We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
KayeR16
Northland Region, New Zealand

Dream makers

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Jan 2024via mobile
All staff were super friendly and helpful. Dolfie our game driver was really knowledgeable and we saw all the animals!!
Food was really good and you never went hungry!
We also had the bonus of being able to watch the hippos and elephants come and play in the waterhole in front of the lodge. Just a dream come true experience.
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: Bring a rain jacket and warm clothes as the morning game drives can be quite cold.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Black Rhino Game Lodge, Guest Services / Front Office at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 01 Feb 2024
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your beautiful review, it was an honor to have been your host at Black Rhino Game Lodge.
We are so thankful that you had the opportunity to experience the animals at our waterhole.

We hope you will come and visit us soon!

Kind Regards
Black Rhino Game Lodge
Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 12 259
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 12 259
0.8 km from Black Rhino Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 8 536
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
15.2 km from Black Rhino Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
R 5 018
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
25.1 km from Black Rhino Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Small but beautiful garden
Tripadvisor
R 1 329
R 1 202
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
25.9 km from Black Rhino Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
15.0 km from Black Rhino Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View off the Executive Suite
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Black Rhino Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Destinia.com
    R 12 066
  • Algotels
15.7 km from Black Rhino Game Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 10 770
  • Algotels
16.6 km from Black Rhino Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Terrance
Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 538
  • Agoda.com
31.7 km from Black Rhino Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveller rating
442
181
39
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
442
181
39
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game lodge watering hole private concession outdoor shower high tea south africa the reserve buffet style animals including our honeymoon enjoyed every minute afternoon drives water hole wonderful experience per day african bush safari experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 699 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2024

Black rhino have been a great experience! The only bad thing was that it ended, we should booked a couple days more. Our ranger Dolfie was fantastic! Educated us about every animal we saw and he made sure we hade a experience to remember for rest of our life's!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Black Rhino Game Lodge, Guest Services / Front Office at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2024

Dear Guests,

Thank you so kindly for your beautiful words, it was an honor to have been your host at Black Rhino Game Lodge.
We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was memorable.

We hope you will come and visit us soon!

Kind Regards
Black Rhino Game Lodge
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2024

Such a lovely place! The staff was so kind and the atmosphere was amazing! Our ranger, Dolfie, was the best!! He made our experience better than we could’ve imagined. He went above and beyond to show us all the animals and beautiful places in the park. Our first time in SA will always be special, thanks to Dolfie and the wonderful staff!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hilda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Black Rhino Game Lodge, Guest Services / Front Office at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2024

Dear Guests,

Thank you so kindly for the beautiful words, it was an honor to have been your host at Black Rhino Game Lodge.
We are so thankful that you had a great safari experience.

We hope you visit us soon!

Kind Regards
Black Rhino Game Lodge
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2024 via mobile

Loved the laid back vibe and friendly staff. Good food, comfy beds, all basics well covered. Feels like a happy place that staff and guests value. Dolfie is the BEST guide - funny (even the Dad jokes!), passionate about the bush and lnowledgeable. We learnt so much from him! Will hopefully be coming back next year. Thanks so much Black Rhino and Dolfie.

Room tip: Long drive from Joburg, be aware of potholes and speed bumps on road. Stop at Harties for lunch/coffee. Take bug spray for ankles
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hl123452015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Black Rhino Game Lodge, Guest Services / Front Office at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2024

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for the kind words, it was an honor to have been your host at Black Rhino Game Lodge.
We are pleased that our team (Staff) made your experience comfortable.

We hope you will come visit our beautiful lodge again soon!

Kind Regards
Black Rhino Game Lodge
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2024

First time in SA, the lodge is a perfect stay for anyone who is looking for that little extra. Clean rooms, accommodating and service-minded staff. Food was great, different options every night. Game drives was AMAZING. If you are visiting here make sure to ask for “Dolfie” as your ranger, such a passionate and committed guide. We are definitely coming back! 🇿🇦

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alexander N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Black Rhino Game Lodge, Guest Services / Front Office at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2024

Dear Alexander,

Thank you for your kind words, it was an honor to have been your host at Black Rhino Game Lodge.
We are so thankful that your stay with us was so memorable.

We hope Alexander will come to visit us again!

Kind Regards
Black Rhino Game Lodge
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2024

Everything was great except of food.
The highlight of our stay was the game drives. Each drives was such an experience to live once in a life.
The only negative point was the food. It was not enough diversify. We had only buffets on our stay and the buffet was ordinary. We would have liked to have or barbecues, or themed buffets, or menu with two choices from starter to dessert. For the price, it didn't worth it. What a pity !

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bboise535954
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Black Rhino Game Lodge, Guest Services / Front Office at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2024

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review. It was an honor to have been your host at Black Rhino Game Lodge.
We will look into the kitchen department to see what diversity we could add.

We hope the rest of the holiday was memorable.

Kind Regards
Black Rhino Game Lodge
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews