly that. It is wonderful to know that our tranquil surroundings provided the perfect backdrop to a relaxing vacation.

Thank you for choosing Bakubung Lodge, and we can’t wait to welcome you back for another relaxing stay.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2024 via mobile

We loved our time at Bakubung Lodge, the rooms are spacious and well appointed and the food is really nice, we stayed for 4 nights so got the opportunity to go on 8 game drives, we saw a wide variety of animals and lots of them, the experience far exceeded our expectations.
We were able to go on the Boma Braii and the food was delicious.
We also experienced the spa and had a very professional service.
We loved the pool and had a room that overlooked it.
It was a trip of a lifetime but we would love to visit again one day!

Room tip: Try to be there on a Saturday night for the Boma Braii.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Climber34067267766
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julandé Maré, Guest Services / Front Office at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2024

Dear Climber34067267766

Thank you for choosing Bakubung Lodge for your family holiday. It is an absolute pleasure to hear that you had an amazing time with us, from the spacious well appointed rooms to the delicious food. The boma braai experience is always something special to look forward to, and we are happy to hear that our state of the art Spa provided professional service.

Thank you for this amazing feedback and for choosing us for your holiday destination. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews