We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
C9682PIalan

Getaway for us

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 01 Mar 2024
Food was amazing, accommodation was stunning. Game drives were very nice. Just there was no pool for us to swim and the weather was so hot so we had no where to to cool off. Laying by a pool would of make a huge difference in our stay. Staff were friendly and treated us well
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 04 Mar 2024
Good morning C9682PIalan
Your valuable insights and thoughts are greatly appreciated for contributing to our improvement.
We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay at Mbazo in the Pilanesberg bush, with the Mbazo Team and our outstanding safari guides who were all committed to making sure you could unwind.
Our luxury lodge offers a main pool and kol-kol wood-fired hot tubs at the luxury chalets.We apologise for the inconvenience caused by the elephants at the pool. We put in a lot of effort to ensure the water is clean. At Mbazo Safaris, keeping the elephants hydrated is our main focus, particularly during a heatwave, as we prioritise nature conservation.
We look forward to your return.
Hakuna Matata
Team Mbazo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 7 980
R 6 502
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 7 650
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 980
  • Hotels.com
    R 7 980
14.9 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Small but beautiful garden
R 1 201
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
11.0 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 14 307
R 13 838
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
10.9 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 6 219
  • Booking.com
6.5 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 12 901
  • Hotels.com
14.6 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 5 516
  • Trip.com
13.5 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 409
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 714
11.7 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 8 169
  • Hotels.com
15.0 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Terrance
Easy and fast booking
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 557
  • Vio.com
16.7 km from Mbazo Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
117
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
117
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern architecture elephants drinking internet connection game drives unforgettable stay outstanding experience outdoor shower attention to detail swimming pool excellent game viewing city life highlight of our trip whole team comfortable bed food was amazing every meal treated like royalty
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2024 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay and would 100% recommend this place! Everyone here made us feel so special and could not fault anything.
The food was delicious and the service was just above and beyond.
The rooms were very clean and having seen the elephants and other animals by the pool was just another beautiful experience.
Thankyou to all the wonderful staff and would definitely be coming back again

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Missyami88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2024

Good morning and hello Missyami88
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback.
Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
Our seasoned Ellies from the Pilanesberg National Park, is always on the hunt for unexpected waterholes.
We eagerly anticipate your return to Mbazo.
No worries Team Mbazo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2024 via mobile

Everything just perfect: Staff, Guide Philippe, food, entertainment and watching the elephants at the pool. Stunning place to be - must visit! Traditional dinner at fireplace with a quick drumming lesson gave some insights of ZA braai! Definitely we’re coming back!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 719walterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Good morning 719walterr.
Welcome to our wonderful world. We are delighted this hidden treasure sparked your curiosity and provided you with memorable recollections. Mbazo will take you on an excursion through the Pilanesberg's attractions.
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your unforgettable
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Safari Experience Lodge, and we appreciate you giving Mbazo five stars for its exceptional personnel. We appreciate your feedback and that you shared your positive experience.
Travellers love the opportunity to braai in the safari wilderness.
Mbazo explorers agree that spending time in these gorgeous environments rarely quenches their wanderlust, and they keep returning for more.:)
Hakuna Matata,
Team Mbazo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2024 via mobile

I am not good at writing reviews but It was an incredible experience to stay at Mbazo safari Lodge. The room was very elegant and spacious with all the details and amenities that one can expect. The meals were excellent and with a lot of elegance and a very good amount. The service of all the staff was a 10 out of 10, our safari driver Marcus took care of us very well and guided us and taught us everything there was to know about the place, the animals and above all the safety. We will never forget the excellent experience we had at Mbazo Safari Lodge.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DennisC1694
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Hello there Dennis Campbell
We're really grateful for your sharp perspectives and ideas. We greatly appreciate your contributions, which have been instrumental in driving our improvements.
We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay at Mbazo in the stunning Pilanesberg bush, with the friendly Mbazo Team and the amazing Tania leading the way.
Markus, our incredibly skilled safari guide, was there to help you spot the more elusive animals.
We can't wait to have you back soon!

Hakuna Matata
Team Mbazo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2024

I could not have imagined a better way to celebrate my 70th birthday than at Mbazo Safari Lodge.

My daughter and son-in-law treated me and my two sisters to a trip to South Africa and our first stop was Mbazo lodge.

Never in my wildest dreams did I ever imagine I would make it to Africa, let alone to somewhere as magnificent as Mbazo lodge.

Every part of my stay from the details in the rooms, to the care and presentation of the food, to our amazing driver Marcus far exceeded any expectations I had.

Words cannot explain how the team at Mbazo made us feel as though we were the most important people yet still a part of their family.

Many thanks to the whole Mbazo team for an amazing 4 nights and a birthday I will never forget!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Happiness67997721391
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2024

Greetings and happy birthday Happiness67997721391!!
We are truly appreciative of your insightful views and thoughts.
Your contributions have been invaluable in helping us make improvements.
We are thrilled to hear that you had an absolutely wonderful stay at Mbazo in the breathtaking Pilanesberg bush, surrounded by the warm and welcoming Mbazo Team and the incredible Tania leading the way.
Markus, our exceptional safari guide, was present to assist you in finding relaxation.
We eagerly anticipate the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Hakuna Matata
Team Mbazo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2024

Myself and hubby visited Mbazo for my birthday in November. What a spoil! From the minute we arrived we where treated as Royals. The bathtub had salts, milk bath and a beautiful body scrub that I used to treat myself for my birthday. We got spoiled with a romantic turndown aswell as a delicious birthday cake. The staff even sang happy birthday to me. On the one morning game drive we saw the big 5!! Thank you Marcus! The food was delicious and well presented. Tanya the Lodge Manager was very welcoming and assisted with all our needs. We arrived as guests and left feeling as family. Thank you everyone for the best time ever!!! Lots of love

Room tip: Ask for the premier suite - it has a hot tub!
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Venture65854468654
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hendri van dyk, General Manager at Mbazo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2024

Good Morning Venture65854468654

Happy Birthday !!

We'd like to express our gratitude for your insightful views and thoughts; your contributions help us improve.
We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay at Mbazo in the Pilanesberg bush, with the Mbazo Team and head honcho, Tania.
Markus, our safari guide extraordinaire, who were all there to help you unwind.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Hakuna matata

Team Mbazo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews