We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Febihola J

Comfortable rooms for solo travelers

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Apr 2024
Looking for a getaway alone/ with family & friends. This is hotel is definitely it!!! I enjoyed my 2 day stay at the hotel. The staff was friendly and comfortable rooms available for solo travelers. Great amenities as well - pool & gym. The food is ok and definitely enjoyed the breakfast at this hotel.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Willie Burger, Owner at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this review
Responded 17 Apr 2024
Hi Febiholaj,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We look forward to having you back in the future. Thank you for choosing us.

Kind Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 200
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 768
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 200
2.0 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Free Wifi
Free parking
One of 2 Sparkling Pools
R 1 440
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 440
  • ZenHotels.com
1.5 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Free parking
Pool
Exterior View
R 1 449
R 1 296
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 449
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 449
0.1 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Free Wifi
Genade
R 1 210
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    R 1 210
1.7 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 750
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 750
  • eDreams
4.8 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Swimming Pool
R 1 265
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 265
  • Agoda.com
    R 993
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 265
6.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guesthouse street view
R 1 045
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 045
  • Vio.com
3.1 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 1 500
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 085
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 500
6.5 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 841
  • Agoda.com
    R 841
3.6 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 718
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 780
23.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Upington
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
36
47
31
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
47
31
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orange river excellent hotel client service buffet meal augrabies falls place to stay top class spacious rooms rump terence winner establishment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2024

This is one of the beautiful hotels I have ever seen, the staff is friendly and they have the best customer service, I would recommend it to anyone who wants to relax and have fun, not forgetting the food is delicious and healthy, please check it out

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer38484009048
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Willie Burger, Owner at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2024

Hi Wanderer,

We are delighted to receive your positive feedback on your recent stay with us. Your kind words truly mean a lot to us and serve as a wonderful motivation for our team. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Thank you for choosing our establishment for your stay, and we can't wait to host you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2023

Service levels from staff are disappointing, staff seem untrained and come across as unfriendly. Room service takes forever, you could forget that you ordered food. No stake knives on order for room service.

The shocker was the cold water temperature in the morning. For two days I showered with cold to luke warm water in freezing winter.

Room tip: Train the staff in customer care... Fix the water temperature
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Willie Burger, Owner at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2023

Dear Thohoyandou, thank you for bringing your dining experience under our attention. It was discussed with our outsourced restaurant's management to ensure that this does not happen again. We are also glad to share that our warm water system was upgraded since your recent stay to ensure sufficient warm water at all times.

Kind regards, all at Protea Hotel Upington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2023

Excellent hotel, nice rooms and professional staff. Recommended one in upington. 👍👍
I have been there for many times and it is the first choice in Upington. Thanks to all Protea Hotel by Marriott staff. 👍👍👍

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank abdeRRAFIE e
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Willie Burger, Owner at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2023

We are delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with us. We do look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards all at Protea Hotel Upington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2023 via mobile

Broke our journey to Augrabies Falls and spent a night at this Hotel. Being a Marriott Rewards member , I was quite impressed. Ideally situated in the middle of the CBD of town. You can make out its a old hotel. Family room was huge overlooking the great Orange River. Windows were dirty & the room was a bit stuffy when we checked in. Breakfast was superb. Friendly staff but didn't get a porter service. Upington mall nearby for Halaal foods , McDonald's & KFC only.

Room tip: Ample secure parking
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Fearless44228902827
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Willie Burger, Owner at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2023

Good morning Fadil, thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your recent stay experience.

It was a pleasure hosting you, we sincerely apologize for failing to meet all your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the associates, and as a teachable moment, we have discussed our service standards and reviewed improvement opportunities in the service they provide.

We hope you choose to stay with us again, whenever your travels bring you back to the area. Kind regards Peet Janse van Rensburg, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2023 via mobile

Awesome stay at this establishment 28/12 - 2/1, from the hassle free booking with Terence, who communicated my booking options professionally, and handled them in an expeditious manner.... To the front staff (Grace), always courteous and cordial... To restaurant staff, at the ready to assist with buffet/meal choices.
And to the cleaning staff, who are unintrusive in their duties, and friendly manner, made me feel right at home.

With staff this well trained and appointed, one has to say that this hotel is an asset to the town, and it's owner. Well done. Definitely will see me again should I require accommodation in Upington.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Juan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Willie Burger, Owner at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2023

Good day Juan D

We recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have provided. Receiving warm and friendly service from our staff sets the tone for a great stay, and we are delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you back once your travels bring you through our town again.

Kind regards the Protea Hotel Upington team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews