We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$368
US$358
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$314
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soho Hotel(Sun City)
US$218
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$147
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$123
Travelocity
View Deal
The Kingdom Resort(Sun City)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bakubung Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveller rating
368
244
83
31
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
244
83
31
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground tunnelsun cityunderground hidegame driveswatering holewater holeboma braaithe reservetennis courtsgreat resortdinner buffetherd of elephantsself cateringgame parkbush lodgespent daystime share
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 746 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2017

The hotel is very good and has amazing breakfast and dinner buffet, it has a nice pool and the rooms are very comfortable. The best part is the game drives, we were able to see lots of different animals, including lions, leopard, rhinos and elephants!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick636, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Dear Caio P,
Thank you for the feedback provided - much appreciated. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed breakfast, dinner, nice pools ,rooms ,game drives and game viewing.
Once again, thank you and much appreciated.
Most regards,
Patrick Serakwane
Resort General Manager
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

The game viewing was good with very knowledgeable guides. I did book my daughter on the junior rangers course but was cancelled without any notice as well as the Boma braai. Also without notice. Disappointing.

My daughter enjoyed the pancakes in the morning, however generally the food was if poor quality considering the price of the resort.

To wait 20 minutes in an orderly line for eggs at breakfast is simply unacceptable for the circa $350 per night price tag.

One generally feels that the lodge relies on its position in the reserve to make up for shortcomings.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank jontully23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick636, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Dear jontully23
I would like to take this moment to thank you for the review received pertaining to your experience during your recent stay with us.
We have noted the issue around cancelled Junior ranger activity and bushbraai without notice as a concern. Please provide us with the details of your stay including room number and check in/out dates so we can fully investigate this and address it accordingly.
It is also a worry to hear that you waited 20 minutes for eggs. We encourage our guests to take it up with management while at the Lodge for shortfalls to be resolved immediately.
Apart from the above, I happy to hear that you enjoyed game drives.
Once again, thank you.
Most regards,
Patrick Serakwane
Resort General Manager
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

What a little gem in the bush. We stayed here for New Year's Eve. The staff went out of there way to make it a very fun night. Tables were laid beautifully,we sat outside around the pool, were spoilt for choice with all the options for dinner. They had a live African band playing which was lovely and then a dj to finish the night off. They also had a photo booth. We had a fantastic night. The staff were very friendly.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank sydneytribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick636, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Dear sydneytribe
Thank you for the feedback provided. It is so pleasant to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and mostly the new year's Eve arrangements. We are also pleased to know that the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Once again, thank you and wish to welcome you back to Kwa Maritane.
Most regards,
Patrick Serakwane
Resort General Manager
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Fabulous resort
On a large game reserve near Sun City
Where they do so many free shuttles to and from each day
And certainly worth a visit also!
Kwa Maritane is amazing with all the big 5
Lots of additional bird life
Awesome restaurants and the staff are all wonderful also on every level
We had a room with our own hot pool out the front totally private so we could watch the animals
Totally recommend this awesome hotel
Will come back for another week next year

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank LizzyDizzyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick636, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Dear LizzyDizzyPerth
Thank you for the time and efforts to send us feedback. We are happy to hear that you had pleasant experience during your recent stay with us. We have taken note that you enjoyed bird life, our restaurant, wonderful staff, hot pool, and views.
Once again, thank you so much and wish to welcome you back on your next week's holiday.
Most regards,
Patrick Serakwane
Resort General Manager
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed there for 3 nights as part of a private safari group. (18 people). This resort is located at the south end of the 57,000 acre reserve, not far from Sun City. We had 5 safaris all up during the 3 days, each one lasting about 3 hours. During that time and at the resort itself, we saw zebras, a leopard,elephants, jackals, wilder beasts, baboons, cudu, a crocodile, gemboks, springboks and hippos and rhinos. It was a fantastic place to stay and the food and service could not have been better. Highly highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Higher rooms near the pool area are good.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cervelogoldcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick636, General Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Dear cervelogoldcoast
I would like to take this time to thank you so much for the positive review. We are pleased to know that you had a great experience during your recent stay with us. It is also noted that you enjoyed game viewing, food, service and the resort as whole.
Thank you for your recommendations - much appreciated.
Most regards,
Patrick Serakwane
Resort General Manager
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews