We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
dorette441
Colesberg, South Africa

In dire need of TLC

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Jan 2021via mobile
Having had good rains in the Orange River catchment area, the Augrabies Falls were full. We made an imprompto decision to visit the falls.
The setting of Oranjerus Resort is idyllic - on the banks if the Orange River. We were a party of 4 adults and a toddler & stayed in a luxury chalet with a river view. The unit definitely needs attention & looks run down. The lock of the safety gate at the kitchen door was loose, some of the blinds could not open, the corners of the inside walls were chipped and the crockery & cutlery were mismatched. The beds however, were very comfortable. The gounds needs attention, as some of the lawns were not mowed well & the flowerbeds were unkempt. There are areas at the restaurant & deck that are covered in dust & cobwebs.
The camping sites are mostly shaded (a MUST in the heat) & are neat. I can't comment on the ablusions at the camping site, but the campers all seemed happy.
I realise the Covid pandemic plays a huge role in the dishevelled apearance of the resort. All in all, we enjoyed our stay, but this resort can be so much more if it could just get a bit if TLC
Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 123
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 768
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 029
25.0 km from Oranjerus Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
One of 2 Sparkling Pools
R 1 440
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 440
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    R 1 440
24.8 km from Oranjerus Resort
Free parking
Pool
Exterior View
R 1 359
R 1 296
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 359
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 359
23.5 km from Oranjerus Resort
Free Wifi
R 1 631
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 631
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 631
23.4 km from Oranjerus Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Genade
R 1 210
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    R 1 210
25.1 km from Oranjerus Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 500
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 085
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 500
29.1 km from Oranjerus Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 750
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 750
  • eDreams
27.8 km from Oranjerus Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 841
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 841
26.9 km from Oranjerus Resort
Free parking
Pool
Guesthouse street view
R 1 045
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 045
  • Vio.com
26.4 km from Oranjerus Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Swimming Pool
R 1 265
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 265
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 004
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 265
29.5 km from Oranjerus Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Upington
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
79
71
31
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
79
71
31
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orange river thatch roof spider webs accommodation options lovely setting value for money one night stay chalet tent pity electricity basin namibia camp luxury
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2020

We stayed in a “luxury chalet” and what a terrible experience.
- The chalet was dirty
- The were cockroaches in the kitchen
- Pubic hair on the towels were noted
- Cobwebs were noted

I felt so uncomfortable that I slept on the bedding with my own pillow.

I will not recommend this establishment for any reason.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mjhavenga261
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2020

Great location with very nice facilities. Staff are helpful and our dinner & breakfast at the restaurant was superb. Passing through Upington as an overnight stop we prefer simplicity & centrality of our overnight stops but the detour to Oranjerus was worth it.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sdfrench2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2020

We were housed in River Chalet 1. The price we paid for 1 night - out of season, middle of the week for 2 adults R1 250,00 - doesn't warrant what we received. A mouse had made a nest under the pillow in the main bedroom. The same mouse did a lot of damage to our medication and food during the night. The shower door and taps were completely broken. I wanted to report it to reception in the morning, but no-one was available. This was probably a lovely resort in it's day, but the units need to be upgraded and maintained if they are going to charge the prices that they do.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2020

Not even the cold weather bothered us not to enjoy the weekend!
It was very relaxing and peaceful.Your place is very clean and it really felt like a spoiled time.
Thank you for enabling us to take our dogs with on the weekend.

The spot was not really for fishing although we enjoyed the river and the sound of the river!

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bielieerasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2020

Easy to find and well located. Stayed in a 'business room' which was ill equipped, not well maintained and not properly cleaned inside and outside. They did at least change the dirty linen when we complained. Pity though....could be a really nice overnight spot.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank williev331
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews