We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Marc
Gatineau, Canada

Amazing stay at the Mbazo lodge. the staff makes it, but the lodge is super too !

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Mar 2024
The lodge itself is great, the view is amazing, the game drives are stunning, but what makes this place is the staff. Everyone from the chef to Tanya at the front desk, Eddie our game driver, and the managers and bar staff were the best.

We stayed for 3 nights in their family suite which was amazing. it consists of 2 rooms joined by a corridor, so our kids had their own bedroom and bath, and so did we.
The rooms are spacious, comfortable, very well setup. we had an indoor and outdoor shower (each), and a large bathtub. outside we had a daybed as well. some rooms have a wood-fired hot tub but the family suite doesnt have that.

The highlight for my wife and kids was the elephants coming to drink from the pool all the time. yes its gimmicky but the absolutely loved being in the pool while the elephants were drinking 3 feet in front of us in the same pool. this happened several times per day for us, and i definitely wouldn't want to have their water bill. the water would go down 3-8 inches each time this would happen. if you miss it, the staff even will call you in your room to tell you to come see it, if you want.

definitely not a cheap stay but definitely worth it. we opted for the private game drives.

They are opening a second lodge close to the Mbazo one , owned by the same people. I will come back to see it for sure.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 20 Mar 2024
Hey there marcanxx
We appreciate your insightful perspectives and ideas. Your contributions have been invaluable in driving our improvements. Thank you for your efforts.
We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Mbazo in the beautiful Pilanesberg bush, with the welcoming Mbazo Team and the exceptional Tania leading the way.
Our highly experienced safari guide, was there to assist you in spotting the more elusive animals.
We eagerly anticipate your return to Dzombo, the new lodge in the near future!
Hakuna Matata 
Team Mbazo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 5 463
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 335
  • Destinia.com
    R 5 120
  • Priceline
13.5 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
campground pool
R 3 232
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 232
  • eDreams
    R 3 232
1.6 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View off the Executive Suite
R 5 250
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 250
  • eDreams
    R 5 250
14.8 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 13 150
  • Agoda.com
    R 13 150
13.5 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
R 1 545
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 545
  • Booking.com
11.0 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 9 957
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 8 189
  • Hotels.com
    R 10 005
15.0 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 7 850
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 7 982
  • Agoda.com
    R 7 850
15.2 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Diphororo Guest House
R 1 000
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 000
14.0 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
R 17 797
R 16 468
  • Hotels.com
    R 16 922
  • Expedia.com
    R 17 797
  • Priceline
14.6 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
117
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
117
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern architecture elephants drinking internet connection game drives unforgettable stay outstanding experience outdoor shower attention to detail swimming pool excellent game viewing city life highlight of our trip whole team comfortable bed food was amazing every meal treated like royalty
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2024

The stay was fantastic from start to end. We were welcomed by the highly motivated team at the lodge and had a great time. The rooms were nicely layed out and featured all that one could wish from in a Safari Lodge - there was a heated probated plunge pool and outdoor showers. In the main area that we occupied exclusively with our group there was a nice pool where the Elephants came to drink from which was a special experience. On the game drives our two guides managed to track down a lot of game. the food offered during the stay was nicely presented and well prepared. We will definitely come back to this hidden gem of a lodge near Sun City and Johannesburg.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank SHBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Good morning SHBBB



Your feedback is greatly appreciated at Mbazo.
At Mbazo Safari, we strive to provide our guests with a luxurious experience and make your satisfaction our top priority.
Our camp provides an enchanting experience for safari enthusiasts due to our meticulous attention to detail.Tania, our campmaster, is incredibly attentive to detail.
Eddie, Phillip, and Marcus, our master guides, credit their success to their meticulous approach to every safari.
Our team at Mbazo is outstanding, and we take pride in our commitment to helping others.
Mbazo is looking forward to your return to Pilanesberg for another thrilling safari adventure.
Hakuna Matata
Team Mbazo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2024

Food was amazing, accommodation was stunning. Game drives were very nice. Just there was no pool for us to swim and the weather was so hot so we had no where to to cool off. Laying by a pool would of make a huge difference in our stay. Staff were friendly and treated us well

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C9682PIalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Good morning C9682PIalan
Your valuable insights and thoughts are greatly appreciated for contributing to our improvement.
We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay at Mbazo in the Pilanesberg bush, with the Mbazo Team and our outstanding safari guides who were all committed to making sure you could unwind.
Our luxury lodge offers a main pool and kol-kol wood-fired hot tubs at the luxury chalets.We apologise for the inconvenience caused by the elephants at the pool. We put in a lot of effort to ensure the water is clean. At Mbazo Safaris, keeping the elephants hydrated is our main focus, particularly during a heatwave, as we prioritise nature conservation.
We look forward to your return.
Hakuna Matata
Team Mbazo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2024 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay and would 100% recommend this place! Everyone here made us feel so special and could not fault anything.
The food was delicious and the service was just above and beyond.
The rooms were very clean and having seen the elephants and other animals by the pool was just another beautiful experience.
Thankyou to all the wonderful staff and would definitely be coming back again

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Missyami88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2024

Good morning and hello Missyami88
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback.
Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
Our seasoned Ellies from the Pilanesberg National Park, is always on the hunt for unexpected waterholes.
We eagerly anticipate your return to Mbazo.
No worries Team Mbazo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2024 via mobile

Everything just perfect: Staff, Guide Philippe, food, entertainment and watching the elephants at the pool. Stunning place to be - must visit! Traditional dinner at fireplace with a quick drumming lesson gave some insights of ZA braai! Definitely we’re coming back!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 719walterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Good morning 719walterr.
Welcome to our wonderful world. We are delighted this hidden treasure sparked your curiosity and provided you with memorable recollections. Mbazo will take you on an excursion through the Pilanesberg's attractions.
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your unforgettable
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Safari Experience Lodge, and we appreciate you giving Mbazo five stars for its exceptional personnel. We appreciate your feedback and that you shared your positive experience.
Travellers love the opportunity to braai in the safari wilderness.
Mbazo explorers agree that spending time in these gorgeous environments rarely quenches their wanderlust, and they keep returning for more.:)
Hakuna Matata,
Team Mbazo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2024 via mobile

I am not good at writing reviews but It was an incredible experience to stay at Mbazo safari Lodge. The room was very elegant and spacious with all the details and amenities that one can expect. The meals were excellent and with a lot of elegance and a very good amount. The service of all the staff was a 10 out of 10, our safari driver Marcus took care of us very well and guided us and taught us everything there was to know about the place, the animals and above all the safety. We will never forget the excellent experience we had at Mbazo Safari Lodge.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DennisC1694
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Hello there Dennis Campbell
We're really grateful for your sharp perspectives and ideas. We greatly appreciate your contributions, which have been instrumental in driving our improvements.
We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay at Mbazo in the stunning Pilanesberg bush, with the friendly Mbazo Team and the amazing Tania leading the way.
Markus, our incredibly skilled safari guide, was there to help you spot the more elusive animals.
We can't wait to have you back soon!

Hakuna Matata
Team Mbazo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews