We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Michael A

Wow! Wow! Wow!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Jun 2024
The people, the place, the game drives.

The food, the drinks, the atmosphere, and... did I mention... the people.

Everything. EVERY THING was 5-star, excellent, and personable.

My wife and I stayed for 3 days, and should have stayed for 4 or 5. It took us a day to get accustomed to the level of service, the excellence, the accommodations, and the new friends we were making.

From the quality of the food, to the excellence of the game drives, to the room and hot tub and sherry.... Again, wow, wow, wow!
Date of stay: June 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Michael A

Wow, wow, wow! Your enthusiastic review truly warms our hearts here at Mbazo. We are thrilled to hear that every aspect of your stay - from the people to the place and the game drives - exceeded your expectations.

It brings us immense joy to know that you and your wife experienced 5-star excellence in every detail of your visit. It's wonderful to hear that you found our food, drinks, atmosphere, and service to be nothing short of outstanding. We are delighted that you felt welcomed and made new friends during your stay.

Your kind words about the quality of our food, excellence of the game drives, accommodations, and amenities like the hot tub and sherry mean the world to us. We are grateful for your appreciation and thrilled to have created memorable moments for you both.

We understand that feeling of wanting to extend your stay, and we would be honored to welcome you back for a longer visit in the future. Thank you for choosing Mbazo and for sharing your exceptional experience with us.

Until we meet again, safe travels and warm regards from all of us at Mbazo.

Hakuna Matata
Mbazo Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 8 274
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 274
  • Hotels.com
6.5 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 15 134
R 14 554
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 14 554
14.6 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 14 239
R 13 951
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 13 951
10.9 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
R 5 194
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 194
  • Algotels
11.7 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 7 612
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
14.9 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Small but beautiful garden
R 1 388
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
11.0 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 10 069
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 10 069
15.0 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 5 758
  • travelup.com
13.5 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 546
11.0 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
120
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
120
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern architecture elephants drinking internet connection game drives unforgettable stay outstanding experience outdoor shower attention to detail swimming pool excellent game viewing city life highlight of our trip whole team comfortable bed food was amazing every meal treated like royalty
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2024

We arrived at Mbazo on June 3rd for 4 nights.
The hospitality was beyond amazing, the people were friendly and helpful, the food was excellent, the drinks Kele made us were delicious. Eddie the safari guide was lovely and knowledgable.
We enjoyed every second we stayed there, and hopefully will be able to return in the future.
It's important to say - we saw many animals on the tours we took, and even at the lodge itself we had elephants coming by almost everyday to drink water.
A perfect vacation for us.

Date of stay: June 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ronenf264
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear ronenf264

Thank you for choosing Mbazo for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing time during your four-night visit in early June.

It is truly heartwarming to learn that our hospitality, friendly staff, excellent food, and delicious drinks contributed to making your stay special. We are glad you enjoyed the company of Eddie, our knowledgeable safari guide, and that you had many exciting wildlife encounters during your tours. The presence of elephants near the lodge must have been a remarkable experience for you.

We are grateful for your kind words and are delighted to know that your time at Mbazo was a perfect vacation for you. Your feedback motivates us to continue providing exceptional service and unforgettable experiences to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mbazo in the future. Please feel free to reach out to us when you plan your next visit. Until then, safe travels and warm regards from all of us at Mbazo.

Hakuna Matata
Mbazo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2024

Very good service - the presentation of the meals was exceptional. My only suggestion would be maybe some sort of activities for people between safari rides. Our guide Marcus was phenomenal and we will request him when we make another trip!

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gwrightjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2024

Good day gwrightjaw

It sounds like you had a great experience on your retirement trip! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the service and the presentation of the meals. The suggestion for additional activities between safari rides is noted - it can indeed enhance the overall experience. It's also great to hear that your guide, Marcus, was exceptional.
If you're planning another trip, requesting him again seems like a fantastic idea. Is there anything else you'd like to share or inquire about regarding your experience or upcoming trips?

looking forward to welcome you back to Mbazo & the prides of the Pilanesberg .

Hakuna Matata
Team Mbazo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2024

This lodge was the best of the three lodges I have visited at Black Rhino and Pilanesberg Reserves. The chalets are magnificent, quiet and clean. Any small issue was addressed immediately and with a smile. The staff were all extremely friendly, and personable. The daily game drives lead by Senior Guide Marcus Kapp were excellent. Marcus is the best ever! He is knowledgeable making him capable to answer all questions of his guests, and knows the reserves like the back of his hand. He is professional and a true asset to this lodge as he took his time to make sure everyone in the truck saw the animals making everyone’s trip special. With Marcus, I saw the Big Five because of his expertise, patience and tactics only experience can provide. We had been hearing a lion bellowing at night behind the lodge. Marcus would look for tracks and relay his findings to the other guides. Finally the lion was located enjoying a kill. We watched him for a good twenty minutes before moving on and allowing other guest the chance to enjoy the view. One morning I was able to watch a female lion with her three cubs interact and eventually make their way on into the bush. The highlight was of course the leopard. It was a quick sighting but a sighting none the less. Never would I have seen it in the dark had it not been for Marcus and his knowing how to find game. Truly a trip for the books. It was difficult to say goodbye at the end of my stay and I feel lifelong friendships were formed.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank meh931
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2024


Dear meh931,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Mbazo Lodge on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us was the best you have had in Black Rhino and Pilanesberg Reserves!

It's wonderful to know that you found our chalets magnificent, quiet, and clean. We are pleased that any issues you encountered were promptly addressed with a smile by our dedicated team. Your kind words about our staff's friendliness and personable service truly warm our hearts.

We are delighted that you had such a fantastic experience on the daily game drives led by Senior Guide Marcus Kapp. Marcus is indeed a gem, and we are proud to have him on our team. Your recount of encountering the Big Five with Marcus showcases his exceptional knowledge, dedication, and passion for wildlife.

We are thrilled that Marcus's expertise led you to memorable wildlife sightings, including the awe-inspiring moments with lions and the highlight of the leopard sighting. Your comments truly validate the hard work and commitment Marcus puts into ensuring our guests have unforgettable safari experiences.

We are genuinely touched that you felt lifelong friendships were formed during your stay. Creating meaningful connections and unforgettable memories is what we strive for at Mbazo Lodge.

Thank you once again for choosing Mbazo Lodge, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another unforgettable safari adventure.

Hakuna Matata

Team Mbazo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2024

I stayed at Mbazo in March for 3 days. It was time for some me time after a really busy few months. I booked the room with the kolkol. What an experience! From the beginning to the end I got spoiled with home made treats and delicious food. The elephants by the pool was one of the highlights of my stay! Thank you team Mbazo for a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explorer21467747301
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2024

Hey there Explorer21467747301
We value your interesting insights and ideas. Your contributions have been invaluable in accelerating our progress. We appreciate your efforts.
We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time at Mbazo in our magnificent kol-kol wood-fired hot tub cabins, with the encouraged Mbazo Team.
Trust Our team of highly experienced safari guides was there to help you see the more elusive species.
We gladly await your return to Mbazo, soon!
Hakuna Matata,
Team Mbazo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2024

We visited Mbazo Safari Lodge with our 3 children and 4 grandparents.
We had the most outstanding and unforgettable time. Every employee went above and beyond, and the attention to detail was amazing. I cannot mention any specific employees because they were honestly all incredible.
The food was outstanding, the service was delivered with a smile always and the guides were really great and happy to answer and re-answer all of my 6 year old’s questions! We would return in a heartbeat and I highly recommend visiting this Lodge if you get the opportunity to do.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2024

Hey there carlysU7885UW
We genuinely appreciate your insightful comments and ideas.
Your contributions have helped us make significant improvements.
We are thrilled to hear that you had an absolutely great week at Mbazo in the beautiful Pilanesberg bush, surrounded by the warm and welcoming Mbazo Team, led by the incredible Tania.
Markus, Eddy & Phillip our fantastic safari guides, were there to help you find the elusive spotted creatures.
We look forward to having you back soon.
Hakuna Matata 
Team Mbazo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews