We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
debrag99
Cape Town, South Africa

To attend Youth Training Centre Games rugby for U16 & U18 Girls

Review of The Oasis Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 May 2019
This is an interesting town, if one had time to explore inside and out, I am sure there would be a lot of hidden gems to see. The hotel itself is nice, well set out with the main hotel opposite. Everything within walking distance of the hotel. Parking good
Date of stay: April 2019
Room Tip: my room was semi facing towards the river
Trip type: Travelled on business
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OAS26, Guest Relations Manager at The Oasis Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 10 Jun 2019
Thank you Debra for taking the time to post a review and we do hope that next time you visit you will have enough time to explore our Town! regards The Oasis Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 762
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 762
  • Priceline
    R 1 496
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 762
0.1 km from The Oasis Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 381
Fully refundable
No fees just great deals
  • ZenHotels.com
23.5 km from The Oasis Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 680
R 626
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 680
  • Agoda.com
    R 680
  • Vio.com
    R 680
23.5 km from The Oasis Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Hotel Swimming Pool
R 1 265
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 265
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 265
  • Vio.com
    R 1 264
6.4 km from The Oasis Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Riverfront, elegant, simply the most regal guesthouse in Upington. Completely renovated October
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.6 km from The Oasis Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from The Oasis Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
One of 2 Sparkling Pools
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.5 km from The Oasis Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
1.2 km from The Oasis Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.5 km from The Oasis Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely decor in the "red and white room".
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
2.6 km from The Oasis Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Upington
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
39
27
18
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
39
27
18
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upgraded to a suite comfortable stay safe parking oasis bedroom units establishment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2019 via mobile

Just spent 2 nights at The Oasis. Hotel is very comfortable and quiet. Lovely view of the Orange River from the room. Breakfast is basic but good quality. They don’t serve dinner but there is the option of the Protea Hotel next door. Staff are so friendly and kind.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank beverleym2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OAS26, Guest Relations Manager at The Oasis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2019

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest Beverley and thank you for taking the time to post a positive response. We take our guest comments very seriously and are always motivated by such kind words. Hope to see you again soon regards All at The Oasis Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2019

There was a bout of load shedding when we arrived late afternoon in 42°C heat. No generator for backup, and no bell hop to help us carry our heavy bags up three flights of stairs. And that elevator is just darn noisy when the power is on! Surely a proper service will sort this out?? Why then such a high mark from me? Breakfast was excellent, our room was large and luxurious and the price was reasonable. But please manage it better!

Room tip: Far from that darn elevator!
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Forestfundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OAS26, Guest Relations Manager at The Oasis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2019

Thank you for the positive response, we are glad to confirm that our backup generator for emergency lighting and training of a new manager are in place, as well as a brand new lift which is busy being installed. We hope that you will visit us again to experience the standards we strive for and extend our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced as our guest during the concurrence of these operational challenges. Regards All @ The Oasis Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Appon arrival I was informed that the air conditioning in my room did not work. They offer a fan or I had to move to a next door hotel. The accommodation in the sister hotel was an apartment overlooking a torn down building. Not acceptable for a four star establishment.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 290marinusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OAS26, Guest Relations Manager at The Oasis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2019

We regret Marinus, that the unforeseen breakdown during a heavy demand period, forced us to have to take the emergency decisions in regards as to reservations which had not been guaranteed. If you had requested us to seek you completely different accommodation we would have gladly done so but the voluntarily acceptance of the choices offered brought us to the conclusion that you understood the situation. Regards The Oasis Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel seems to have been on a downgrade since its departure from the Protea Group. The rooms are clean and they serve an ok breakfast. I couldn’t watch anything as 90% of the channels are sports. There isn’t much variety for breakfast. I ordered an omelette but the only ingredients were tomato and cheese. I was told other ingredients are not available. None of the waiters came to attend to me while having Breakfast. Good hotel but not for a prolonged stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank molebohengm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OAS26, Guest Relations Manager at The Oasis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2019

Thank you Moleboheng for taking the time to post a review, we have since sorted out all the TV channel issues and ensured that there is more variety available. We have followed up with our kitchen and restaurant staff re the food comments , also our rates have been significantly adjusted to align with being an independent non franchised hotel.regards The Oasis Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

We have stayed at the Oasis before and have come to realize it is deteriorating gravely in many aspects. It seems there is a lack of management on the ground actually checking that the hotel is in good condition to meet the 4 star standards.
Priscilla upon check in was wonderful and helpful. It was not her fault that the 2nd room which was booked and paid through booking.com did not show up on her end. Luckily a room was available. The room was opposite of an extremely noisy and in need of maintenance - elevator! Avoid room 225 at any cost if you wish to sleep. The elevator shrieks and creaks as it halts and gears into motion until the very early hours of the night.
As we mentioned this to the reservation manager we were told that the cost to replace said elevator is 5 million Rand. And has to be ordered from America which takes 6 months.. This information is irrelevant for a guest!!! And rather upsetting to hear after a sleepless night.
Room 225 and room 230 could do with a coat of paint as there are a lot of stains everywhere in the room. The coffee machine did not work well in both rooms. Guests are offered a bottle of water upon check in and the rooms mini bar is empty.

Also is the breakfast room very cold with drawn curtains. The breakfast was delicious and eggs cooked to perfection.

Priscilla was helpful. Thank you!

All of these could be easily improved by management by simply inspecting rooms and following Protea Procedures.

Best of luck.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 307michaelaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OAS26, Guest Relations Manager at The Oasis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2019

Our guest responses and reviews are important management tools - so thank you Michaela! I am pleased to confirm that our lift is being replaced and ongoing maintenance will ensure that any other issues you mention addressed. Unfortunately the curtains in the breakfast room cannot be opened as there are no actual windows behind them but are purely for decorative effect, also wee are not privy to the Protea Procedures as we are no longer affiliated to them. We do hope to welcome you back to The Oasis Hotel so you may experience the changes and standards we strive for. regards The Oasis Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews