We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rachel U
Johannesburg, South Africa

Our bush wedding anniversary

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Absolutely loved our stay at Shepherds Tree. The accommodation, the service and the food was impeccable!
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafa Manyowa, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Rachel U

Thank you for this lovely review. It is truly gratifying to read such glowing feedback regarding our superb service, sumptuous meals and the luxurious accommodation.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and continue to be your preferred safari destination.

Kind regards
The Shepherd's Tree Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 13 352
  • Expedia.com
    R 14 170
4.8 km from Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
14.9 km from Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 463
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 335
  • Destinia.com
    R 5 120
  • Priceline
9.0 km from Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 8 966
  • Priceline
15.2 km from Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 710
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 278
  • Algotels
17.0 km from Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 9 322
  • Expedia.com
20.9 km from Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 8 053
  • Agoda.com
15.8 km from Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Small but beautiful garden
R 1 403
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 403
23.1 km from Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Reviews (1 123)
Filter reviews
1 123 results
Traveller rating
933
111
47
15
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
933
111
47
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower game lodge lunch and dinner wonderful experience once in a lifetime the reserve bubble bath field guide bush experience his knowledge star experience watering hole top class south africa out of this world blown away morning drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1 123 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2024

Venue and service was amazing. It was a business trip. Conference facilities was very good.. a different menu every day.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carmenmeyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafa Manyowa, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2024

Dear Carmen Meyers

Thank you for sharing this on TripAdvisor. We are very elated to know that the experience was exceptional, and appreciate all the compliments on our superb service and state of the art facilities.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you in future and create some more memorable experiences.

Kind regards
The Shepherd's Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2024 via mobile

disgusting impression. the general manager is the most rude, arrogant and boorish of all hotels in my life. They made two debits from my card and stated that the payment was rejected, although the bank debited my money. The hotel's cellular network does not work. so you have to go to the entrance gate to call or receive an SMS from the bank. I understood this specifically so that they would call for a fee from the number. this is a way to earn money. A/c out of work. We changed room after long debates

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank goldfinch1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafa Manyowa, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Oleg Shcheglinskiy

Firstly, we want to extend our sincerest apologies for not meeting your personal preferences and expectations during your stay. We always genuinely appreciate our guests’ insights as they assist us in improving our services and ensuring a seamless experience for all our guests.

We have investigated your concerns, and it’s important that we put things in perspective. Upon check out, your card declined on numerous attempts, and you blamed this on the network even though you were made aware that the card terminals run on our stable WIFI not cellular GSM network. Your partner’s card which was finally presented as an alternative ran successfully with no hassles.

We checked our card settlement reports and bank statements, and ascertained that you were not double charged. Please send your bank statement should you have proof to the contrary and we will gladly compensate.

Our General Manager had to intervene when you insisted on leaving without settling the bill. Knowing your sensitivity as our guest, our General Manager did his best to resolve the matter professionally. I am sorry that you perceived his approach as being rude, however he was merely enforcing the company policy. He is always courteous and has a good rapport with all our guests, and is most known for going above and beyond to please.

Having said the above, we have carefully considered each point raised in your feedback, and where necessary, we will improve every area to perfection for the benefit of all our future guests.

I am at your disposal should you require further assistance or engagement.

Kind regards

Tafa Manyowa
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2024 via mobile

Incredible from start to finish. Accommodating and luxurious. We saw all animals except the leopard. Our honeymoon was made by our experience here. The food was incredible, breakfast to dinner.
This was our first safari and would not be our last. It was worth every penny.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 51lydiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafa Manyowa, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2024

Dear Lydia M

Thank you for this lovely review. It is truly gratifying to read such glowing feedback on your honeymoon experience.

Our passionate and enthusiastic team prides themselves on ensuring our guests feel at home and comfortable, so it brings us great joy to know we achieved that for you.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and continue to be your preferred safari destination.

Kind regards
The Shepherd's Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2024

Everything at this lodge is 5*! From the moment we arrived to our departure after 2 nights stay, the staff could not be more attentive. Accommodations are wonderfully appointed.
Rangers are knowledgeable, patient & explain everything clearly. Safety always top of mind. Saw 4 of the 5, as the leopard while close, remained elusive.
I could easily have stayed.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TravelTipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafa Manyowa, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

Dear TravelTipp

Thank you for this lovely review.

We are very elated to know that the experience was exceptional, and appreciate all the compliments on our superb and hospitable team. Your lovely feedback has been shared with all our team members to ensure they are encouraged to maintain the same level of service to all our guests.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you in future and create some more memorable experiences.

Kind regards
The Shepherd's Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2024

We had a wonderful time at Shepherd's Tree. The accommodation is beautiful. The staff are attentive and responsive to any request. The twice daily safari trips were great. Our guide Megan went out of her way to ensure we saw as many animals as possible, including the very elusive leopard. We will definately return to Shepherd's Tree if we visit SA again.

Room tip: It can be very cold on the morning safari. Make sure to take warm clothes.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyinglarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafa Manyowa, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

Dear Flyinglarks

It was a pleasure to have you as our valued guest and we are glad to know that you had an enjoyable experience during your stay. We have shared your compliments with Megan and the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our paradise in the iconic Pilanesberg.

Kind regards
The Shepherd's Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews