We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Bi-Lo Bistro

Bi-Lo Bistro
Ranked #3 of 35 Restaurants in Upington
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Start your morning. Breakfast? Yes, we got you. You can even enjoy sushi on weekdays from 11h00 if that is your thing. Breakfast from 08h00 to 11h00 on Mondays through Saturdays and from 09h00 on Sundays. Good Food Our menu will fit anyone’s needs. Whether you want a delicious home cooked meal, steak or fish, we have it all. See our menu for a variety that will tickle your taste buds. Family Bi-Lo is the ideal spot for the whole family. We understand that you as a parent, also want to enjoy your time out, we have a variety of entertainment options for the kids.
Reviewed 3 July 2019 via mobile

We were on our way to Namibia. Went for supper. Food very good.
We stopped on our way back again for lunch. Very extensive menu: sushi to steak and in between.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank elmien l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2019 via mobile

We had very good service and excellent food. I am sure things have changed since the previous reviews.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank ClarikaE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 April 2019 via mobile

We had a lunch break for an hour, but slow service and after 45 minutes when the food came in it was cold and we had to really eat fast to not be late for our meeting... Don’t think we’ll come back again.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank 308annen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2019 via mobile

We had a very bad experience qith the service and had to cancel our order after waiting for nearly an hour for toasted sandwiches and plate of sushi....

Date of visit: March 2019
3  Thank EZietsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2019

Nothing has changed from last year! Similar design and arrangement in the restaurant.

The Waitresses welcomed us and we sat outside in the open area. the table was not stable and we fixed it by putting a small stone under one of its legs.
they came so fast to give us the menu books (they bring 5 and we were 6!) and to get the order for drinks (as usual in RSA) but it took so long to get the food order. we realized that is because some of my colleagues did not close their menu but they did not come even when they closed them!
Yes, I remember it is very common here in RSA to be so late to serve the food but they in Bi-Lo are super slow!

I ordered Chedamelt steak 200G with chips that cost 125ZAR. A 200G steak with melted cheddar cheese and mushroom sauce on it with chips and onion rings beside it.
They brought cutleries but again 5 set!!! I do not understand why they counted us as 5 people! and just on sauce/salt/pepper package on one of the table sides that was not accessible for me on the other side. They have to bring tow for 6 people!!!
anyway! It took again longer than half an hour and eventually we get our foods.

The food was ok, not great! The meat was pretty fatty especially at the corners there was just fat. It is OK with me but if it was my partner's food she did not eat it ;) It was just acceptable for me!

and at the end, they did not come to bring the check! we asked them once but no one come again and after another 15min we asked again! I don't think it was just a normal Afrikan restaurant culture to serve everything late, I felt it was lack of care actually! counting us 1 pers less twice and being late every time could not be something else!

Same as last year, even though there are not so many options in Upington, the Bi-LO place and prices are not bad but I do not recommend it and if I wanna choose sw to eat I will take sw else.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ramtin_jafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Bi-Lo Bistro also viewed

Upington, Northern Cape
 
Upington, Northern Cape
Upington, Northern Cape
 

Been to Bi-Lo Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.