We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
halcyonbp
George, South Africa

Relaxing

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 02 Apr 2021
Conveniently located in the heart of town on the banks of the Orange River. Well established and well organised ( although the Reception could have been more on the ball). Elegantly under-stated decor, comfortable and clean rooms. Pleasant ambience. Restaurant has a comprehensive menu - food was tasty, well cooked and presented in substantial portions. Service was attentive and pleasant. good value all round.
Date of stay: March 2021
Room Tip: Try for a River View
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Willie Burger Group, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this review
Responded 07 Apr 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate your positive comments. Hope to see you back soon.
Regards all at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Riverfront, elegant, simply the most regal guesthouse in Upington. Completely renovated October
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 187
  • Booking.com
2.0 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Free Wifi
Free parking
One of 2 Sparkling Pools
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.2 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 414
  • Booking.com
6.5 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 559
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Free Wifi
Lovely decor in the "red and white room".
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
2.7 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Free Wifi
Room service
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 885
23.5 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
23.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Free parking
Restaurant
A view from the street out front
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 124
  • Priceline
4.1 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Upington
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
36
47
31
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
47
31
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orange river excellent hotel client service buffet meal augrabies falls place to stay top class spacious rooms rump terence winner establishment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2021 via mobile

It is a beautiful, clean and well appointed hotel with every amenity. The hotel staff were so attentive, the food was delicious and rooms were clean and substantial.

We asked for more toiletries and it was not an imposition they obliged.

My family loved this hotel

My kids enjoyed the pool

I myself loved the ambiance in the courtyard

I will return

All of it at a reasonable price

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank BeskyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Willie Burger Group, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2021

Besky, thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely review. It was such a pleasure having you and your family here. We cannot wait for your return.
Regards all at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2021 via mobile

Upon check in, we were put in a room without a balcony, the rooms air conditioning was not working, the room was grubby and not pleasant. Reception kindly moved us after along time of negotiations on the phone.

Finally we moved to a room with a balcony. No chairs on the balcony? We had to call and ask for chairs, they were delivered one by one to our door! The reason for no chairs is that the previous guests broke the chairs? Not really our problem.

I moved the heavy chairs to the balcony. 80% of the staff wore their masks, unfortunately the 20% didn’t, they made us feel uncomfortable and vulnerable!

We had room service, was average, no glasses in the room.

Lacked attention to detail and care! Only reason why we booked this hotel is because we thought being part of the Protea group it would be above average, it wasn’t!

We didn’t eat breakfast. We left early. Not a word from anyone after all the issues we had.

I took no pictures!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Pure_Photography
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Willie Burger Group, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2021

Dear Lauren, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We did receive your review on Bookings.com on February 6, and we have tried to get in contact with you.

Firstly we would like to apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations, furthermore we would like add:
Your first room did have a balcony and was a River Facing room (as you were a Bookings.com guest we upgraded you free of charge to our best rooms).
Your comments on Bookings.com only asked for a room with a balcony and did not indicate that you needed a twin room. After check-in we moved you and your mother to a twin room as requested, which also had a balcony.

We have removed the chairs from all balcony's as the sun damage them, but they are available on request.

Because of Covid-19 no staff may enter any guest rooms, and that is why the chairs were only delivered to your room.

Lauren we would like to welcome you back to our hotel to provide you the 5 star treatment that all our guest deserves.
Once again please accept our apologies for any shortfalls during your stay at our hotel.

Kind Regards, Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2020 via mobile

We were a group of 26 and the hotel staff were very helpful. Rooms were spacious, clean, neat and well maintained.
The breakfast staff were very friendly and accommodating to our halaal needs. They were also quite efficient in serving breakfast to 12 adults and 14 over excited kids.
Thank you to the team for a wonderful stay!

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank BFO2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Willie Burger Group, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review. Much appreciated. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights.

Dinner and breakfast was great.

Room large and modern.

Do not stay in the top floor. Heat from the roof is a problem. Close your curtains during the day. It was 43 deg C when I was there and my roomwas like a sauna. The aircon is also blowing air over the bed and is not good for your neck muscles. Hopefully they will change this.

Otherwise after sunset the restaurant area is very nice for Sundowners.

Staff are very friendly and helpful, although they messsed up my Marriot points allocation.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Ivan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Willie Burger Group, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2020

Ivan thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We rely on feedback such as yours to strive to perfection. Hope to see you back soon at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2020

I have been traveling all over South Africa for work and have stayed in many places (hotels/lodges/B&B). This is my 1st time to Upington in 6 years and i could not remember where i stayed the previous time. My PA booked me in the hotel - hotels are all the same...to my surprise not. From the moment I walked in on Tuesday until this morning - it really was an experience. The staff is professional, but warm, friendly and like to assist you with a smile. The food is excellent (dinner and breakfast) The milkshakes to die for. My room was clean and great. I can't wait to go back in March....

Room tip: I only slept in the one room which is in direct sun, but with the aircon it was nice and cool.
Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanliekatjies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Willie B, Owner at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we cannot wait to have you back in March.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews