We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made up my mind...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Valley View Guest House
Reviewed 21 July 2016

I have spend a few weekends at Valley View and could never make up my mind about the place. My last visit solved my dilemma.

The accommodations are simple but clean and comes with all you need, I use it for a stop over for unplanned photo sessions in the Pilanesberg. We end up barbecuing (braaing) on every occasion and the owner is very helpful. There is a fixed menu for those who would like to eat in, but be early. Kitchen closes I think at 19:00.

The pool is very welcome in summer with 40degC temperatures. The outside terrace area is great to have a sit-down for some drinks around the pool.

Breakfast is great! They offer to pack you a meal if you leave before normal breakfast to go into the Pilanesberg Nature Reserve early. What impressed me the last visit was that the owner especially got up early to make us triple stack breakfast sandwiches!! Thank you!

I will most definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2016

We discovered Valley View Guest House by chance and we so happy with our find. We had a lovely stay. The rooms and the guest house as a whole were clean and of good standard. Dinner is served in house, prepared personally and served by the owner Michele - top class meal! Really efficient service. Staff all super polite. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Paid rather a lot here in comparison to a lot of other places and I'm unsure whether there's a special foreigner price! Yes you get breakfast but it all felt a bit cheap and low quality again compared to elsewhere. I'm told the area has frequent power cuts so splashing out for AC is quite unnecessary and again they have no back up power in comparison to other places. It's all rather surprising including the awful instant coffee! Having said that, the rooms were very clean.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Richyrich051981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2014

Not a bad place for Pilanesberg National Park, but a bit edgy around the corners. No regrets, but we don't know if we would return.

Staff - mostly nice, but lacked professionialism/attentiveness. We arrived with a small child and a lot of luggage and weren't offered help - very unusual for South Africa. Also, they had a blackout and a water shortage. While it was certainly not their fault, staff could have told us so when we arrived, as opposed to finishing your loo job and finding out that your product is here to stay, or trying to reload your camera w/o electricity. Michele, the owner, is very nice and tries to sort things out, but there was a lack of good management.

Room and bathroom - totally adequate. It's a three star guest house, and met these criterias easily. Immaculately clean and functional.

Location - a 5-10 minutes drive to Manyane Gate in a residential area in a mining town in a former Homeland. No place to stroll around, and certainly not glizzy, but no big deal either.

Food - There is the option to order a 3-course dinner for 180 rand per person (as of Nov. 2014), which is pretty handy, considering that there are virtually no other options around, but to drive into to a dodgy town, another hotel or to Sun City. However, in contrast to what some other reviews state, I have found the dinners to be overpriced and the quality of the food was average, neither good nor bad.

We have found that this place was very much suitable for our purpose, a clean and nice guest house for Pilanesberg and a good alternative for the rest camps there, not more not less.

The reason for giving it a 4/5 rating is Michele, who always tried to make it the best guest house this place can be. We forget our passports and he did a great effort to send them to us. Eventually we got them and are back home safely. Thank you for that.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dudel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2014

The hotel is located in an area not everyone may feel comfortable in. It's hemmed in on all sides by residential houses.

It aims for a faux- Romanesque look that doesn't really work. It's hard to disguise an architecturally dull modern brick building as anything else.

The bed was acceptable. The bathroom dark and cold (it was May, which is winter here). Just a shower.

The TV was small. There was a TV lounge, but any more than 4 people would be a crowd.

The dining room was cosy but the food was disappointing. Perhaps when the owner cooks the story may be different.

About the only thing I can say about it is that if you want to be close to one of Pilanesburgs gates, without laying out large sums for accommodation, this will do. But keep your expectations low and then you wont be disappointed.

The staff were friendly..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBB-JNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
17,3 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
845 reviews
9,1 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
696 reviews
13,7 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10,8 km away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
372 reviews
14,5 km away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#3 of 6 in Sun City
752 reviews
0,4 km away
Mogwase Bed & Breakfast
Mogwase Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 12 in Mogwase
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley View Guest House

Address: 743 Kwena Drive, Pilanesberg National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range: R854 - R1 028 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley View Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Valley View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing