We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel - expensive but they all are.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great hotel - expensive but they all are.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Pilanesberg is a GREAT park. And of the mid-range lodges inside the park gates, Kwa Maritane is an excellent choice I think.

It is fairly large, not one of the week exclusive ($$$$) ones. It has several sets of rooms, maybe five or six, with a few rooms in a row. Some surround the pool and outdoors eating area, some are further back around a second pool and a bit quieter. We were in one of these, room 128, of you want a nice quiet room.

The rooms are thatched, burg ceilings, air con which is excellent. No mosquitoes, which is even e is an ensuite with bath and shower in each. The standard rooms are not huge, but are roomy enough. One of the hotel's real assets is a long underground tunnel to a watering hole hide. Last time I was here I saw a leopard take a waterbuck there, at 3am. Do go down a few times!

The Kwa Maritane game drives, 5.30am and 4.30pm are excellent. The open sided truck holds 18 guests, and their drivers are knowledgable and point out the sights. Each drive is three hours with a break in the middle.

The hotel will drive you to Sun City with is gob-smacking and worth the trip - about 150 rand for transport and Sun City entry fee.

The buffet food at Kwa Maritane is fine but nothing to write home about - all perfectly good for a family, lots of salads, raw meat they barbecue for you. If you are a 'foodie' you won't like it much, though. In New Zealand we have a chain restaurant called Valentines. The same sort of thing. Perfectly ok - good range of salads, meat, sweets are clearly a specialty, but all 'family food' but nothing special.

But really, you aren't there for the food, right?!

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BiddyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    198
    66
    26
    14
See reviews for
246
132
17
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very good and has amazing breakfast and dinner buffet, it has a nice pool and the rooms are very comfortable. The best part is the game drives, we were able to see lots of different animals, including lions, leopard, rhinos and elephants!

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The game viewing was good with very knowledgeable guides. I did book my daughter on the junior rangers course but was cancelled without any notice as well as the Boma braai. Also without notice. Disappointing.

My daughter enjoyed the pancakes in the morning, however generally the food was if poor quality considering the price of the resort.

To wait 20 minutes in an orderly line for eggs at breakfast is simply unacceptable for the circa $350 per night price tag.

One generally feels that the lodge relies on its position in the reserve to make up for shortcomings.

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jontully23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a little gem in the bush. We stayed here for New Year's Eve. The staff went out of there way to make it a very fun night. Tables were laid beautifully,we sat outside around the pool, were spoilt for choice with all the options for dinner. They had a live African band playing which was lovely and then a dj to finish the night off. They also had a photo booth. We had a fantastic night. The staff were very friendly.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sydneytribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous resort
On a large game reserve near Sun City
Where they do so many free shuttles to and from each day
And certainly worth a visit also!
Kwa Maritane is amazing with all the big 5
Lots of additional bird life
Awesome restaurants and the staff are all wonderful also on every level
We had a room with our own hot pool out the front totally private so we could watch the animals
Totally recommend this awesome hotel
Will come back for another week next year

Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LizzyDizzyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
9.2 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
4.9 km away
The Palace of the Lost City
5.8 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#3 of 6 in Sun City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.6 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
4.9 km away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
2.6 km away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge

Property: Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Address: Pilanesberg National Park 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Price range (per night): R3 879 - R5 567
Hotel Class:4 star — Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled beneath “the Rock”, from whence Kwa Maritane gets its name, this luxurious four star hotel offers excellent service, mouth-watering cuisine and spacious en-suite accommodation that exude elegance in true African style.Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge is located in malaria free Pilanesberg National Park, an easy 2 hour’s drive from Johannesburg and a mere 10 minutes from Sun City. This is the perfect setting for a relaxing family weekend away or for a corporate conference.Kwa Maritane Spa Rejuvenate your mind, body and soul in our magnificent Spa. Indulge yourself with treatments such as Thabayadiotso, our signature treatment, or be pampered with a pedicure while watching the game feeding on the plains in front of the Spa. Whether it is a full body massages, in which the masseur uses Mountain Aloe oil, or a soothing, deep cleansing facial using warm volcanic milk, the professional therapists will simply spoil you.There are four treatment rooms, including one suite suitable for couples looking to share the experience. There is also a manicure and pedicure lounge, a rasul chamber, relaxation area and hydro pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kwa Maritane Bush Hotel Rustenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing