We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always reliable”

Desert Wolf Spur Steak Ranch
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Upington
Price range: R 4 - R 10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery
Description: Desert Wolf Spur, Kalahari Mall in De Rand, Upington, is a family friendly restaurant that serves the best steak, ribs, burgers & wings. Bring your kids along for some great tasting food & dessert from our famous Spur menu!
Reviewed 11 December 2019

On Sundays in Upington, most restaurants are closed but the Spur was open in the mall. It is always a good bet because the food is standardised. Service was excellent

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Gwen-Watkins-SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2019 via mobile

Your typical family restaurant.
All you would expect from a SPUR.
Located in the Kalahari mall, nice place to take a break from shopping, or just enjoy a nice cold beer, while your wife spend your money.

Date of visit: October 2019
2  Thank PieterB461
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Wolf Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2019

Hello Pieterb461,

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled to know your experience was a positive one.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2019

We ate here for lunch during Upington on our two-week trip to South Africa. To start with the positives, the restaurant has a large play space for kids - including an arcade, play-structure, and coin operated rides. We found that many places around the Upington area make sure that kids are well accommodated, far beyond what is typically expected in the United States. Desert Wolf Spur probably offered the best of all that we saw.

The other positive aspect of the meal was the large serving sizes for very reasonable prices. Unfortunately, the quality of the food was thoroughly mediocre. Service was interesting, as the wait staff seemed to compete for incoming guests to sit in their assigned sections and were fairly aggressive in attempting to upsell meals. We also found ourselves assisted by three of more staff members. Overall, the meal was average.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Wolf Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2019

Dear shawnh777,

Thank you for taking the time to review Desert Wolf Spur family restaurant. We are sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your experience.

If you'd like to discuss this further please follow this link https://spur.goreview.co.za/home/goreview-crm to provide us with more info.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2019

We were three people on Sunday 30 jJune night having dinner . Two ordered wings as a meal . No finger bowls or even a side plate for the bones during the meal . Also no wet wipe for hands. No visit from a manager during the meal either . Food quality were fine , however the small detail is missing here

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bennie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Wolf Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2019

Dear Bennie V,

Thank you for taking the time to review Desert Wolf Spur family restaurant. We are sorry to read that this was your experience, your feedback is much appreciated.

If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@spur.co.za. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and hopefully turn it around.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2019

We ordered the Ribs special and we were rely surprised with the quality and quantity of the food and service we received!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank BarneyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Wolf Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2019

Dear Barneytraveler,

Thank you for the really great review of Desert Wolf Spur! We're so happy to read that your food was a hit!

Pop in soon to enjoy the great taste of Spur.


Warm regards,
Spur Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Desert Wolf Spur Steak Ranch also viewed

Upington, Northern Cape
Upington, Northern Cape
 
Upington, Northern Cape
 

Been to Desert Wolf Spur Steak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.