We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Helen V

Fantastic honeymoon experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
We spent 3 fantastic days at the Black Rhino Lodge for our honeymoon and saw all the big 5 along with 22 other majestic animals and many beautiful birds. It surpassed all our expectations. The lodge itself is lovely and comfortable with a luxurious feel, wonderfully friendly and helpful staff and delicious food! We got up early to do game drives every day with Freedom, the most fantastic, highly experienced guide, and despite it being very cold first thing in the morning (minus 3 degrees Celsius with frost on the ground) the sun was always shining and the setting is spectacularly beautiful and peaceful. We could not fault the place and cannot recommend it highly enough ❤️
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Black Rhino Game Lodge, Guest Services / Front Office at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Helen,

Thank you for the amazing feedback! It certainly is worthwhile braving the cold so early in the morning :-). We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Take Care!

Kind regards
Black Rhino Game Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 13 073
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 13 073
0.8 km from Black Rhino Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 6 639
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 639
  • Hotels.com
15.2 km from Black Rhino Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 14 030
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 14 030
  • Booking.com
15.7 km from Black Rhino Game Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
R 7 347
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 347
  • Hotels.com
16.6 km from Black Rhino Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
15.0 km from Black Rhino Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 647
  • Booking.com
25.1 km from Black Rhino Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Terrance
Easy and fast booking
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 541
31.7 km from Black Rhino Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Small but beautiful garden
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 495
  • Booking.com
25.9 km from Black Rhino Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Reviews (703)
Filter reviews
703 results
Traveller rating
446
181
39
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
446
181
39
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game lodge watering hole private concession outdoor shower high tea south africa the reserve buffet style animals including our honeymoon enjoyed every minute afternoon drives water hole wonderful experience per day african bush safari experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 703 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2024 via mobile

Had the most amazing experience from start to finish, service, food, accommodation, game drives, everything was perfect.
It was my wife's 50th birthday whilst we were there and they treated her like a queen, she loved it
Special mention to our driver Steven who was awesome and very knowledgeable.
We will definitely be back and bring friends

Room tip: May and June is cold in the mornings for the game drives so wrap up warm
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Black Rhino Game Lodge, Guest Services / Front Office at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Stuart,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you had an amazing experience, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards
Black Rhino Game Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2024 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at Black Rhino and it was the best experience. The lodge is luxurious and the chalets are comfortable and also very clean. We have been travelling with our 9 month old son and the staff was very friendly and very accommodating! The food was delicious and we had some drinks in the afternoon overlooking the waterhole spotting elephants and rhinos. So special.
We had our game drives with Grant and he went above and beyond to make the experience an unforgettable one. He is very knowledgeable and we had so much fun.
Great sightings included of course.
Do not hesitate to visit, it has been a pleasure!

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lkosgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Black Rhino Game Lodge, Guest Services / Front Office at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2024

Dear Guests,

Wow we are so pleased for the kind words and beautiful review. It was an honor to have been your host at Black Rhino Game Lodge.
We hope you and the family will come and visit us soo again!

Kind Regards
Black Rhino Game Lodge
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2024

Amazing staff and facilities, we really enjoyed our stay at Black Rhino. Daily activities are well planned and has been overall a great experience.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank grompi977416
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Black Rhino Game Lodge, Guest Services / Front Office at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2024

Dear Guests,

Thank you for the beautiful review, it was an honor to have been your host at Black Rhino Game Lodge.
We hope you will come and visit us soon!

Kind Regards
Black Rhino Game Lodge
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2024

Black Rhino is a fabulous lodge. The only downside is the long drive into the Pilansberg - this wouldn’t put me off staying, but definitely worth noting.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sbanha939451
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Black Rhino Game Lodge, Guest Services / Front Office at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2024

Dear Guests,

Thank you for the kind words it was an honor to have been your host at Black Rhino Game Lodge.
We hope you visit again soon!

Kind Regards
Black Rhino Game Lodge
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2024

Excellent location, staff are friendly and helpful, food is very good and Braai and entertainment at the Boma was fantastic. Safari well worth doing, Lions, Rhino and Elephants all seen close up. Have been many times and will visit again this year for sure

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank petesS459WB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Black Rhino Game Lodge, Guest Services / Front Office at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

Dear Guests,

Thank for the amazing beautiful review, it was an honor to have been your host at Black Rhino Game Lodge.
We are excited that you are coming to visit us again, we cant wait. :)

Kind Regards
Black Rhino Game Lodge
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews