We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Frustrating regulations.

Absolutely stunning place. Our plan was to enter thru Mata Mata very early and exit thru the same... read more

Reviewed 11 January 2024
JoelandChristelle
,
Roujan, France
A memorable tour

Last April I decided to visit the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park .despite being aware that visits to... read more

Reviewed 18 July 2023
acortez48
,
Braga District, Portugal
Read all 511 reviews
  
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
357
120
28
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
357
120
28
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mata mata twee rivieren game viewing water hole summer months birds of prey big cats be patient wilderness camp three nights waterhole roads sightings kruger lion nossob cheetah
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2024

Absolutely stunning place.
Our plan was to enter thru Mata Mata very early and exit thru the same gate at the end of the day but the park authorities screwed that up for us.
When day visiting thru Mata Mata gate you have to exit the adjacent Namibia border and enter South Africa. This border post doesn’t open until 8am, and then closes at 4.30pm!!!!!
So, we got into the park at 8.30am just as all the big cat settle down to sleep, and were forced to leave at 4.20pm just as the cats begin to wake up. For this we had to pay the full day fee!!!!
For a park which is billed as Transfrontier, I think changes need to be made.

Date of experience: January 2024
Thank JoelandChristelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2023

Last April I decided to visit the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park .despite being aware that visits to this park should be scheduled with a year in advance.
With this purpose and after an Internet search I decided to contact KALAHARI SAFARIS .
Lizmarie responded immediately with the possible itinerary and the corresponding proposal for a six day tour , which included accommodation in chalets, guide, transport in 4x4, game drives and meals.
The guide, Jakes, was very knowledgeable, patient, and provided tasty meals with great barbecues. He is also a gentleman!
We saw and photographed nice landscapes, lions, cheetahs, springboks, giraffes, gemsbok, wildebeest ,hartebeest, kudus, jackals, rodents, bat eared foxes, meerkats ,many birds, ostriches etc.
A memorable tour. We highly recommend.

Date of experience: May 2023
Thank acortez48
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2023 via mobile

We had an amazing experience at the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park with our two young kids! Stayed at Twee Rivieren as base and explored from there. Not as easy to spot animals as Kruger or Okavango, but the scenery alone is worth coming for. Go visit Khomani San 40 minutes away to learn more about the Khoisan people.

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank emerina_bakkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 June 2023

Main problem with this trip is that Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park is that it is always fully booked a year in advance. I honestly set my alarm clock for 12h05 so I could wake up the minute the bookings opened so we could secure our spot.

The Kalagadi, with its impressive rolling red sand dunes is beautiful. The remoteness and sheer size of the Park is revitalising for the soul even in very dry conditions of this rugged desert wilderness.

There was a shop at Nossob and Twee Rivieren. Rooseterkoek was available daily as well as essentials like wine! The camp staff were very helpful. A nice feature was both camps had swimming pools. The camps only had power from 5am to 10pm.

Some of the roads were corrugated but we lowered our tyre pressure and it was completely passable with a normal 2x4. …

The distance between the camps takes a long time but why would you want to rush? We spent some time at the waterholes and were rewarded with a cheetah sighting. There were endless vistas, incredible sunsets and amazing game and bird sighting.

We loved this park because it was not over-commercialised. It was well worth the travel to get there and enjoy the uniqueness of the place.
If you like it rough and wild just go - you will not be disappointed!

Date of experience: December 2022
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2023 via mobile

It’s not easy getting a booking at Kgalagadi. This was our first time in the park and I booked exactly twelve months in advance. I didn’t know much about the park so decided on three nights on each of the main camps - Twee Rivieren, Mata Mata and Nossob. I also didn’t know that both Mata Mata and Nossob offered luxury perimeter accommodation so we were in the standard chalets. But what a great trip it was. Even though these are the “main camps” they are much smaller and more personal than those I. Kruger. Our accommodation is we clean and comfortable and fully equipped. The camp staff were lovely and the shops had all the basics we needed other than much in the way of fresh vegetables. But when you realise that Nossob is over 410 kms north of Upington their stock is still remarkable. A nice feature was all three camps had swimming pools.

And then the Kgalagadi experience! Endless vistas, gorgeous skies, amazing vegetation, incredible sunsets beautiful game and bird sightings.

The whole park seems well managed, picnic spots were lovely and the roads manageable on our all wheel drive SUV but I would say completely passable with a normal 2x4.

Can’t wait to return but next time will include some of the small unfenced camps in my Itinerary

Date of experience: May 2023
1  Thank David312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews