We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Valley View Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)(Great Value!)
US$328
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bakubung Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)(Great Value!)
US$423
US$301
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$322
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Soho Hotel(Sun City)
US$204
US$193
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Kingdom Resort(Sun City)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
14
18
14
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
18
14
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun cityevery eveningtwo nightsguesthousepilanesbergparkaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We discovered Valley View Guest House by chance and we so happy with our find. We had a lovely stay. The rooms and the guest house as a whole were clean and of good standard. Dinner is served in house, prepared personally and served by the owner Michele - top class meal! Really efficient service. Staff all super polite. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Paid rather a lot here in comparison to a lot of other places and I'm unsure whether there's a special foreigner price! Yes you get breakfast but it all felt a bit cheap and low quality again compared to elsewhere. I'm told the area has frequent power cuts so splashing out for AC is quite unnecessary and again they have no back up power in comparison to other places. It's all rather surprising including the awful instant coffee! Having said that, the rooms were very clean.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Richyrich051981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2014

Not a bad place for Pilanesberg National Park, but a bit edgy around the corners. No regrets, but we don't know if we would return.

Staff - mostly nice, but lacked professionialism/attentiveness. We arrived with a small child and a lot of luggage and weren't offered help - very unusual for South Africa. Also, they had a blackout and a water shortage. While it was certainly not their fault, staff could have told us so when we arrived, as opposed to finishing your loo job and finding out that your product is here to stay, or trying to reload your camera w/o electricity. Michele, the owner, is very nice and tries to sort things out, but there was a lack of good management.

Room and bathroom - totally adequate. It's a three star guest house, and met these criterias easily. Immaculately clean and functional.

Location - a 5-10 minutes drive to Manyane Gate in a residential area in a mining town in a former Homeland. No place to stroll around, and certainly not glizzy, but no big deal either.

Food - There is the option to order a 3-course dinner for 180 rand per person (as of Nov. 2014), which is pretty handy, considering that there are virtually no other options around, but to drive into to a dodgy town, another hotel or to Sun City. However, in contrast to what some other reviews state, I have found the dinners to be overpriced and the quality of the food was average, neither good nor bad.

We have found that this place was very much suitable for our purpose, a clean and nice guest house for Pilanesberg and a good alternative for the rest camps there, not more not less.

The reason for giving it a 4/5 rating is Michele, who always tried to make it the best guest house this place can be. We forget our passports and he did a great effort to send them to us. Eventually we got them and are back home safely. Thank you for that.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dudel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2014

The hotel is located in an area not everyone may feel comfortable in. It's hemmed in on all sides by residential houses.

It aims for a faux- Romanesque look that doesn't really work. It's hard to disguise an architecturally dull modern brick building as anything else.

The bed was acceptable. The bathroom dark and cold (it was May, which is winter here). Just a shower.

The TV was small. There was a TV lounge, but any more than 4 people would be a crowd.

The dining room was cosy but the food was disappointing. Perhaps when the owner cooks the story may be different.

About the only thing I can say about it is that if you want to be close to one of Pilanesburgs gates, without laying out large sums for accommodation, this will do. But keep your expectations low and then you wont be disappointed.

The staff were friendly..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBB-JNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Great hospitality, superb Italian cuisine, owner/ chef of top standards. He is an ex Master Chef and is Italian. Ask him to just make you a plate of pasta and you will be amazed as to what you will get!!! He worked as the Master Chef for Marriott group, launched all their new hotels world wide and coocked for Frank Sinatra, Sammy Davis Jnr. And Dean Martin. Not to forget Nelson Mandela as well. Accommodation is good and comfortable. Located very close to Manyane entrance , Pilansberg National Park.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kiorodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews