We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - expensive but they all are.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Pilanesberg is a GREAT park. And of the mid-range lodges inside the park gates, Kwa Maritane is an excellent choice I think.

It is fairly large, not one of the week exclusive ($$$$) ones. It has several sets of rooms, maybe five or six, with a few rooms in a row. Some surround the pool and outdoors eating area, some are further back around a second pool and a bit quieter. We were in one of these, room 128, of you want a nice quiet room.

The rooms are thatched, burg ceilings, air con which is excellent. No mosquitoes, which is even e is an ensuite with bath and shower in each. The standard rooms are not huge, but are roomy enough. One of the hotel's real assets is a long underground tunnel to a watering hole hide. Last time I was here I saw a leopard take a waterbuck there, at 3am. Do go down a few times!

The Kwa Maritane game drives, 5.30am and 4.30pm are excellent. The open sided truck holds 18 guests, and their drivers are knowledgable and point out the sights. Each drive is three hours with a break in the middle.

The hotel will drive you to Sun City with is gob-smacking and worth the trip - about 150 rand for transport and Sun City entry fee.

The buffet food at Kwa Maritane is fine but nothing to write home about - all perfectly good for a family, lots of salads, raw meat they barbecue for you. If you are a 'foodie' you won't like it much, though. In New Zealand we have a chain restaurant called Valentines. The same sort of thing. Perfectly ok - good range of salads, meat, sweets are clearly a specialty, but all 'family food' but nothing special.

But really, you aren't there for the food, right?!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BiddyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 March 2017

Dear BiddyNZ
Thank you for the feedback, it is much appreciated. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Kwa Maritane. We are sure that you will visit us soon again and once again have a great experience during your stay!
Kind Regards
Danni Galli
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 95 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2017

The hotel is very good and has amazing breakfast and dinner buffet, it has a nice pool and the rooms are very comfortable. The best part is the game drives, we were able to see lots of different animals, including lions, leopard, rhinos and elephants!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick636, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Dear Caio P,
Thank you for the feedback provided - much appreciated. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed breakfast, dinner, nice pools ,rooms ,game drives and game viewing.
Once again, thank you and much appreciated.
Most regards,
Patrick Serakwane
Resort General Manager
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

The game viewing was good with very knowledgeable guides. I did book my daughter on the junior rangers course but was cancelled without any notice as well as the Boma braai. Also without notice. Disappointing.

My daughter enjoyed the pancakes in the morning, however generally the food was if poor quality considering the price of the resort.

To wait 20 minutes in an orderly line for eggs at breakfast is simply unacceptable for the circa $350 per night price tag.

One generally feels that the lodge relies on its position in the reserve to make up for shortcomings.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank jontully23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick636, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Dear jontully23
I would like to take this moment to thank you for the review received pertaining to your experience during your recent stay with us.
We have noted the issue around cancelled Junior ranger activity and bushbraai without notice as a concern. Please provide us with the details of your stay including room number and check in/out dates so we can fully investigate this and address it accordingly.
It is also a worry to hear that you waited 20 minutes for eggs. We encourage our guests to take it up with management while at the Lodge for shortfalls to be resolved immediately.
Apart from the above, I happy to hear that you enjoyed game drives.
Once again, thank you.
Most regards,
Patrick Serakwane
Resort General Manager
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

What a little gem in the bush. We stayed here for New Year's Eve. The staff went out of there way to make it a very fun night. Tables were laid beautifully,we sat outside around the pool, were spoilt for choice with all the options for dinner. They had a live African band playing which was lovely and then a dj to finish the night off. They also had a photo booth. We had a fantastic night. The staff were very friendly.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank sydneytribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick636, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Dear sydneytribe
Thank you for the feedback provided. It is so pleasant to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and mostly the new year's Eve arrangements. We are also pleased to know that the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Once again, thank you and wish to welcome you back to Kwa Maritane.
Most regards,
Patrick Serakwane
Resort General Manager
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Fabulous resort
On a large game reserve near Sun City
Where they do so many free shuttles to and from each day
And certainly worth a visit also!
Kwa Maritane is amazing with all the big 5
Lots of additional bird life
Awesome restaurants and the staff are all wonderful also on every level
We had a room with our own hot pool out the front totally private so we could watch the animals
Totally recommend this awesome hotel
Will come back for another week next year

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank LizzyDizzyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick636, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Dear LizzyDizzyPerth
Thank you for the time and efforts to send us feedback. We are happy to hear that you had pleasant experience during your recent stay with us. We have taken note that you enjoyed bird life, our restaurant, wonderful staff, hot pool, and views.
Once again, thank you so much and wish to welcome you back on your next week's holiday.
Most regards,
Patrick Serakwane
Resort General Manager
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
9.2 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
837 reviews
5.4 km away
The Palace of the Lost City
5.1 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.6 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
2.7 km away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
367 reviews
5.5 km away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#3 of 6 in Sun City
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge

Address: Pilanesberg National Park 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range: R4 550 - R6 734 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled beneath “the Rock”, from whence Kwa Maritane gets its name, this luxurious four star hotel offers excellent service, mouth-watering cuisine and spacious en-suite accommodation that exude elegance in true African style.Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge is located in malaria free Pilanesberg National Park, an easy 2 hour’s drive from Johannesburg and a mere 10 minutes from Sun City. This is the perfect setting for a relaxing family weekend away or for a corporate conference.Kwa Maritane Spa Rejuvenate your mind, body and soul in our magnificent Spa. Indulge yourself with treatments such as Thabayadiotso, our signature treatment, or be pampered with a pedicure while watching the game feeding on the plains in front of the Spa. Whether it is a full body massages, in which the masseur uses Mountain Aloe oil, or a soothing, deep cleansing facial using warm volcanic milk, the professional therapists will simply spoil you.There are four treatment rooms, including one suite suitable for couples looking to share the experience. There is also a manicure and pedicure lounge, a rasul chamber, relaxation area and hydro pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kwa Maritane Bush Hotel Rustenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing