We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Dreamer62220677718

Absolute Best Safari Experience in Pilanesberg

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 08 Apr 2024
I have been on Safari twice in Pilanesberg Park, South Africa. The first time was in 2018 and the second time was January of 2024.

The first time was for my husband’s and my honeymoon and we thought we had found amazing luxury.

The second time was to celebrate my mother’s 70th birthday and the luxury at the first lodge was nothing compared to that of Mbazo.

From the moment you arrive you are welcomed with smiles and a mock tail. Your luggage is taken to your room while you sip and decompress from the long journey.

While a small lodge with only 5 rooms, everything is carefully arranged to make your experience magical.

The rooms are large, well-equipped with everything you will need from bath robes to yoga mats and everything in between.

The food is delicious. There is a set menu each day but they accommodate allergies and dietary restrictions without faltering. We didn’t have a single meal that wasn’t amazing.

The game drives are special. You see animals in their natural environment quite close. We saw every animal big and small except the Leopard. Guess we will just have to come back.

The team at Mbazo really goes out of their way to make you feel like you are royalty during your stay. I would give them 100 stars if I could. Special shout out to Marcus who thought of every little detail including a surprise cake for my mom.

It is a birthday she will never forget!
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: This is a small lodge that offers a high end boutique experience. Keep an eye on the small...
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 09 Apr 2024
Greetings and happy birthday Dreamer62220677718!
We sincerely appreciate your gifted comments and thoughts.
Your contributions have been important in assisting us with improvements.
We are delighted to hear that you had an absolutely amazing time at Mbazo in the gorgeous Pilanesberg bush, surrounded by the warm and welcome Mbazo Team, with the incredible Tania leading the way.
Markus, our amazing safari guide, was present to help you unwind.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Hakuna Matata,
Team Mbazo.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 6 567
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
6.5 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
R 4 956
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
11.7 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 7 127
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
14.9 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Small but beautiful garden
Tripadvisor
R 1 369
R 1 208
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
11.0 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
R 18 159
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
10.9 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 5 507
  • travelup.com
13.5 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 8 431
  • Hotels.com
15.0 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Terrance
Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 387
16.7 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
112
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
112
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern architecture elephants drinking internet connection game drives unforgettable stay outstanding experience outdoor shower attention to detail swimming pool excellent game viewing city life highlight of our trip whole team comfortable bed food was amazing every meal treated like royalty
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2024

My husband enjoyed his B day, i enjoyed the swing bed more and the room was stunning. The game drive was so nice and refreshments were on point. We enjoyed the braai and we wore traditional clothes. We will come back!!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ofentserams06
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Greetings and happy birthdayofentserams06!
We sincerely appreciate your gifted comments and thoughts.
Your contributions have been important in assisting us with improvements.
We are delighted to hear that you had an absolutely amazing time at Mbazo in the gorgeous Pilanesberg bush, surrounded by the warm and welcome Mbazo Team, with the incredible Tania leading the way.
Markus, our amazing safari guide, was present to help you relax.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Hakuna Matata, Team Mbazo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2024

The lodge itself is great, the view is amazing, the game drives are stunning, but what makes this place is the staff. Everyone from the chef to Tanya at the front desk, Eddie our game driver, and the managers and bar staff were the best.

We stayed for 3 nights in their family suite which was amazing. it consists of 2 rooms joined by a corridor, so our kids had their own bedroom and bath, and so did we.
The rooms are spacious, comfortable, very well setup. we had an indoor and outdoor shower (each), and a large bathtub. outside we had a daybed as well. some rooms have a wood-fired hot tub but the family suite doesnt have that.

The highlight for my wife and kids was the elephants coming to drink from the pool all the time. yes its gimmicky but the absolutely loved being in the pool while the elephants were drinking 3 feet in front of us in the same pool. this happened several times per day for us, and i definitely wouldn't want to have their water bill. the water would go down 3-8 inches each time this would happen. if you miss it, the staff even will call you in your room to tell you to come see it, if you want.

definitely not a cheap stay but definitely worth it. we opted for the private game drives.

They are opening a second lodge close to the Mbazo one , owned by the same people. I will come back to see it for sure.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marcanxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Hey there marcanxx
We appreciate your insightful perspectives and ideas. Your contributions have been invaluable in driving our improvements. Thank you for your efforts.
We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Mbazo in the beautiful Pilanesberg bush, with the welcoming Mbazo Team and the exceptional Tania leading the way.
Our highly experienced safari guide, was there to assist you in spotting the more elusive animals.
We eagerly anticipate your return to Dzombo, the new lodge in the near future!
Hakuna Matata 
Team Mbazo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2024

The stay was fantastic from start to end. We were welcomed by the highly motivated team at the lodge and had a great time. The rooms were nicely layed out and featured all that one could wish from in a Safari Lodge - there was a heated probated plunge pool and outdoor showers. In the main area that we occupied exclusively with our group there was a nice pool where the Elephants came to drink from which was a special experience. On the game drives our two guides managed to track down a lot of game. the food offered during the stay was nicely presented and well prepared. We will definitely come back to this hidden gem of a lodge near Sun City and Johannesburg.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank SHBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Good morning SHBBB



Your feedback is greatly appreciated at Mbazo.
At Mbazo Safari, we strive to provide our guests with a luxurious experience and make your satisfaction our top priority.
Our camp provides an enchanting experience for safari enthusiasts due to our meticulous attention to detail.Tania, our campmaster, is incredibly attentive to detail.
Eddie, Phillip, and Marcus, our master guides, credit their success to their meticulous approach to every safari.
Our team at Mbazo is outstanding, and we take pride in our commitment to helping others.
Mbazo is looking forward to your return to Pilanesberg for another thrilling safari adventure.
Hakuna Matata
Team Mbazo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2024

Food was amazing, accommodation was stunning. Game drives were very nice. Just there was no pool for us to swim and the weather was so hot so we had no where to to cool off. Laying by a pool would of make a huge difference in our stay. Staff were friendly and treated us well

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C9682PIalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Good morning C9682PIalan
Your valuable insights and thoughts are greatly appreciated for contributing to our improvement.
We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay at Mbazo in the Pilanesberg bush, with the Mbazo Team and our outstanding safari guides who were all committed to making sure you could unwind.
Our luxury lodge offers a main pool and kol-kol wood-fired hot tubs at the luxury chalets.We apologise for the inconvenience caused by the elephants at the pool. We put in a lot of effort to ensure the water is clean. At Mbazo Safaris, keeping the elephants hydrated is our main focus, particularly during a heatwave, as we prioritise nature conservation.
We look forward to your return.
Hakuna Matata
Team Mbazo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2024 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay and would 100% recommend this place! Everyone here made us feel so special and could not fault anything.
The food was delicious and the service was just above and beyond.
The rooms were very clean and having seen the elephants and other animals by the pool was just another beautiful experience.
Thankyou to all the wonderful staff and would definitely be coming back again

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Missyami88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2024

Good morning and hello Missyami88
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback.
Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
Our seasoned Ellies from the Pilanesberg National Park, is always on the hunt for unexpected waterholes.
We eagerly anticipate your return to Mbazo.
No worries Team Mbazo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews