We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the stay ...just a shame about the service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the stay ...just a shame about the service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2017

We loved our stay here and of a three week trip in SA this was one of the a highlights.

But this is despite the service at reception and bar staff - well one very rude lady. Restaurant team were great.

Upon check in the staff member practically shouted at me. I felt I should possibly apologise for checking in?!

She didn't give us any details that would have made our stay better and easier. Simple things like what time the park gate closes...e.g an hour after we checked in. Also if going to visit Sun City guests of Bakubung can obtain a pass at reception and not have to enter the main entry - which makes entering and parking at Sun City so easy. It just so happened the team at the Bakubung gate were nice enough to enquire what we were doing when we left and when we said going to Sun City - they asked did we have the special pass and directions to the special entry gate ( I understand these people work for a security company and not even Bakubung! They were great every time we left and came back).

Even then we went back to reception to get the gate passes the person at reception didn't ask if we knew where to go etc. Just really poor service.

The bar staff at the pool ignored us - she was staring at a piece of paper and when I said excuse me and asked about getting drinks - I got the hand - not eye contact - a hand and told to wait. I didn't - we left and I could hear what I imagine was a conversation then start about us.

However having said all of this - the lodge is great, overlooking a water hole, our room was great and the game viewing was fantastic plus the food and restaurant team we all good.

In fact the positives outweighed the service negatives to such a degree that we would love to return one day.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellinghamfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMokotedi, Rooms Division Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2017
Dear Ellinghamfam

We thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on Trip Advisor. We apologize for the inconvenience regarding the service from the reception and bar staff.

We take feedback very seriously and we assure you that this will be addressed as a matter of urgency.

Thank you for the positive feedback as well, we are glad to hear that the positives outweighed the negatives and we would be looking forward to welcoming you back in true Bakubung style.

Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung Bush Lodge.

Best Regards,
George Mokotedi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    291
    67
    23
    12
See reviews for
328
171
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2017

I stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Pilensberg Reserve.

Rooms are beautiful, food is great, and safari rides were excellent and saw a lot of animals. Drivers/ guides were very knowledgeable.

Very well run.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMokotedi, Rooms Division Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2017
Dear Howard K

Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we will certainly share the feedback with the team.

Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung Lodge and the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
George Mokotedi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017

This hotel has been sympathetically built to compliment the natural surroundings - right on the edge of Pilanesberg National Park. Service was wonderful, food was excellent, safaris were great. The room was adequate in size (a family room with two double beds - wish there was a bunk-bed option as our teenagers are not too keen on sharing) and overlooked gardens. A problem with the air-con was attended to and fixed immediately - good service. Pool is nice and refreshing. WiFi was on a limit (seems like most hotels in SA use this system) of 500MB but it was cheap to buy extra credit. I would definitely stay here again.
A stand-out staff member was Dorah van Rooi - she provided excellent service in the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

Just as last time. A great holiday. One rainy, almost chilly day resulted in the need for a mug of hot chocolate and a raincoat but otherwise a perfect temperature for the shorts! Some great wild life watching and close encounters with the elephants and Rhino. The weaver birds were in the trees around the lodge nesting this time and we were lucky enough to see Cheetah, a family of Mongoose and so many dung beetles that one ended up in the car. I wonder when I will be back again!

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollylola22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard,Cornwall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

My family and I loved it here!

Our room looked out on to the waterhole. As soon as we arrived there was an elephant called 'Amarula' right outside our room. It was amazing! Later in the day a family of Warthogs also came up really close to the fence.

The rooms are of a very high quality.

The game drives happen twice a day. I would recommend the morning one at 5.30am. Even though this is very early, it is the best time of day to see far more animals. It is also not too hot. The game drives last for 3 hours.

After returning from the game drive my family arrived back at the restaurant for breakfast and we had the awesome experience of sitting down to breakfast watching a herd of wildebeest just metres away from us.

I would definitely recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: Choose a room looking out on to the waterhole for the best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hammonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
9.2 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
3.8 km away
The Palace of the Lost City
4.2 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
4.5 km away
Cabanas
Cabanas
#5 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
5.7 km away
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
#6 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakubung Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakubung Bush Lodge

Property: Bakubung Bush Lodge
Address: Bakubung Gate, Pilanesberg National Park 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Price range (per night): R3 341 - R5 953
Hotel Class:5 star — Bakubung Bush Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere two-hour drive from the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg and ten minutes from Sun City, lies a place of breathtaking beauty and serenity. A place called Bakubung Bush Lodge. Concealed in the rich expanses of the malaria-free Pilanesberg National Park, Bakubung, or "People of the Hippo", offers guests everything they need to get in touch with the bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bakubung Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakubung Bush Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing