We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 6 141
Fully refundable before Mon, 29 Apr
Hotels.com
R 7 555
Fully refundable before Tue, 30 Apr
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
R 7 543
Fully refundable before Tue, 30 Apr
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 115)
Filter reviews
1 115 results
Traveller rating
926
111
47
14
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
926
111
47
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower game lodge lunch and dinner wonderful experience once in a lifetime the reserve bubble bath field guide bush experience his knowledge star experience watering hole top class south africa out of this world blown away morning drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1 115 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2024

Saw black rhino, lion and a multitude of game. Drives were well arranged and very good. The ranger who accompanied us was simply amazing. The overall experience was wonderful - despite the heat. The catering and overall facilities was outstanding. Will be back in the future.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andre570623
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafa Manyowa, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2024

Dear Andre

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

It is delightful to hear that you had a wonderful experience at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge. We are devoted to curating extraordinary experiences for our guests with the finest personal service and a warm, relaxed, yet refined ambience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
The Shepherd's Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2024

Certainly coming back for a much longer stay! Had an amazing and wonderful time, and can't wait to return and experience this again. From staff, tour guides to facility and rooms, totally amazing! This surpassed our expectations.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chrisoT3766IS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafa Manyowa, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Dear ChrisoT3766IS

Thank you for this lovely review. It is truly gratifying to read such glowing feedback.

Our passionate and enthusiastic team prides themselves on ensuring our guests feel at home and comfortable, so it brings us great joy to know we achieved that for you.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and continue to be your preferred safari destination.

Kind regards
The Shepherd's Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2024

It was our first trip to Shepherds Tree to view future wedding venues and to celebrate my fiancé's birthday! Great food with variety across the menus each day! Thank you for the special touches across our stay, from a birthday turn down with champagne to a birthday cake at dinner. The hospitality and professionalism from the staff was outstanding.
To single out one person in particular, Mingo is a credit to Shepherd’s Tree. There wasn’t one day that Mingo did not go out of her way to enrich our time and experience at Shepherd’s Tree. Despite only being a Junior Ranger, Mingo showed professionalism beyond her years and experience and should be commended for this! She shared her knowledge of fauna and flora during our game drives and she is a great game spotter! One morning she spotted a male lion under a bush over 200 meters away! To the rest of us on the truck, it looked like rock! Mingo is most certainly one of the reasons why we would return in the future and we hope that she continues to excel at Shepherds Tree!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafa Manyowa, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2024

Dear Jessica P

We are truly honored and grateful for your compliments, and it brings us immense joy to know that your experience at Shepherd's Tree was "outstanding". It warms our hearts to know that Mingo's efforts in providing exceptional service made your safari experience phenomenal.

We always strive to create memorable and unparalleled experiences for our guests, and your feedback reaffirms that we are on the right path.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards
The Shepherd's Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2024

Our stay was of high quality and very relaxing atmosthere. The food is amazing and never dull as there was a different menu each day. Our Game Ranger, Peter, is of the highest quality and made every effort to show us the Big5 making this a memorable experience. The nougat at bedtime with the story card was so special and appreciated.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank malisa2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafa Manyowa, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

Dear Malisa2024

Thank you for dedicating time to share your experience at Shepherd's Tree on this forum.

We are delighted to receive your positive comments, particularly regarding our outstanding service and great food. Your kind words about Peter are truly appreciated. Positive feedback from esteemed guests like you motivates us to continually elevate our standards in hospitality and service.

It was a pleasure hosting you, and we eagerly anticipate the opportunity to welcome you back soon to Shepherd's Tree.

Kind regards
The Shepherd's Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2024

Excellent game lodge. The rooms are fabulous, spacious and luxurious.

The food was amazing and safaris excellent with small vehicles and the best driver/guide.

I am so pleasd we avoided using a larger park with large group vehicles, our vehicles held 8 people.

The price we paid was incredible and each day we had included, coffee and pastries before dawn to gather for the dawn safari, on the morining safari we stopped for refreshments half way through then back to the lodge for an excellent quality breakfast.

We skipped lunch each day as there is just to much food and you gather again at about 3.30pm for afternoon tea to set off for the sunset safari, half way through the sunset safari is a stop for gin and nibbles and on returning from the sunset safari you are greeted with a welcome drink as you step off the vehicle, then into dinner, which again was excellent.

Our driver was knowledgable and fun, our room had a magnificent view and looked out onto a 'pond' where elephants, giraffes and other animals came to drink. We saw the big 5 plus everything else you can think of.

The price was lower than using a bigger park but what we received was far better. Can highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Foodie-YK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tafa Manyowa, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2024

Dear Foodie-YK

It was a pleasure to have you as our valued guest and we are glad to know that you had an enjoyable experience during your stay. We have shared your compliments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our paradise in the iconic Pilanesberg.

Kind regards
The Shepherd's Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews