We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Amanda M
Barbados

Wonderful Safari experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Mar 2024
Wow what an amazing experience. The lodge is a beautiful retreat with the best staff who always have a smile & bend over backwards to make your stay perfect. The rangers are so knowledgable. Our ranger was Answer & he was a top guy. So knowledgable and had such a gentle manner we loved our 6 game drives & saw all the big 5 & more and Answer endeavoured to make sure we were happy at all times & taking our safety as a priority. The food was absolutely excellent with a lovely variety to choose from. William looked after us and had a great manner with everyone as were the other male staff including Offency who were so gracious. Maria & the other ladies were also wonderful. It was a faultless experience. Our rooms were stunning & luxurious & very comfortable.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafa Manyowa, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 31 Mar 2024
Dear Amanda M

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge!

We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic luxury retreat at our lodge and that we could provide you with an amazing and memorable experience of a lifetime. Your compliments have been shared with Answer, William, Ofentse, Maria and all the hard-working and friendly team members we have at Shepherd's Tree.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another unforgettable stay.

Kind regards
The Shepherd's Tree Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 5 335
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 5 463
  • Priceline
    R 4 666
  • Trip.com
    R 5 453
9.0 km from Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View off the Executive Suite
R 5 250
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 250
  • eDreams
    R 5 250
  • Expedia.com
14.8 km from Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 8 053
R 7 850
  • Priceline
    R 7 850
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 8 053
  • Agoda.com
    R 7 850
15.8 km from Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 1 391
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 390
  • Booking.com
24.4 km from Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 3 232
  • ZenHotels.com
20.8 km from Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Diphororo Guest House
R 1 000
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 000
27.1 km from Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
R 10 873
  • Expedia.com
    R 11 195
  • Agoda.com
    R 9 542
  • Hotels.com
    R 9 972
15.1 km from Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 13 712
  • Priceline
    R 13 711
  • Agoda.com
    R 13 712
14.9 km from Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 13 150
  • Agoda.com
    R 13 150
8.9 km from Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Terrance
Easy and fast booking
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 391
  • Vio.com
28.3 km from Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Reviews (1 123)
Filter reviews
1 123 results
Traveller rating
933
111
47
15
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
933
111
47
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower game lodge lunch and dinner wonderful experience once in a lifetime the reserve bubble bath field guide bush experience his knowledge star experience watering hole top class south africa out of this world blown away morning drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1 123 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2024

We stayed at shepherds tree for one night and it was amazing.
All staff are so friendly and can’t do enough for you
Game drive was great. We had Piet and he did his best to find the animals for us. He was so knowledge and he was an amazing guide. We saw lots of animals except the leopard.
The food was amazing and so much to eat through out the day.
Rooms were lovely and liked the outdoor shower

I would highly recommend this place and would definitely come back.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 802hayleyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafa Manyowa, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2024

Dear Hayley D

It was a pleasure to have you as our valued guest and we are glad to know that you had an enjoyable experience during your stay. We have shared your compliments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our paradise in the iconic Pilanesberg.

Kind regards
The Shepherd's Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2024

Well where do I start? An out of this world experience, staff have been amazing! Food is excellent. Accommodation excellent.

Game Drives with our Amazing Ranger Njabulo were out of this world! We asked he delivered! A truly amazing experience! Although the Buffalo and the Leopard are hard to find our Ranger Njabulo has a 6th sense for the animals and delivered an amazing Experience! I cannot believe we realised The BIG FIVE in seven drives.

My piece of advice do not miss even one drive if you can You would regret it for the rest of your life!

Room tip: Attend every Game Drive possible! Keep your eyes open looking for the game at all times to get the best experience. Your Rangers are amazing
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafa Manyowa, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2024

Dear Fiona M

We are truly honored and grateful for your compliments, and it brings us immense joy to know that your experience at Shepherd's Tree was "amazing". It warms our hearts to know that Njabulo's efforts in providing exceptional service made you safari experience more exciting.

Your compliments have been shared with all our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards
The Shepherd's Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2024

Thankyou to all the fantastic staff - always polite, really friendly and professional. The food , service, hospitality were all excellent. I can’t remember names except Mingo and Lolo on the game drives , who were both very professional and informative with safety first in mind . Lolo - I agree with your mum - get chartered 😄

Room tip: Tip the staff
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafa Manyowa, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2024

Dear Andy Plant

Thank you for this lovely review. It is truly gratifying to read such glowing feedback regarding our staff.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and continue to be your preferred safari destination.

Kind regards
The Shepherd's Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2024 via mobile

Great place to stay right within Pilansberg. The lodge is made up of 32 rooms. We were in one of the 2-bedroom villas - lots of space and nicely appointed, including a private patio with a plunge pool. The villa was about 1 km from the main building, but the golf carts were always available to zip us back and forth. Everyone raved about the food (I ate more than my fill of cheese plates and fresh fruit, but the menu was quite varied including the opportunity to try different types of game like gemsbok and kudu). The boma night (every Saturday and Wednesday) was fantastic. When we were there, the guests were mostly Australian, British, German or French.

Even better than the lodge itself were the safari rides. 2 a day at 5:30 am (for sunrise) and at 4:30 pm (for sunset), in a modified Toyota Hilux or Landcruiser. We were fortunate to have a private safari truck and ranger - absolutely made our experience (if you can afford to, I would highly recommend asking for a private guide). The regular safari rides were 6-8 people which was also quite good (as we saw some in the park with upto 24 riders, who just looked hot, tired and crowded). (Note that the sister property - Ivory Tree is bigger and seems to have bigger groups). All the Shepards Tree and Ivory Tree rangers seemed great and very friendly.

Huge huge huge shout out to our ranger, Njabulo, who was amazing. He literally would see an elephant flap its ears from far away or smell a rhino and would zip over the truck to get us fabulous sightings. We saw 4 of the big 5 (no buffalo), thanks to his efforts and "spidey-senses". Njabulo seemed to know everything about the animals (including how to coax an elephant off the road so we could pass) and told the best stories. Each drive was different and interesting in its own way. Njabulo really has a passion for the animals and we were the lucky beneficiaries. An unanticipated thrill was a dash back to the lodge in the middle of an unexpected storm - Njabulo can definitely drive and we called him Indiana Jones after that!

If you like elephants, rhinos, zebras and various deer/antelope, you will be in heaven. Saw more than imagined! Highlights included an elephant mama giving baby a sand bath, a zebra crossing, a baby rhino nursing, and a lion pair devouring a wildebeest.


Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 584anun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafa Manyowa, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2024

Dear Anu N

Thank you for the detailed lovely review.

We are absolutely delighted to hear that you found everything to be superb. Everything at Shepherd's Tree is prepared with meticulous detail to ensure our guests enjoy. I will be sure to share this feedback with all our friendly and passionate team members especially Njabulo.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Shepherd's Tree for another magical experience.

Kind regards
The Shepherd's Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2024

The game ranger Answe explained us everthing necessary to be safe and also was very kindly.
During the games we were able to see several animals.
The hotel's staff are very good. They do everything that they can to make us fell good.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Blunoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafa Manyowa, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2024

Dear Bluno C

Thank you for this lovely review. It is truly gratifying to read such glowing feedback regarding our staff.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and continue to be your preferred safari destination.

Kind regards
The Shepherd's Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews